We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt Birthday Treat”
Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #364 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in and incredibly it is for sale with a local estate agent (Duxbury's) for the sum of £219,950 (GBP). The pictures on its paper flyers and on websites are a clear misrepresentation of the current standard of this property. The lounge and bar area have been totally altered and appear to be used by the owners as their own front room with clothes under the seating and generally unkempt. Added to this a puppy happily pads around the premises regardless of visiting guests. Sections of wallpaper on the first floor landing are missing revealing some loose plasterwork. Stairs carpet is badly worn and appears dirty. Our room was a disgrace. The carpet was frayed at the edges and badly fitted. The bedding was clean, the decorative cushion on the bed was torn and the pillows were cheap and un-supportive. A loose shelf above the bedhead (dangerously positioned) cloaked an overhead light which didn't work. The bed base had started to collapse and subsequently the mattress was sinking into it which made a good nights sleep almost impossible. Other Trip Advisor reviews have made reference to the Newbury's beds being almost orthopaedic, well I need a trip to an orthapaedic surgeon having attempted to sleep on this bed which was only fit for the tip! Bathroom had no complimentary toiletries and nowhere to place ours. Shower fitments were of poor quality and badly fitted within the cubicle. There was a small vertical box (no door) in the corner of the bedroom which masqueraded as a wardrobe. It was so tiny that the provided coat hangers projected from it which led to coats being hung on hooks inside the bathroom door.
Breakfast was adequate. We couldn't wait to leave this hovel. Anyone considering purchasing The Newbury needs to realise that it has clearly been run down and needs a level of investment not only in the fabric of the building but its reputation also. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank topanalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just return from a four day stay at Newbury hotel. warm welcome, rooms very clean .Dawn&Andrew could not do enough to insure we had great stay .great breakfast , went out of their way to help us with our grandchildren,7&3 year &6 month old. stay on 3rd floor , heating &showers clean and working ok. had to leave early Saturday morning, to get eldest granddaughter to a dance comp .Dawn made sure we were supplied with sandwiches ,as it was before 7am. will be returning & will also be recommending the Newbury to friends

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just back from the Newbury Hotel. Warm welcome clean hotel, brilliant breakfast. The owners are very friendly & cannot do enough for you. The food is excellent. Close to car parks & town. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 364COLINH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

just back from a fantastic trip to blackpool we stayed at the newbury..and the stay was fantastic from start to finish..when we entered the hotel we were welcomed..told all the info we needed..breakfast was excellant, rooms were perfect..such a warm friendly hotel..would defo go back..and recomened to all..so close to all amenties..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

after our third trip this year we have to say dawn and andy are a great team nothing to much we have been coming to blackpool for a long time and they are up with the best of the hotels we have stayed at the meals are all you can ask for the beds are super well done dawn /andy see yous next year VIOLET/ALLAN

Room Tip: we have been in 2 different rooms and both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

the owners could not do enough for you made us feel very welcome
our room had everything i needed
it was very clean the bathroom was very spacious
the breakfast was good
it is only 5 mins from train station
very good experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizzy61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The owners of this hotel are very friendly, and make you feel very welcome. We were also able to leave our bags here after checking out as our train wasn't until late. The B&B was clean, the room a bit small but we weren't in there much as out all day. The breakfast was very nice. Great location, only a few minutes walk from Blackpool north station and from the north pier. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hayward Hotel
Hayward Hotel
#296 of 861 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trentham Hotel
Trentham Hotel
#117 of 861 in Blackpool
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Graydon Hotel
Graydon Hotel
#128 of 861 in Blackpool
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Almar Hotel
Almar Hotel
#250 of 861 in Blackpool
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#23 of 861 in Blackpool
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aysgarth House Hotel
Aysgarth House Hotel
#170 of 861 in Blackpool
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Address: 37 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £36 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing