We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check directly with hotel for room size first!!”
Review of GR8 Escape Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
GR8 Escape Hotel
Ranked #612 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check directly with hotel for room size first!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked via laterooms.

Arrived to an en-suite double room which literally had a double bed a small walkway at the side of the bed, leading into the bathroom. Small drawers at the end on the bed, wardrobe - or rather a hanger was in the bathroom for the rest of your clothes. Not brilliant, as they would get mouldy and damp and a little smelly every time you used the shower/toilet. Only good thing was that the people who ran it were really nice, Although they still managed to bill me twice, once for cash and again directly out of my bank account. Was out of of pocket for £80 for 2 days, not very good at all.

Chap did say he told laterooms at the time of our booking that it was their smallest room, we never got told that by laterooms, although i would have though that the hotel could have called us directly and let us know beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gr8escapehotel, Owner at GR8 Escape Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Booked via laterooms a small double en-suite room, on guests checking in we did ask if late rooms informed them of the room size (small) they said no ! so before checking these guests in we showed them the room first, they said the room was fine and not too worry. We did offer these guests a larger double room but only part en-suite "seems they had booked 4 nights we thought a larger room would have been more suitable for them" but they again said don't worry we are happy to stay in the smaller room. On check out date the guests thanked us for our hospitaility and said they would be back again in the near future. Clearly it seems these guests were not happy with the small room afterall ! My thoughts on this !! help us to help you, if your not happy then tell us, we will always do our utmost to keep our guests happy. However i do appologise for the accidental charge made on your debit card, after reallising! i did transfer the funds back to your account "within the hour" so im confused as to why it took 2 days ! i will check this with the credit card company ! but to be fair if you had paid the balance on checking in this would not have happened. We do hope to see you again in the near future and maybe booking direct will get you the better deal next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed here 3 times before going back again this weekend. what a beautiful hotel run by a lovely couple steph and paul. they make you feel like family, nothing is too much trouble for them, and they have a gorgeous jack russell called thomas who enjoys the company of guests. great nights sleep and a fab brekkie. and steph makes a great brew. couldnt reccomend it enough. well done steph and paul great hotel.from andrea and megan also known as spikey dykey.x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Spot on for 13 lads, no hassle, clean, tidy very well looked after and very helpfull

Cheers Guys


GREEEEEEEEEEN ARRRRRMMMMYYYYYYY!

Room Tip: Room 9 two single beds and bathroom, but beware of the seagulls laughing during the night lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Gr8 escape hotel was fantastic for myself and 13 other girls !! The friendliness of Steph, Paul and Thomas the dog were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay !! The arrangement of the rooms were well organised by Paul and met our requests !!! The only thing we would say is the doulble and twin rooms were on the small side but as a hen party we weren't in the rooms a long time ! Other than that I would recommend the hotel in the future and was sad to leave the hotel on Sunday ! Thankyou very much for making our stay at the hotel a fantastic experience for us all that we will never forget !

Natalie xxx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natnffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Paul and Steph lovely couple and the Hotel itself lovely would Reccomend to everybody and the Breakfast in the Morning just tops it off! Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2012

myself and a group of girls stayed here (AGAIN) for a birthday party weekend, upon arrival we were made welcome and felt quite at home. The rooms we were allocated were clean, modern and spacious and the bar was an ideal starting point for us before we ventured out! cheap drinks all round with good music soon got us in the mood for a night out, breakfast the following mornings set us up for the day, breakfast was yummy served quick and hot, we definately use this hotel each time we visit blackpool. A big thankyou to steph and paul for making our birthday break perfect ! we look forward to our next visit.
p.s not forgetting thomas the friendly and excitable dog x

Room Tip: family/group rooms are ideal (very spacious with en-suite facilities) to be fare we can not comment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leffybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My family came down from bonnie Scotland for my 60th birthday and they all booked into this hotel for the weekend, and from the moment they arrived Paul and Stephanie the proprietors couldn't do enough for them and joined us that evening to make my birthday a very special night presenting me with a huge cake with all the trimmings completely out of the blue, thank you both for a memorable weekend, would certainly recommend this hotel withut any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddyholly478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
GR8 Hotel
GR8 Hotel
#579 of 856 in Blackpool
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#296 of 856 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GR8 Escape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GR8 Escape Hotel

Property: GR8 Escape Hotel
Address: 8 Lonsdale Road, Blackpool FY1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a traditional but modern/clean hotel where guests will feel relaxed and at home in our hotel friendly atmosphere! Then give us a call - "we look forward to hearing from you soon." Best wishes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing