We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away don't waste your money more like a hostel.”
Review of The Alviston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alviston Hotel
Ranked #762 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for one night. Very disappointed. On arrival staff not friendly, car park very small down a back alley. We was shocked at the cleaners swearing in the corridor. When we arrived in our room it was very dated, small and smelt. Bed very uncomfortable and very small to say it was a double bed, mattress was lumpy and seemed years old. Curtains didn't cover the window. Crumbs at the bottom of the wardrobe wouldn't hurt if the cleaners hoovered. You couldn't swing a rat let alone a cat in the bedroom. Staff need to learn some customer skills. Staff not very friendly and uninformative. Pricey for the service & accomodation you get. On a good note location is good, close to the town, breakfast was average and the shower was lovely and warm. Won't recommend or stay here again. Hotel needs a lot of updating and work. It's a shame as it could be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jemmaski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for The Alviston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

recently had two days at the alviston rooms were comfortable clean with unsuite lifts to all floors they had a well stocked bar with resonable prices run by the owner dave a great fellow who couldnt have made us more welcome we had a lovely full english breakfast served by polite and freindly staff would we go back yes please cheers dave for a lovely two days

Room Tip: all rooms good
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Arriving at the Alviston Hotel for a girlie weekend we found the hotel basic but very clean. David the owner made us all feel very welcome the minute we stepped through the door. His hospitality, helpfulness and kindness was second to none - nothing was to much trouble!

Staff at this hotel are very friendly and they make their customers feel very welcome. The rooms are spotless and the hotel is in an excellent location

We would definably stay at The Alviston again and would recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After being refunded at our original hotel David accommodated the five of us at a moments notice which saved our girlie weekend from disaster. He allocated us a triple and a double and was very sympathetic to our earlier experience.
We found the rooms perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was also included all in all very good value for money.
David was the perfect host !!!! nothing was too much trouble he was kind helpful friendly and totally professional he more than deserves the recommendation we are giving and we will certainly be returning also we would not hesitate to recommend him and his hotel to friends and family.
Finally a big thank you Dave from all the girls from Sheffield you were our knight in shining armour.

Room Tip: All seem good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gords995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here August BH with our daughter and her friend. Was slightly concerned about lively stag/hen do's but not a problem at all. Couldn't fault the place, clean rooms, parking no problem, accommodating and helpful owner as well as a very nice breakfast the morning after.

The girls had a great weekend in Blackpool and thanks to the owner and staff for making sure our stay was enjoyable. If we do return to Blackpool we would have no hesitation staying at the Alviston again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

After a previous bad stay in Blackpool I had very low expectations. But Alviston has changed my mind!

Glad I booked this one, there was a group of us and Dave (owner) made us all feel welcome and gave us best places to go and avoid in the area. Very nice chap to talk to, even at 2am haha.

The rooms aren't exactly massive (we had single rooms) but more than adequate for staying in. They were all clean,

Dave runs a decent bar in hotel with a nice pint, before going out and when you get back!! decent breakfast in the mornings.

Cheers again Dave and team :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GazST220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for one night in room 38, which is a family room with my 2 friends. We each had a bed which was ideal. The room had all the comforts we needed, and was very clean. The bathroom was a slight tight squeeze but had everything we needed again very clean.

The b&b has a late bar which was nice to come back too, with a good variety of drinks. Although the bar was ment to close at 2am, we left at 4am and it was still going strong.

This b&b is more suited to friends, hens and stags than families, at weekend as it was full of groups of singles, and parties rather than families. I cant comment what it is like during the week.

The breakfast was the only thing I would comment on, there was no menu or choices given. There is cereal and plenty of toast, and the other option cooked breakfast. The breakfast came swimming in tinned tomato juice, so everything was ruined for me, as we were not asked what we wanted or saw a menu board so we knew what to expect on the breakfast all three of us hate tomatoes, so didn't eat the full breakfast. With something so over consuming on a plate the same as beans this should be offered as an option not come automatically on the breakfast as there seemed to be a lot of wastage and not just from us.

Overall this b&b is cheap and cheerful we had no accommodation issues and was surprised for blackpool how clean it was and how comfortable we were.

The proof of a place is would you go back, my answer would be yes minus the breakfast this time.

Room Tip: Recommend the third floor as it was much quieter than other floors who had noise from bar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Butterfly Hotel
The Butterfly Hotel
#9 of 133 in Blackpool
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Miramar
The Miramar
#537 of 860 in Blackpool
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Regency Hotel
The Regency Hotel
#682 of 860 in Blackpool
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#110 of 860 in Blackpool
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#64 of 860 in Blackpool
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alviston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alviston Hotel

Address: 46-48 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #762 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alviston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Alviston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing