We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best little guest house in Blackpool”
Review of The Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Sands Hotel
Ranked #163 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best little guest house in Blackpool”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Friendly cosy great breakfast.
This old fashioned (not meant in a derogatory way) guest house was perfect for our long weekend in Blackpool. The service was great very friendly welcome and lovely cosy place, rooms a little small for us (2 kids 2 adults) but fine for our needs. I would recommend this place for a short stay, perfect for the pleasure beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poneke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    29
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We have just left after a 1 night stay at the sands hotel.
There was my 2 year old son me and my wife,
2 days before we arrived Mo had phoned us a asked us what time would be arriving and would we want a parking space booked which was lovely thing to do, as we have a blue badge we didn't need a parking space, but mentioned we would arrive at around 11.30am and she said a that's great and your room will be ready.
When we did arrive Mo showed us to our room (room 7) there was a double bed bunk beds tea and coffee making, tv free view, nice bathroom and shower,
As we was only there 1 night we never really paid much time to the room but what I can say Is, it met our needs for the 1 night.
The hotel is siuated opposite the south pier tram stop so if you can't walk far this is perfect for you.
We had a good day in blackpool and wonderful nights sleep.
The breakfast was very nice, choice of cereals, freshly cooked breakfast toast, tea, coffee, orange juice. It seemed Mo couldn't do enough for us and we would definitely come again for longer next time tho.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petejknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham Greater Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at the Blackpool Sands Hotel on Saturday the 22nd of June 2013 for one night.
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived.
The room was small but very clean and had all the facilities that we wanted and needed.
Breakfast was great :-)
Will definitely stay again.
Good value for money, many thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyhotpantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel using booking.com and the reason for the stay was to visit the Pleasure Beach for my friends birthday.

Lovely hosts and very welcoming. Even lent me some cotton and a needle when I had a loose button!

Lovely clean rooms finished to a high standard and even cushelle toilet roll! (Haha)


Great location near to the Pleasure Beach. Only problem is no parking being available but we did find a place to park. Wouls stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badlydrawnkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights and genuinely didn't have one single issue. The owners where friendly polite and helpful. Also their local knowledge was handy. We didn't have breakfast due to sleeping in, so no comment on that. All in all a good wee stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sucioperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The sands hotel was a great stay , I went there for the weekend the host were very welcoming , the breakfast was lovely and had a good variety of cereals then a full English was just perfect if you wanted to stay somewhere in Blackpool stay here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanm1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My trip to The Sands Hotel was a surprise valentines treat from my partner, and I loved every minute of our stay there. We stayed in a front facing room which overlooked the sea and owner Moe had placed champagne and flowers in the room for our arrival. The double room with en suite was beautifully decorated, equipped with a digital TV and a kettle with everything we needed to have a good cuppa :) .. The hotel is very welcoming and homely and at the same time is perfectly situated for visiting the Pleasure Beach, the South Pier and of course the beach! The cooked breakfast made by Moe and served by Jimmy was perfect and everything was made to our requirements. Overall, our stay here was perfect and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: This hotel is ideal for couples having a relaxing weekend away, the double rooms are fully equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Camelot Seafront Hotel
The Camelot Seafront Hotel
#220 of 859 in Blackpool
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#218 of 859 in Blackpool
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
South Beach
South Beach
#132 of 859 in Blackpool
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#129 of 859 in Blackpool
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dutchman Hotel
The Dutchman Hotel
#74 of 859 in Blackpool
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Hotel

Property: The Sands Hotel
Address: 485 Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the sands hotel is a small family run hotel opposite the south pier. We offer 10 rooms of different sizes, all rooms have tea/coffee facilities towel and some toiletries and free view TV. We also have FREE WIFI, but due to the configuration of the building it doesn't work in all the rooms but can be used on the ground floor. We are close to the pleasure beach and opposite the water park. Parking can be pre booked but is paid separately to the car park and varies in price during the season, £5 to £7.50 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing