We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe & sound”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #108 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We would like to thank Maria & Grant for an excellent break at their hotel,we enjoyed our stay that much we will stay longer next time.all you people out there that want to stay in a friendly,clean & safe hotel the "Mardonia" is a must.Maria & Grant thank you.

Andy & Lynn Carter plus family
Kidderminster
Worcestershire.

Room Tip: The hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello AndyC, thankyou for your kind words, we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to seeing you all again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just got back Literally from a two night stay at the mardonia hotel and had a wonderful time. We booked last minute on Friday due to the local caravan site being flooded and cancelling our weekend stay. This hotel is absolutely spotless and the rooms are all decorated to a high standard with the same level of comfort and warmth. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious with a choice of cereals, plenty of toast and a full cooked English breakfast with fresh juices, tea and coffee. The moment we walked into this hotel we felt welcome and this carried on throughout our stay. Grant and Maria have definitely done a fabulous job in making this hotel welcome and homely and we will definitely return in the near future. The hotel is also very central so is close to all the amenities and very reasonably priced considering the high standard of decor. We have stayed in many hotels, guesthouses etc over the years in Blackpool and can honestly say that this is the far superior and welcoming so I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is thinking of packing their bags and taking a trip to the seaside. Thank you grant and Maria for a wonderful weekend and we will see you again, all our love jim, Tracey and Ellie stayed in room 5 xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceydSouthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello Traceyd,

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. it was lovely meeting you and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just stayed at the mardonia hotel and would definately return. The owners were very friendly and made us feel at home. The breakfast was brilliant and the rooms were very modern and cosy. The location of the hotel was ideal as it was central and right in the middle of the tower and the pleasure beach. Also there are no curfews on when to be in as you get your own key to get in and out as you please. Next time we come to blackpool we will definately be choosing the mardonia hotel and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnalindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello Donnalindsay, Thankyou for spending a few minutes to leave us a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mardonia and next time we go to Blackpool we will be definitely staying there again. When we got there, Grant had already 'reserved' us a parking spot right outside the hotel; how many places will do that for you?! We were then checked in and our bags were taken up to our room for us on our behalf so that we could go out and explore the town. The hotel is excellently located of equal distance between the tower and the pleasure beach and both are well within walking distance.

Hospitality and service is second to none; last year we stayed at the Travel Lodge and no-one would give us the time of day there, at the Mardonia nothing is too much trouble. Our room was a family one at the front and the double glazing must be good as we didn't hear any noise at night! Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was newly carpeted and had fresh decor. For breakfast you are spoilt for choice; cereals, toast, fried breakfast or all three! The owners Grant and Maria are really friendly; we sat in the bar in the evening chatting away to them enjoying a pint.

All in all a great place to stay; we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Mardonia to anyone. Thank you very much to Grant and Maria.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAndGem2K10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello Paul& Gem, Thankyou for spending the time to leave us a review, it was a pleasure to meet you and your family.

We are glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Maria,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have just got back from a weekend break at the mardonia. There were 3 couples all adults, we have been going to Blackpool now for 12 years, and were told this year our usual hotel had closed down, so we were recommended to go to the mardonia. We was not disappointed at all Maria and grant made us very welcome and it was very clean,maria and grant was so friendly, and I was shocked at the size of the bathroom it was fantastic. The location was also great. In fact everything was superb and we had a fantastic weekend and cannot wait to go back next year. The only one thing that we wished for was the bar to be open for a night cap before we went to bed, we did not ask because they were so busy and it’s nothing really to moan about. Anyone who is thinking of booking at the mardonia do it you will enjoy it, and you will never regret it. Thank you very much for looking after us see you soon xxx the wolverhampton gang Dee, Mark, Pat, John, Karon and Richard xxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise190762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Wolves gang, thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the bar opening times, as a rule we are open until midnight everyday, however we may close a little earlier if the guests are either in bed or out enjoying Blackpool attractions.

Maria ,Grant & Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Recently stayed at Mardonia Hotel for a long weekend with family and friends.From the moment we arrived (very early !!) nothing was a problem for Maria and Grant.They made us feel so welcome we cant wait to return to Blackpool and stay there again.The hotel is ideally situated right between the pleasure beach and the Tower with the beach 2mins walk,perfect !!! Rooms spotless and breakfast great !! Well done Maria and Grant you run probably the friendliest and cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in.
See you soon.Maureen & Mark x

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 341markb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Hi Michael & Maureen
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review, it was lovely to meet you and your family and friends. We had a great weekend with you all and hope to see you all next year,
Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I have been staying at this hotel on and off for 5 weeks now due to work. The rooms are very very clean with en suite bathrooms and modern tv's. The hotel is in a ideal area just off the beach front with easy acess to all Blackpool has to offer. The best thing about this hotel though is without a doubt the owners Grant and Marie who are nothing but helpful polite and really welcoming. Oh and the beer is beautiful which always helps!!!!! Thank you very much for your hospitality. I would recommend this lovely hotel to anyone very very good!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Hi John
Thank you for leaving us a review, it has been a pleasure having you all staying with us over the last few months. We are pleased you enjoy our hotel, i know working away from home is hard and i hope we have helped you to feel relaxed and comfortable. Take care Maria, Grant & Connor xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,400 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#167 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 136 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £45 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing