We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Blackpool”
Review of Strathdon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathdon Hotel
Ranked #97 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed firstly at the Strathdon in August and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Veronica and Ian make you very welcome and the food is just great. I love Veronica's English Breakfasts and dinner was superb!. I booked again for October and am just back from Blackpool on Tuesday 9th October. Again a great stay and like before I loved the room I stayed in. Nothing is too much t rouble for Veronica and Ian. Going back again and hope to book again soon for next year. Many thanks Ian and Veronica I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnecam1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

we stayed at this b and b in early aug for 1 night, it was a surprise for my fella and after phoning around nearky 50 b and bs i finally found the strathdon, it seemed blackpool was fully booked for this weekend but when i spoke to the lady she said she had one room left, she advised me that the room had a slightly smaller double bed as usual but i booked the room. when we arrived we were greeted by this lovely lady witha huge smile and shown to our room, i have to say the level of clenliness in the room was spotless! although the room was small it was lovely, matching deco and a little swan on our bed made from towels, the breakfast was the nicest full english ever, you had a few choices but i chose the full english, which was brought out by the ladys husband whom also had a huge smile, you can tell this couple love there buisness and i would dwefinatly recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My and my partner stayed at the Strathdon at the end of August and had a brilliant stay! Ian was a fantastic host, very welcoming and answered any questions we had. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you could need, breakfast in the morning was lovely with a great choice and a vegetarian option was prepared for me with no problems at all. I was also pleasantly surprised to find that the bar downstairs is kept open late, so you could get a drink and some nibbles before bed if you so wish, and very reasonably priced too. The atmosphere downstairs was also very friendly and we felt very much at home. This hotel is a bargain you get fantastic service for what you pay (anywhere down south Id expect to pay £100 per night for the same thing), Ian and his wife go above and beyond the call of duty and it does not go unnoticed. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Blackpool!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LazyBones92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My partner and I recently stayed here.
Everything about this hotel is wonderfull, from the lovely, clean bedrooms, complete with tea/coffee plus biscuits to complementary toiletries. Clean towel are available every day if required.
The food is also great, with an ample portion and plenty of choice, including bar meals in the evening if requested [a nice idea if the weather not good]
Ian and Veronica are nice, helpful people, who make every guest feel special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just come back from a two night break in Blackpool staying at the Strathdon. This really is a lovely hotel. Veronica and Ian the owners of the Strathdon are so warm and welcoming and instantly make you feel at home. The hotel is so clean and everything is the best quality. Breakfast was 1st class. We booked four rooms and each of us who stayed said the beds were so comfortable. I would strongly recommend any couples or families to stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a selection of rooms, four different ones, two doubles, one twin and one family all were exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mag200968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we had a 3 night stay in the Strathdon. It is a lovely, bright, clean and very homely wee hotel. The owners are hard working and very friendly making your stay there the best they can. The food was excellent we had breakfast was couldn't have been better with a full breakfast menu. We also had 2 bar meals which were also very good, good honest home cooked food. The hotel has a lovely wee bar/lounge which we used when weather was bad and relaxed. Ian and Veronica, the owners were great. The room was clean warm and cosy with all your needs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner, mum and dad. We were allocated a double ensuite room. Very clean and does what it says on the tin, with clean towels daily. Complimentary toiletries provided along with tea/coffee and use of a hair dryer and iron/iron board.

Breakfast served between 8.30-9am with a great choice of full english, toast, cereal, fruit etc with plenty of fruit juices and the food was very nice. The couple that run the hotel are really nice and welcoming. We booked this B&B due its great reviews on Tripadvisor and the fact that it does not accept any stag/hens makes it even more appealing. Lovely quiet street and very central. Could not get parked on the street so we parked in the football stadium and its about a 5 minute walk (£12 for 48 hours).

We would definitely come back to The Strathdon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
By The Seaside
By The Seaside
#89 of 863 in Blackpool
287 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beverley Dean
Beverley Dean
#26 of 863 in Blackpool
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#109 of 863 in Blackpool
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#91 of 863 in Blackpool
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 863 in Blackpool
1,220 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 863 in Blackpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel

Address: 28 St. Chads Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £53 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathdon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathdon is a 4* guest house situated in St Chads Road, Blackpool "Street of the Year 2015". The Strathdon has achieved a Breakfast Award with Visit England and has a 5 rating for Food Hygiene from Environmental Health. Situated only 2 minutes walk from Blackpool Promenade and St Chads Road tram stop. Within walking distance of all Blackpool's famous attractions - Blackpool Tower, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life Centre, Sand Castle Water Park & many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Strathdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing