We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic family easter weekend”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #122 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wakefield
1 review
“fantastic family easter weekend”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

thanks again to grant maria and little connor for such a fantastic weekend at the mardonia, once again delight to stay at the mardonia having all been decorated throughout since our last stay last year, the rooms were lovely and clean and linnen was very clean, grant and maria were there to welcome us on arival and were very helpfull with our luggage , provided some refreshments for the children while we got settled into our room, i have 3 lively children age 1 5 and 6 and they were made to feel welcome , my youngest son has special dietry requirments and maria was very helpfull in facilitating his needs,we really enjoy our weekeds away at the mardoina and we always return every year as we have stayed in a hotel in balckpool with our children before and it was disgusting we actually packed our bags i the middle of the night and left but the mardoina is the best we have stayed in by far,we also have contact throughout the year through facebook informing us of whats ahead and any spacial functions happening in balckpool, also weather updates in the week prior to our visit which is fantastic,grant and marias son connor was very helpfull he entertained our children whilst relaxing in the bar areas, thanks guys xxxx see you in a few months..xxx kim and family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi Kim
Thankyou for leaving us a review.
It was lovely seeing you all again, the children have grown so much since your last visit. Im glad you enjoy our face book page as this was set up for all our guests so we can post information on whats happening in Blackpool. See you all soon.
Take care
Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
80
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for the second time in as many years .This time however it was this Easter 2012. Yet again Grant and Marie come up with the goods .Made the w/e even better .welcomed my Family with open arms especially my granddaughter. there were other families staying at the same time and there was a great friendly atmosphere with plenty of friendly banter going on.Rooms were very clean and well decorated. Grant and Marie have made improvements to the hotel not that they were needed i feel . Great location for the pleasure beach theme park and the main swimming pool .overall a gr8 weekend great hotel .......And nothing was too much for our hosts . Recomed this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi Richard
Once again thankyou for leaving us a lovely review on trip advisor.
We had such a great weekend with all the guests and im pleased you did too.
Say hi to martin for us and tell him we will buy him some new socks next time you visit.
Hope you are all well
See You Soon
Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the mardonia hotel over the easter half term with our 4 children age ranging from 16 to 3 . we were greeted by both Marie and grant in a very warm welcoming fashion , our children were very restless from our long journey and Marie offered them refreshments which seemed to work a treat ( thank you ) ,we were then shown to our room which was just as the pictures portrayed and more , the room was bright and airy immaculate throughout with plenty of room for us all , breakfast was a hit with both the children and adults there was a great selection to satisfy all tastes and indeed set us up for our long busy day . Both Marie and Grant were on hand to advise us on good family entertainment and local tourist attractions . Nothing was a problem for marie or grant and there young son connor was a pleasure and so polite and helped keep our 10 year old son entertained while we were on the premises ( thank you connor) , as a young married couple with a large family i would 100% recommend this great family friendly hotel and we look forward to many visits in the near future .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi Lisa
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, You and your family were a pleasure to have staying with us. Still carnt belive you have a 16 year old daughter, although she is the image of you. Connor has asked me to say hi to Darrell.
We hope to see you all soon
Take Care
Maria, Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

B.b for 2 adults 2 kids. 75 pound.

Glad we picked this family run hotel,
They don't allow hen or stags : good for them.
Marie , grant are very helpful ,
We arrived late from Liverpool and grant moved his car to let us get free parking, not many hotels can offer that service.
Rooms are modern and ultra clean, , with a fresh smell.
Small bar , 8 ball pool , with Guinness in cans . Does the job.
We liked the breakfast choice , filling, plenty of food. Tea was strong and refreshing , coffee good too.

They also provide the use of their dinning room for carry out meals , again wonderful , at night no noise outside , perfect sleep .
When we come back,and we will
I hope they have put in ESPN or sports tv
I know its expensive , yet it would get people spending at the bar . Just a thought.
Overall great , glad we picked it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beafrrespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Hi Beafrrespirit

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review,
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was lovely to meet all of your family.

We have listened to your point regarding ESPN, being a small buissness decisions on finance are important as are continually reinvesting heavily in the guests rooms . We will however get some prices for this as im sure future guests would enjoy sitting in the bar area watching sports ( maybe not the women ). Hope you are all well.
kind Regards
Maria,Grant & Connor x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at the Mardonia over the Easter Holidays and had a brilliant time. We went with two young kids and found the Mardonia to be very family friendly. Maria and Grant were very helpful in every way and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely and enough to keep you going all day. We would never go by this hotel if going back to Blackpool and would recomend it to anyone,especially families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
hi Tracey
Thankyou for leaving us a lovely review,
It was lovely to see you all again, I know we were busy when you were here and pleased to see that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to see you again soon
Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morecambe
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

As this was our first holiday since having our daughter we were exited to book a family trip to blackpool for the illuminations we decided to go with this hotel due to the glossy pictures and reviews. on arriving we were greeted by grant a very friendly man but when we were shown to our room we were very disappointed the family room was very small the shower and toilet were in a bad condition and needed updating. we booked the room we stayed in specifically due to the photos but soon found the pictures must of been taken at certain angles that were very deceiving there was no wardrobe space and hardly any room to walk around.despite this we carried on with our holiday but soon came to realise we were some of the only people staying there. on an evening after the lights we would try to have a drink in the bar we found grant to be friendly but we felt as if we were disturbing him if we wanted a drink as he was in the living quarters most of the time he told us that mainly contracters were staying at that point and got up early every morning . the place was advertised as a family hotel but we felt as if our 20 month old daughter was not welcome. when we booked the holiday we rang to arrange the room and made sure the hotel was suitable for a young child we were told that the rooms were spacious and they would offer any type of breakfast our daughter would want but in reality we were offered cereal and toast for her and a half hearted attempt at a full english for me and my partner on most mornings we found ourselves going to mcdonalds to sit and have a coffee because we felt as if we were distirbing them as we were up before 7am .on our last night we finally met marie who was at the bar due to grant being away we found her very friendly but soon realised she spent most of the evening talking about previous guests that had stayed there and not in a very nice way. this hotel would be ideal for young party goers who just wanted a bed to sleep in would not recommend for families as we felt very uncomfortable during most of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Kimberly,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review;
I’m sorry we didn't live up to our reputation for you!! Let’s go through the points you made,

With regards to glossy pictures! We took the pictures ourselves and we are not professionals, we feel they are a true reflection of the room sizes. I’m sorry you were disappointed with the room?
We are at a loss at what room you are referring too as all our family rooms for two adults and one child are large enough for our guests needs. Regarding contractors we have not had any contractors since 2010 and you say you stayed in September 2011?
Half-hearted attempt at breakfast, this made me giggle i have to admit. I won’t even respond as i know after nearly 5 years we have never had a complaint about our breakfasts.

You have stated you had a 20 month old child with you, this would mean you stayed in a family room for the cost of two adult as we do not charge for children under two. Yet you don’t feel this was value for money! I cannot recall a phone call from you with regards to your Child’s Breakfast, i am unsure why you would have been told they can have what they want? This comment is not how we would talk to guests over the telephone, every parent has different requirements for their child. Most young children only eat a very small amount, such as sausage and beans or cereal/toast and I’m in no doubt this would have been offered to you as it is to all our guests free of charge? The comment about being up before 7am and needing to go to McDonalds is strange as we supply complimentary tea/coffee in all guests rooms.

As for only meeting Maria on the last night then who served and cooked your breakfast while you were here as she does all the cooking?

The last comment about this establishment only being for young party goers is total nonsense, as we do not accept stag/ hen parties or same sexed groups that just want to enjoy the pubs and clubs in and around Blackpool. We have had many families who have stayed here with us recently and previously who have booked to return, so we think you are being unfair by saying that the Mardonia is not for families.

We can't please all the people all the time (but we do try to) but did this person even stay with us!
Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool - even if it’s not with us.
Kind regards Maria, Grant & Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My stepmother and I loved our weekend at the Mardonia. Grant thoughtfully saved us a parking space on the street opposite the hotel, as he knew we were checking in late; we were greeted immediately like family, with a (free) hot drink apiece; and, on both evenings, we enjoyed several hours just chatting away with both him and Maria, in the spacious bar area.

The great thing about this 12-bed B&B is the commitment by the owners, both in terms of financial reinvestment and their genuine wish to improve every aspect of every guest's stay. They seem to be forever considering ways to add that extra flourish or comfort. Maria went out of her way to show us around several empty rooms, proudly displaying the fruits of their toil as each is given a tasteful makeover when time permits. Very personal and homely. And the little touches of excellence really make a difference: an iPod charger by the bed, luxury soaps/shampoo/conditioner/lotions, and soft toilet tissue.

Our only quibbles were the size of the bathrooms in our double rooms - although this wasn't detrimental to their function - and the thin curtains in my room (which Maria assured me would be next on the decorating list, receiving blackout window dressings soon).

Breakfast: great. Shower: good. Bed: slightly firm but comfortable. Room: Spotless.

All in all, a real lesson for all proprietors of small hotels. Make the effort and aim for excellence. I hope future visitors respect that spirit.

Room Tip: Family rooms have lots of space but all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaveDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi dave

Thankyou for your kind words and for giving such a detailed account of your stay with us at The Mardonia. We can't thank you enough for your positive comments, to us it is showing that all our hard work and dedication is paying off. Thank you for recommending usI We hope to see you both in the future.

Warm regards
Maria, Grant & Connor xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tudor
The Tudor
#99 of 858 in Blackpool
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#52 of 858 in Blackpool
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camelot House
Camelot House
#162 of 858 in Blackpool
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#104 of 858 in Blackpool
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 858 in Blackpool
1,168 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 858 in Blackpool
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Property: The Mardonia
Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing