We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Appalling.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Seabank Hotel
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Appalling.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

(1) I booked through Blackpool Promotions for a large group of friends. We have always used this hotel but this year we were very badly let down. When I booked I specified that I needed 2 single rooms on a low level for 2 of the elderly people on our trip. When arriving the 2 old ladies were given the top floor and the 3rd floor. One which whom was terrified to go in the lift and the other coped but was nervous. This totally spoiled their stay from the minute they arrived. (2). The meals were ok on the Friday night but the rest of the weekend was unedible. The meat was chuck, the veg was cold and lack of gravy. The dinner at night was meant to be 5 p.m.But the doors were never opened at that time. Resulting in a lot of hungry people standing about looking through doorway like beggars. (3). While booking this break it stated about cheap drink and bar downstairs which they were none of. The men in the group were not at all satisfied. We are down to earth people and we don,t expect the ritz for the price we paid but we were not at all happy with the hotels service this year. We will NOT use this hotel again or suggest to any other person, as it has run its course.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackpool0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    220
    119
    47
    47
See reviews for
284
223
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I have just returned from staying at the Royal Seabank, went with my mum, sister and my daughter who is 4. advertised as a family hotel, not the case, its full of old people who are, to be honest worse than kids. They moan about everything and anything, leave there stuff all over the place, and yes i appreciate that some need some help with wheelchairs etc but they seem to feel free to leave them abandoned all over the place, so much so that you have to move them to get by, then they moan because youve moved them. i give up. Dont get me wrong the hotel staff are amazing, patients of a saint to put up with the moans and there were plenty of them. Young polish waitress anna was reduced to tears by a table of 4 who during the cabaret on the last day decided to order up some food. The waitress took their order and duly returned with 2 plates of gorgous fish and chips. she was then blasted as they had apparently asked her for 2 peices in chips - glessga slang for chip butties, which i might add werent even on the menu to start with, so apart from the noise from the cabarat and the language barrier you can see how the girl miss-heard them, but my god what a mouthful they gave her, pure shame. anyhow back to the kids - not a single bit child friendly at all, nothing for them to do in the hotel, now bare in mind blackpool has tons for kids to do and believe me i spent £250 in 2 days making sure my wee girl enjoyed herself but come 8.00pm at night there is no way im trudging the seedy prom of blackpool with a 4yr old and was looking forward to a wee break away with my sis and mum but she was demented. Never even put on a bit of music to let them dance inbetween shows etc, and there was a few kids there for the weekend. The oldies moaned if they ran by the chairs, so they spent 3 nights amusing themselves in the corridor outside the cabaret room or sitting in the dingy pool room all night. Surely someone could be a bit more thoughtful regarding the kids. Or if they dont want them there, then stop advertising this as a family hotel. overall package from blackpool promotions is a great deal and good value for money, but only go if your past 65 or you will be like a fish out of water. ps god help you if you win the bingo cause they will tear you to shreds. food realy good but like previous reviewer, the spag hoops with a fry up is a no no and avoid the spag bols its nasty, all else good and watch the bus on the way home, 6 dottery folk didnt bother to check which bus they should have been on and took up seats on wrong bus, driver spend 30mins looking for them and they were sitting on our bus at another hotel, didnt even but an eyelid when they were told they were on the wrong bus, we were over 1-1/2 hrs late coming home and i felt sorry for a lady on the bus who was meant to be at the rod stewart concert and missed it because of them. honestly they can be worse than kids

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyscotsGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

this hotel has not moved with modern day living you had to eat what was on there menu wich was very sparse the lifts only held 2 people tight one morning for breakfast we had bacon etc with spagheti hoops rooms small to many wheel chairs in lobby cant get a seat for them staff very freindly all in all holiday ok but i will not be back in the royal seabank

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jairdrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grangemouth
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

all in all i thought everything was to a good standard. the hotel itself is in a good location bettween the tower and the pleasure beach ( for the younger generation ).... the staff were very helpfull and were always there to help with any need you may have. the food was nice and it was certainly not tinned, watered down food like some other reviews may say... myself and my partner are 20 years old and traveled with and older couple and a two year old. yes fair enough the lifts are small but are suitible for 2 people and at a struggle 3. the hotel may need a small amount of work done two it but they do there best. to be fair some of the night entertainment is more for the elderly but our crowed all won something at bingo. if caberat singers are not your style theirs plenty of pubs and clubs near the hotel. i would recommend this hotel to many other whom would travel to blackpool I SURE ENJOYED MYSELF

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevie_scottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly1502, Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for you taking the time to leave such a positive review.
It’s always extremely nice to hear feedback, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Kelly Percival
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We booked our Blackpool holiday through Blackpool promotions and was reccomened the Royal Seabank. The hotel is is a wonderful sea front location. the tram stop is directly across the road and the tower is in walking distance. Could not have asked for a better location! The staff were very friendly and helpful! The rooms very very plain but suited the needs of sleeping. The dinners were oragnised will and we were never waiting on food. Meals were homely. Looking at the reveiws before we went did put us off a little but we were not dissapointed with the hotel. You can't expect a 5 star luxury hotel when you are paying cheap rates!! We were the youngest in the hotel by a good 40 years (please note at this time of year it is all elderly ppl who come to Blackpool) but that didnt stop us enjoying the cabert and bingo with our fellow holiday makers!
The only downside was our shower only provided steaming hot water but as soon as we mentioned it the staff called a plumber to look at it so you can't complain with that! Also you can only fit one person in the life per time. I can understand how this may effect the older holiday makers but as we are young and fit we always used the stairs. The place does need a good update and a good lick of paint but once again it is only a base and a place to sleep...the staff make up for the old decor.
All in all we loved our stay at The Royal Seabank!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly1502, Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Kate and Stu,
I would like to thank you for you taking the time to leave such a positive review.
It’s always extremely nice to hear feedback, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Kelly Percival
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

I stayed the The Royal Seababk Hotel in Blackpool in april 2010, i travelled with 4 of my friends and we had an excellent time. The rooms were nice, the meals lovely and the cheap drink and hunky barmen even better. The only complaint I had was the size of the lift and the fact that you could never get a seat in the entertainment lounge, but apart from that it was great and Iam planning to return in September with my 5 year old niece.

I was very disappointed in Blackpool itself, it has completley gone downhill since I was last there 3 years ago. On the Friday the day we arrived, we went for a walk and there was a huge fight with roughly 50 drunk stags and there hardly dressed hens out in the street, no one could walk by them and they were jumping on cars and stabbing each other. DON'T understand why people like that can't just have a good time without ruining everyone else's fun, so needless to say we stayed in the hotel for most of the weekend and it was great.

Friendly and very helpful staff,would recommend it to anyone and have

Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scottishbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly1502, Manager at Royal Seabank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for you taking the time to leave such a positive review.
It’s always extremely nice to hear feedback, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Kelly Percival
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

Hotel knew we were travelling with a 6 month old baby and we were put 2 floors up with a lift not suitable for 1 person or with a pram. No baby changing facilities. Travel cot we got was very dirty and room we were in was too hot. Breakfast might suit elderly person but not grown adult (1 sausage, 1 piece bacon and tomato). We had to pay to eat out for our breakfast. High chair we got for our baby was dirty with food stains still lying on bib. Most hotel staff were not very helpful and friendly. If you are thinking of travelling to this hotel with young baby, in a word don`t.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank family_travellers70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
The Royal Boston Hotel
The Royal Boston Hotel
#9 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#55 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#24 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Seabank Hotel

Property: Royal Seabank Hotel
Address: 219-221 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Seabank Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing