We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #122 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at the Mardonia for 2 nights,.Grant and Marie made us feel very welcome. Lovely clean room and a great breakfast. nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely return and will recommend to family and friends..thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Ellen
Thankyou for leaving us a lovely review, it is always a bit worrying when guests stay who work in another hotel as like ourselves i know u would have certain standards and im glad we were able to meet them. Hope you are well and will welcome you back anytime.
Hope to see you soon Maria & Grant x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked the Mardonia after reading reviews on various websites, I can honestlybsay that no part of our stay at the Mardonia dissapointed in any way. Grant & Maria were very welcoming from the outset and really make you feel at home while you stay with them, nothing is ever too much trouble and from our arrival to our departure they made sure every aspect of our stay was first class. The Mardonia itself has had a major overhaul over the past few seasons and everywhere from the public bar area to the rooms is finished to a high standard. The whole hotel is spotless from top to bottom and the rooms come with complimentary tea and coffee and towels. Our room was a family room on the 2nd floor and as mentioned previously had recently been renovated and was one of the nicest family rooms we have stayed in on our travels. Breakfast is brilliant value for the money and all the food was cooked to perfection with portions been the perfect size for us and set us up nicely for the day. The hotel location is really handy for just about every attraction, been about a 15 minute walk to the tower and the same to the pleasure beach, with a tram stop on the prom right at the end of the road. All in all a perfect place to stay for a long or short break and we will definitely be returning in the future

Room Tip: The Mardonia is situated just off the prom on a quiet side road so a good nights sleep is guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark-jemma-mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Mark & Family
Thank you for taking time out to write a review. You are very kind and all you have said is very much appreciated. We hope to see you back here in the near future.
Take care Maria & Grant x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend break. We went for this hotel as it is very modern and right in the middle of the main attractions. The owners welcomed us very warmly and the room was great, the bed was so comfy too. Def recommend and we'll be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi Tracey
Thank you for writing a review. All your kind words are very much appreciated. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Take Care Maria & Grant xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at the Mardonia this bank holiday weekend and had a great time ,Grant and Marie where brilliant and extremely helpful, the full English breakfast were excellent and the Guinness from the bar was very good too! I will be definitely returning to Blackpool with my Grandchildren in the summer and will be staying at the Mardonia if there are any vacancies.

Room Tip: The superior rooms look great and are fantastic value for the money charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Tony

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you. were so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards
Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

was meet by Gordon with an extremely warm and professional manner. at check in everything was explained to us and we were then shown to our rooms once again by Gordon and he explained how showers etc worked. Room was very clean with all needed facilites. Breakfast on both days was excellent service and options are available, the breakfast was also cooked to a better standard then most of the recent 4 star hotels I have stayed in. This is a very good place to stay and I would recommend the Mardonia to anyone staying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epic1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Epic

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you. were so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards
Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we stayed at the Mardonia on the 18th May 2013 as we were visiting Blackpool for a show. Grant and Marie were so welcoming and helpful, booking us taxis and advising us on the best places to eat whilst we were out.
our room was lovely, clean and well turned out. you could see that every effort had been made with the presentation.
the Hotel bar was so cheap and the full breakfast the following morning was second to none. Everything was fresh and again the service was excellent.
we were so happy with our experience at the Mardonia that we booked again for later on in the year when we're in Blackpool for another show.
highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: book room 3. really is a lovely room with big en suite. well decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Michelle

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you. were so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards
Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Was worth the 5 hour drive from London to Blackpool. Soon as we arrived Grant saved us a parking space right outside the hotel which saved us £22 which was brilliant. Maria and Grant was very welcoming and it felt like going from home to home. We will definitely be back as we saw the new superior room and can't wait to stay in that. Overall the hotel was really good, peaceful and relaxing. Thank you for having us and we will see you soon.

Tom & Alice

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TommyAlice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hello Tommy & alice

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us, it was a pleasure meeting you. were so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to meeting you again

Kind Regards
Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor
The Tudor
#97 of 860 in Blackpool
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#49 of 860 in Blackpool
256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#30 of 860 in Blackpool
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#109 of 860 in Blackpool
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Property: The Mardonia
Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing