We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend”
Review of The Mardonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mardonia
Ranked #111 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at the Mardonia and had an excellent weekend. Its ideally situated. The rooms are nice and clean and it has a warm and friendly atmosphere the breakfasts were also excellent.
We received excellent advice where to go to enjoy our weekend and would recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Dave, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break with us

We look forward to seeing you in the future

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    18
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My partner and I have just enjoyed a very pleasant two night stay at the Mardonia Hotel. We stayed in the very comfortable Superior Room (room 3) and cannot fault anything whatsoever about our visit.

The hotel was quiet (which is just what we wanted) but still had a friendly feel when we did encounter other guests (at breakfast time).

Our room was a decent size with a large, recently renovated bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room was equipped with 32" inch TV, coffee/tea facilities, hairdryer and ipod docking station. Although the room was facing the front of the hotel, directly over the bar and front door, we encountered no noise disturbance whatsoever. The location was also very quiet. Crystal Road gets little traffic or pedestrians.

Breakfast is not included in the room price, but can be purchased for an additional £5 per head. The proprietor, Grant, was efficient and friendly when taking orders and serving the food, and would happily oblige patrons particular requests, also offering extra toast when he saw guests had run out. Nothing seemed too much trouble.

As previously mentioned this is a quiet hotel. Although it has a bar, we did not notice it being used during our stay. That is not to say it was discouraged by the proprietors, just that it appeared quite low key. However, that actually suited us as a rowdy bar may have disturbed our peace.

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable and peaceful, yet friendly stay in an area of Blackpool that is walking distance from amenities, yet away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chas51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Chas51

Thankyou for taking the time to leave such a thorough review of your stay, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience of the Mardonia.


The room for your stay was newly created for the 2013 season so were really pleased that you enjoyed the new facilities (p.s we have a new superior room for the 2014 season)

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

we have been going to the mardonia hotel for 6 years we are always made very welcome by grant and marie. the rooms are excellent, beds are comfortable. we are treated very well and nothing is too much trouble. we do not want to go home at the end of the week, we tried other hotels in blackpool but nothing beats the mardonia on crystal road. we will definitely be going back next year, so on that note we will see you next year grant and marie.

sean and chris.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Christine

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review.

It was a pleasure to see you all again, has it really been 6 years now? time flies by..

We look forward to seeing you again next year

P.S smaller bags next time my back can't take it =)

Kind Regards

Maria Grant & Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed at the mardonia for two nights the owners were friendly and helpful people .and was made to feel very welcome .The room we stayed in was superb,the bathroom was very nice with a good shower and was all very clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities.The breakfast is very good and is cooked fresh to order with also a choice of cereal and juice.The location was near the front but was quite and peaceful at night .Would definitely stay their again had a brilliant time ,and was good value for money.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Kevin

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

we look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Mardonia for two nights (Friday and Saturday) last week. We are both 27 so were looking for somewhere with modern decor at a reasonable price and that is exactly what The Mardonia is.

When we arrived we got a warm welcome from the couple who run the hotel, who told us about the free fireworks display on the seafront, which we hadn't heard about and went to watch after checking in, which was a lovely way to start the weekend off! The illuminations were on as well which is a fantastic sight to see.

When we arrived we were shown to our room, which was exactly as I had hoped when booking - the decor was lovely, with a feature wall on the back wall, modern lamps, curtains etc and a flat screen TV. The bed was nice and comfy, the room was very clean and the bathroom was absolutely spotless, there wasn't even a single speck of mould on the mastic in the shower. I thought it was obvious that the rooms are very well looked after.

The hotel is situated on the end of a side street off the Promenade, so it was ideally situated for us - it was away from the end near the north pier with all the pubs (and stag and hen parties), which is what we wanted. It was only a short walk to the central and south piers, which we visited several times. It was also only a short walk to the Tower and attractions, so we couldn't have been happier with that.

The only issue with the location is that, as with many central Blackpool hotels, The Mardonia doesn't have its own car park, but there is a car park on its road that we parked in for 48 hours for £11. One tip though - bring change for the ticket machine as we didn't have any and it didn't take notes! I can't stress enough though, this really didn't bother me as everything about our stay was ideal.

Breakfast was really good on both mornings, we had tea/coffee, juice, racks of toast and a cooked breakfast consisting of sausages, bacon, a fried egg, tomato and mushrooms. It was very tasty and really hit the spot on both mornings.

We paid £50 per night for the room and £5 per person per meal for breakfast, so the total was £120. For the stay that we had, I felt that this had been great value for money and I would definitely return.

Blackpool itself was brilliant - I had never been before and my boyfriend hadn't been since he was a child, but to both of us it was obvious that the council is putting effort and money into modernising the seafront. We walked up and down the Promenade many times to see all the sights, and I was really impressed with the amount of stuff to do. We visited Sealife, the Tower Ballroom and went up the Tower, all of which were fantastic.

For a weekend getaway I would strongly recommend The Mardonia and Blackpool, we had a great time and it was a trip to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgoodjohn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello bgoodjohn23

Thankyou for leaving such a indepth review it is much appreciated.

We are really pleased that we helped make your stay enjoyable

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Really pleasant, welcoming, very clean, food really nice. Great Craic nothing too much trouble. When I lost my car keys they were extremely helpful took time to chat.
Really enjoyed our night out. Good shopping next day

Room Tip: This hotel has also a range of rooms recently upgraded two doors up from sea front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 963Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello 963Christine

Thankyou for leaving a review on your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

P.s i won't mention you leaving your car keys in the taxi =)

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed here with my partner and 2 year old daughter for the weekend, the owners were lovely and very helpful. The rooms are modern and spotless with very comfy beds. We had a lovely breakfast made for us both mornings. Great relaxing stay, would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mardoniahotel, Owner at The Mardonia, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello Stephanie

Thankyou for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you and your family.

We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Maria & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Bedmond Hotel
Bedmond Hotel
#274 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tudor
The Tudor
#86 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#10 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seagull Hotel
Seagull Hotel
#80 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossall House
Rossall House
#18 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands Hotel
The Sands Hotel
#156 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mardonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mardonia

Property: The Mardonia
Address: 4-6 Crystal Road, Blackpool FY1 6BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mardonia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Mardonia We offer our guests holiday and business accommodation with quality and style in relaxing surroundings. Whether you are taking a romantic break, seeing a show, attending a sporting event or simply want a few days away, The Mardonia can offer you the personal touches, warmth and friendliness of a Traditional Blackpool Bed and Breakfast. We are ideally placed between the Central and South Piers just off the promenade, so you have easy access to the trams and all Blackpools attractions. Including The Pleasure Beach, Blackpool Tower, Sandcastle Waterpark and The Winter Gardens. We are a fully licensed establishment with a relaxing bar area for you to enjoy after a busy day in Blackpool. Bed space includes Double, Twin, Triple and Family rooms. Our rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. All our rooms are en-suite (complimentry toiletries) and are all equipped with 22" Flatscreen TV's, tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking stations, radio alarms and WIFi internet is available. For comfort of our guests we have a no smoking policy. Rooms are serviced daily and breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.30-9.30am. Full english and vegitarian options are available for breakfast (prior arrangement). Owners Grant and Maria have created a splendid and delightful family run bed and breakfast with superb hospitality in a relaxing atmosphere, all the necessary ingredients for making your stay in blackpool a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mardonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing