We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room shame about the bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #53 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
1 review
“Comfortable room shame about the bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just back from a three day break. The room was ok with new furniture. The bed was a divan with metal head and foot board which squeezed with the slightest movement sheets were clean. Decor is dated. The bathroom was a mess. There was a shower curtain folded in half held up by curtain wire where the cubical door should have been.
We didn't get any housekeeping or towels changed our full stay. Our room was 202 and looked out the back. It was hot and when we opened the window we got the smell of the kitchen coming in.
Breakfast was ok.
Entertainment was ok too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleymair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    26
    15
    19
See reviews for
66
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I was surprised by how small our room was; just about enough room to sidle along the double bed. Bathroom was dated and very small: it is almost possible to sit on the loo, clean your teeth over the basin and have a shower at the same time and I'm not a contortionist! Maybe I am used to larger rooms so am I being harsh? I don't think so. It is in my mind a "B & B" called a hotel.

Bar prices were high. We asked for a small glass of milk for the room at night (not enough with tea facilities etc) and were charged £2 for less than half a pint. Would have bought some from a shop but rules state NO food or drink to be brought in to the premises.

Breakfast was average, although we nearly missed it because there is only a 3/4 hour time slot from 8.30 to 9.15 a.m. for last orders. The email stated that checkout was at 11 a.m. but we had a knock on the door at 10.30 prompt to ask if we were ready to leave/ have our room cleaned.

Interestingly, we weren't asked if we had a pleasant stay as we checked out; I suspect they do not expect guests to return here or care too much? If I am wrong, then this aspect of the hospitality needs correcting quickly or business could be lost.

Positive note, apart from the fact as stated that the room was clean and in a handy location: staff were reasonably friendly, although we were not told of the breakfast time or checkout time being different to the email.

No doubt there will be a follow up response saying we should have complained about something there and then but it was not worth the time and effort as it was not THAT bad; if it had been, we would not have stayed.

Room Tip: Maybe a sea view would make up for some things lacking? or a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear LouDH, I thank you for your review and the positive comments made. Your stay with us was for 1 night booked at the last minute for the Elton John concert. Our bar prices are competitive with all the other hotels in the locality and milk is £1.90 in the nearest café and for lesser quantity than the full half we served you. As you will appreciate, we cannot give these things away as we have overheads to meet too. We apologise for any mix up in departure time. The timing of breakfast was told to you at check in and is clearly displayed inside the hotel however when you did come down for breakfast the next day, your order was taken and you were promptly served without any delay. On departure, as you will appreciate, the hotel reception can be busy and as such it is not always easy to speck to all our guests most of whom have an express option of dropping the keys into collection box without having to wait. I understand that you chose to do this rather handing the keys to the person managing the reception. If you had done so I am sure as it our normal practise that he would asked you the relevant question. All our guests are important and many return to us on regular bases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The Hotels situation on the Prom is ideal for both north and south shore with the tram station opposite. We stayed in room 218, it was big enough and had a great view of the prom and seafront, all the staff were very welcoming and efficient, the service in the dining room was very prompt and polite. The menu was varied and ample. to conclude we would certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandadaykool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Went with my family for a few nights to stay in Blackpool (other seaside resorts booked ) - Staff at the hotel were friendly and the rooms are clean, however the hotel needs a revamp, Think most hotels in Blackpool are the same now though - not bad value for money, breakfast was good. Had Cabaret on an evening, which we enjoyed.

Blackpool as a whole is not safe for a family, full of drunken brits, fighting, shame really because i have fond memories of Blackpool from when i was younger, would not go back with my family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gladwinwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

lovely clean hotel and manager very polite but we stayed in room 105 and to get round one side of the bed was terrible god help a bigger adult trying to do it.and the shower room was so small couldnt grt dried in their and toilet practacally on top of the shower if the room was bigger it would be a ideal

Room Tip: nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michele258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Balmoral from 25/05/12 to 28/05/12. Stayed in room 218 with a sea view which was a lovely room, clean and bed was comfy.Central to everything, tram station opposite. Breakfast was brilliant. M and Ann were very pleasent and always greeted us with a smile.
Thanks both for a fab weekend

Leighton and Kay Morris (wales)

Room Tip: Sea view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed for a week, our family of four, we had a great time, everyone was friendly and made our stay at the hotel a relaxed and fun one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#37 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: 215-217 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Hotel is a friendly hotel with a unique smoked glass fronted exterior. Built at the turn of the century this fine hotel is ideally situated on the sea front between Blackpool Tower and the Pleasure Beach with the Central Pier just yards away. The hotel offers accommodation for couples, families, singles and small groups but strictly no Stags or Hens. There is a well-established evening restaurant attached to the hotel which includes an a la carte menu and is open to the public.We provide free entertainment, bingo and quiz with a free finger buffet 6 nights per week, subject to numbers, in our cabaret bar and lounge. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.On warm sunny days you can relax in the forecourt café/restaurant area enjoying a long cool drink and watch the world pass by. If you prefer to relax indoors our lounge offers elevated and panoramic views of the Irish Sea. During the world famous illuminations you can watch the special illuminated trams as they pass by the hotel without having to leave the comfort of your armchair.The location of the Balmoral is such that you are only a few minutes away from all the fun filled areas, the town centre for shopping, the tower headland with its comedy carpet and new wedding chapel, the tower with its new dungeon and walk of faith, Sea World and the world famous Madame Tussauds and of course the Pleasure Beach. Transport links are good with the Tram stops directly opposite us and bus stops are a few yards away enabling you to travel further afield at ease. We offer competitively priced packages for 3 day weekends, 4 day mid weeks and 7 day packages on either a BB or HB basis. We are booking Christmas, 4 days 24-28 Dec, and New Year, 3 days 30 Dec to 2 Jan at competitive prices. We also offer Christmas Shopping break weekends, 2 nights throughout November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing