We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL!! *****”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #130 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is the first time i have written a review for a hotel i have stayed at, and the only reason i am doing so is because i believe it deserves the high praise i am giving it!!

THE OWNERS:
From the second we arrived we felt "at home" Very friendly would be an understatement!! it was almost like going to visit friends,

THE ROOM:
Clean and well decorated!! and the beds are like sleeping on a cloud!!
the bathroom was sparkling and in perfect condition

THE LOCATION:
you can see on the map, Perfect location, situated just of the front and close to both piers and the pleasure beach

THE BREAKFAST:
Spot ON!! Full English, Cereal, Toast, Fresh Orange, Tea, Jam.... the works!!
and all with a smile!! just want you need in the morning

THE BAR:
as you would expect, good prices and great company from the owners.

if i am ever in Blackpool again, I WILL STAY HERE!!!
if i know anyone going to Blackpool i will recommend they STAY HERE!!

Thank you for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2012

Hi Marc
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again in the future.
Take care Maria, Grant & Connor x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for The Mardonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. We had an excellent welcome, a parking space had been kept for us which was brilliant, we were made to feel really welcome.

The location was excellent, 10 min walk to pleasure beach. The room was perfect, clean and tea,coffee facilities, large bathroom but the shower cubicle was a bit small!

The only negative thing I have to say though is we paid £60 per night and were not provided with breakfast. We were asked on arrival if we were having breakfast but we said we weren't sure (i thought this was included automatically) - I was then told we did not select it when booking (i booked through booking.com-there wasn't an option to select for breakfast) But we weren't then given the choice to pay extra for it. Turned out to be a bit of a nightmare for us with a 3 year old searching for somewhere to eat in the morning!

Also, curtains could be a bit thicker to block out light!

Overall a lovely litlle place and good stay!

Room Tip: Was in a room at front, next to window, bit noisy and could do with thicker curtains to block out th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Hi lynsey
Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review
We are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us, with all online booking sites all our prices are room only and breakfast is an optional extra. On booking.com when you choose the room you require you will see the box special conditions, this informs guests the cost of the breakfast. We decided to offer the room only option due to customer feedback, on booking.com you can upgrade to breakfast by writing in the special request and also over the telephone.

The shower that you have referred to is actually a standard size; however we do understand that due to the size of the bathroom it may appear smaller.

We are really sorry that you were not offered breakfast when you arrived, normally we always offer it to all our guests, the only reason we can think of is maybe because you arrived late we just forgot to ask you. I hope this didn’t spoil your holiday to much! The room you stayed in now has got black out curtains, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Take care
Maria, Grant & Connor x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

First of all let me start by saying this is the first review I have ever wrote on trip advisor and felt the need to after reading an absurd review giving the mardonia an unworthy 2*.

My company has been staying here for 3 weeks now and are extremely impressed with the quality of the hotel and the service provided by Maria and Grant. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and they are constantly going out the way to make sure that my guests and I are having an extremely pleasant stay. There were 10 of us travelling with me last week and every single one commented on their lovely rooms and the spotlessly clean condition of the B and B. A couple of examples of their dedications to their customers needs is the fact they are willing to give us breakfast 2 HOURS before their normal breakfast time and one night to free a parking space Grant moved his car to free a parking space for us. Who said they don't offer personal touches?

In short, lovely hotel, lovely rooms, lovely communal areas and lovely people

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Hi Michael
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, we don't often get bad reviews so when another guest takes the time to comment on our behalf it means alot.to us both. We carn't please everyone but we do try our best.
Both yourself and your work colleagues have been a pleasure to have staying with us, We try our best to keep the hotel clean and tidy and we are all always reinvesting but rome wasn't built in a day.
Grant said when you are back off your holiday he will give you more mushrooms lol.
Take care
Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

the rooms were ok although at no point of my stay did i feel welcome, from the first minute they were complaining about how many rooms we booked then when showing us to our rooms they kept sighing like it wasnt there job and its not like we asked them to show us to the room i would of been happy them just giving me the room number and the key! They never gave us any clean towels or anything even though that was what they moaned about when we first got there about losing money from having to clean 1 more room! When we did sit in the bar area they just stood behind the bar staring at us making us feel asthough we wasnt aloud to have a drink there and on the last day before we left they accused one of us of stealing a towel because there wasnt a big towel in one of the rooms but turns out they never actually provided that person with a big towel yet they never apologised! The only good thing about the hotel was the location but if i ever go to blackpool this would be the last place i would stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review,
We are sorry YOU didn't enjoy your stay as much as the rest of your family!! Firstly the complaint about how many rooms were booked is false, the booking had been made 12 months in advance and all throughout the process until arrival there were 27 people(taking up all 12 rooms) arriving. Only when your party arrived were we notified that there were only 23 people, yet you still wanted to use all the 12 rooms which were ready to be occupied!!!!!!!! ( so what other room needed cleaned?), like we explained to the organisner we carnt absorb the cost of giving 3 rooms that were not paid for free of charge which he understood. As with all our guests we show them to their room and explain the facilities they have, we believe this is the "personal" touch that guests enjoy(not you!). When you were shown to your rooms which the organiser had allocated, several members of the group started moaning and refusing to go in the room as they didn't want to share with certain people, which took the booking in process over 1 hr to complete.

Clean towels are provided when they are requested, the signs which CLEARLY states if clean towels are needed please leave them in the shower tray, your rooms were serviced daily and at no time were towels left in the shower tray or did anyone mention about having towels replaced. (we can't read minds) Regarding the missing towel, we knew that all the rooms had towels,hand towel and bathmats as you were supposed to be using all the rooms, all we did was ask if that person could check their baggage to see if it had been packed by accident. If we made you feel uncomfortable in the bar (which i find strange) how is it that your group stayed with us for 3 days and 2 of the days were the bar from 9pm until 1am, if you were made to feel uncomfortable surely you would have gone somewhere else to drink????????.

Their is alot more we could say in our defence with regards to this review and some of the guests behaviour but we will let people be the judge when they stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you won't be visiting us again if you visit Blackpool, however we know Kevin enjoyed his 50th Birthday by the lovely comment he wrote in our guest book "Thankyou for making my 50th Birthday such a special occasion" Glad we were able to please somebody =)

Kind regards Maria, Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Mardonia Hotel for a Friday and Saturday at the end of April. We were a party of five visiting for a football match (Preston v Charlton) and, although the hotel doesn't usually stag or hen parties, Grant and Marie were persuaded that, as we were all in our 50s, we would be suitable guests.

Arrived at the hotel, 10 mins from Blackpool South station, checked in and were shown to our rooms.

Rooms were very clean and well appointed and Marie showed each of us how the shower and heating worked. My room had a radio docking station for Ipod / iphones which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was at 9.00 to 9.30 and had a choice of cereals, together with a full english, fruit juice, tea or coffee and toast. All food was prepared to order, including a vegetarian 'full english'

Our hosts, Grant and Marie, were very helpful with lots of local advice and dealt with any requests from our party.

This is a good B & B which would be ideal for people visiting Blackpool.

Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Hotel is yards from the sea front, mid way between the tower and the pleasure beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drwlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

hi
Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you all, hope you are well.
We hope to see you all in the near future.
Kind Regards Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Mardonia for a long weekend with 2 young children. Grant and Marie were lovely and welcoming and made us feel at home. Our room was lovely - clean, tidy & spacious. The breakfast was gorgeous and there was plenty of choice for the children too. We spent the evening in the bar with Grant, Marie and other guests, there was a great atmosphere and everyone enjoyed chatting as if we'd known each other for years. There were also other children staying at the same time and they all played together happily for hours. We found the hotel to be perfect if you have children - it is a short distance away from the Pleasure Beach & the Sandcastle and there were no rowdy party goers staying as you usually find in Blackpool. We would recommend to anyone but especially families. Thank you Grant & Marie, we had a lovely time & hope to be back soon x x x

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samanthalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Hi Samantha
Thankyou for taking the time to leave such a lovely review
We really do appreciate all your kind words. It’s good to know that you enjoyed your stay and everything we offer here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Take Care Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

thanks again to grant maria and little connor for such a fantastic weekend at the mardonia, once again delight to stay at the mardonia having all been decorated throughout since our last stay last year, the rooms were lovely and clean and linnen was very clean, grant and maria were there to welcome us on arival and were very helpfull with our luggage , provided some refreshments for the children while we got settled into our room, i have 3 lively children age 1 5 and 6 and they were made to feel welcome , my youngest son has special dietry requirments and maria was very helpfull in facilitating his needs,we really enjoy our weekeds away at the mardoina and we always return every year as we have stayed in a hotel in balckpool with our children before and it was disgusting we actually packed our bags i the middle of the night and left but the mardoina is the best we have stayed in by far,we also have contact throughout the year through facebook informing us of whats ahead and any spacial functions happening in balckpool, also weather updates in the week prior to our visit which is fantastic,grant and marias son connor was very helpfull he entertained our children whilst relaxing in the bar areas, thanks guys xxxx see you in a few months..xxx kim and family

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Hi Kim
Thankyou for leaving us a review.
It was lovely seeing you all again, the children have grown so much since your last visit. Im glad you enjoy our face book page as this was set up for all our guests so we can post information on whats happening in Blackpool. See you all soon.
Take care
Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Tudor
The Tudor
#92 of 859 in Blackpool
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#42 of 859 in Blackpool
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camelot House
Camelot House
#173 of 859 in Blackpool
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#106 of 859 in Blackpool
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hurstmere
The Hurstmere
#17 of 859 in Blackpool
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £40 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing