We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont tourture yourself”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Well not much i can say part from wat a [--] we stayed friday 2nd november and got back today NEVER EVER EVER AGAINNNN. We arrived friday at 2.30 and rooms wernt ready STILL so had to wait about half hour extra for key there was a family of 8 4adults 4children.The staff very rude especially hotel owner who is a asian guy that sits at reception all day all foreign staff. Breakfast horrible rooms well wouldnt even put my worst enemy in there the place smelt heating didnt work as we had an electric radiator in our room sink was falling off the wall we didnt expect much for blackpool but this was a joke we paid 170 for 2 nights bnb for 2 adults 1 child and i would have rather flushed it down the toilet.don't book u will be disappointed at the waste off money Also got told on subday leaving we could not leave bags any where till trains come as we was getting kicked out at 10.30 and doors were getting locked wat an aregont man he was fumming at the wasted money.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bekki24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear Bekki24, Thank you for your review. The comments you have made have been passed onto the management for further action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

excellent location. Reception, lounge and bar area spotless and well maintained, the sun lounge especially great to sit and look at the sea. All staff in the hotel were polite and helpful, from the reception to the night porters and cleaners.

We had a ground floor room at the back of the bar area. No way was this a double room, you could not move round the bed at all, and your nose nearly got sliced off when the bathroom door was opened. We were only staying 2 nights and had already changed rooms once as the other one was smelly. The towels and bed linen were clean and of a decent standard. Bathroom small and dated, and docor what you would expect.

We used the restaurant one night has an out side guest and the food was lovely. The breakfast is cooked to order and is very good, with a selection of cereals etc. Although you are put at the back of the dinning room which is quite dismall, when there is a lovely light seating area at the front. Bar prices average and a good selection. Entertainment was ok, but we didn't go for that anyway. The sandwiches etc at supper time were a nice touch and they were very fresh and tasty.

I know this review is late, but having read all the negative reviews I felt I had to tell you our experience of this hotel.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amigosLeighLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear Amigos Leigh Lancs., Thank you so much for remembering us and taking the time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 night's !!! horrible, stained carpets, dirty chair, bathroom tiny and very botched up tired decor. !! toilet leaking over floor.Bed spread had holes in where the stuffing was coming out !! They need replacing badly.Placed overnight bag on top of wardrobe,, had to wipe it down on leaving, thick of white dust.Bed not made, just had top cover thrown over, sheets all over the place, pheraps you should have a word with your cleaning staff.Wall lights with no bulb's in, why is that ? Late 10 mins for evening meal. had 2 small children and had to rush from circus, we were refused a meal for being late, We had to wait 20 mins for breakfast to be served, it.s ok if they are late !!! no bowls for cereals, no grapefruit ,wait for glasses for juice, then no juice, staff apologiszed , not their fault, but certainly bad management.Pheraps we are used to better, don't complain, have never done this on trip advisor before, we would never stop here again and advise anyone thinking about it, THINK AGAIN !

Room Tip: go to a different hotel.<<<<<<<<<<<
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank june d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear June d, this review raises a lot of issues but none were mentioned to us throughout your stay. Considering we had 80 other guests who complimented us on all aspects of our service, it is therefore quite surprising for us that you had something to complain about in this review. That’s ok we take note of all reviews and investigate to make certain the issues you have raised are put right immediately. In this case, firstly the size of the bathrooms, yes these hotels have small bathrooms but they are more than adequate for short stays and are more importantly clean tidy and functional. Most seafront hotels in Blackpool are of similar construction so don’t expect big bathrooms if you want to holiday in Blackpool or for that matter in any other coastal hotels around our shores.
Moving on , issue of dust, yes there was some light dust at high levels on the non-storage area of the wardrobes. This only to be expected in most hotels, especially in hard to reach area and also in our own homes I am sure. These areas are cleaned on a monthly rota and in this case it was cleansed on the 30th Sept. Dust is in the air everywhere and does collect in areas out of normal everyday reach and in this cases we would have not expected anybody to store a bag at that height.
The bedspread in question was freshly torn and was removed on your departure and before this review was put in on this site. My cleaning staff are very diligent and have categorically assured me that the bed spread was damaged during your stay, however we have not charged for this damage. The Wall lights are fine and they work and do have bulbs in them, you obviously had not switched them on the main wall socket. Had you informed us of this we would have been more than happy to have shown how to turn on these lights. Regards toilet, no leakage was found and again if that was so, you should inform the staff on hand.
The breakfast service is always busy and staff is always aware of the exact number of guests to provide service for each morning. All items for breakfast are provided in adequate amounts. The cooked breakfast is served by order –first come first served and in your case we would serve your family within our allocated time after you had completed your cereals.
Please note we make very every effort to make certain that all guests are looked after well and are fairly treated and wherever possible we will try do our best to help them, however when guests are very late for meal times it difficult to accommodate such situations when our chefs and floor staff have already started to reset the restaurant for next day’s service.
It may have been prudent for you to have informed the management of your possible late arrival for your evening meal in which case as we have done in past, could have prepared and served your meal in our public restaurant instead.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Took our in-laws to Blackpool for a couple of days at their request. Oicked the balmoral from a local paper. By far the best of a load of hotels on the promanarde! The owner was extremely polite, the staff attentive and the food very good. Thank you Balmoral!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BikerHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear Biker Harrogate, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure to be at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is our second time staying at this Hotel. The staff were very friendly and honest.
Lovely food and atmosphere and a superb location for all that Blackpool has to offer. Very reasonable. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Went into this hotel and booked a double room it was not nice. The blanket on the bed was dirty and the carpet stained bedside lights loose and unsafe. The bathrom was a disgrace and so small we couldnt use it. There was dirty plastic cups on the shelf and the rubbish bin had not been emptied and had female sanitary things in it on top of the toilet was broken and had no flush the place stank and was filthy.
We went to reception to ask for our money back and told him the bathroom was not suitable. This man who was very nice when taking our money then said that is the standard of all the bathrooms. He then turned nasty saying he would give us our money back but was CHARGING us £10 because we had been in the room. He got angry and told us he could have let the room to others.
We were just glad to get our money back to go somewhere else that we agreed.
This man is a disgrace he made us feel it was our fault and his rapid change from nice to get our money to aggresion makes me glad we did not stay.
OUR ADVICE IS DO NOT GO TO THIS. PLACE AND IF YOU DO INSPECT THE ROOM BEFORE YOU GIVE HIM ANY MONEY AND BEWARE OF HIS ATTITUDE

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingofdarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2012

Dear Kingodarts- your review here is totally unfounded and totally untrue Yes you had checked into our hotel for one night stay and on arrival both of you seemed a very nice young couple. You were shown the room ready for new arrivals with which you were very happy with, having checked the facilites in particular the bathroom and bedding. All was fine till a few hours later in the afternoon and on your return from being out we noticed both of you were highly intoxicated ( alcohol) , we were quite surprised at your behaviour and use of bad langurage amonst other guests and young children. Having asked you discreeltey a couple of times not to be disruptive, you contunied in the same vain. Having warned you, we had no chose but to put you out. We refunded your money despite you having used the room. A fee of the £10 was deducted for credit card booking/ refund cost to us . Most other hotels would have removed you from their premises without any form of refund at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner,unfortunately and now would like to warn everyone to stay away.
I have stayed in many hotels/bbs but never have I wanted to go home,immediately!!....My room was dirty,
Dusty and clearly hadnt been cleaned for quite sometime.My sheets were stained and pillows sweat stained [ or stained with something]
The shower was filthy,carpets rotton and
the entire room grotty.
The breakfast was disgusting.The eggs were swimming in god knows what and the toast was stone cold.
I reported my issues to the manager but I was met with aggression and a lecture about "being pissed off with guests"
Charming!!!!!!!
I suggest he changes his attitude with immediate effect.The day before we left infact,he was really having a go at an elderly lady who was asking for her coffee to be warmed up!!!!!....I defiantly wouldnt want my mum to stay there.
Stuff nightmares are made from.
Im writing this NOT FOR A FREE holiday but to stop anyone even bothering to book here.AVOID!!!
I have just written to thr tourist board regarding my experience as I feel this hotel should be investigated.Perhaps simply sacking the tyrant manager would make a.difference..it would be a start anyway.
Please do yourself a favour and go elsewhere.I dread to think what would happen if an elderly resident wanted warm toast!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Debbie 116

I am sorry for the delay in replying to your review of the hotel, this is because I have taken the time to thoroughly investigate your review and its issues.

The Hotel keeps very comprehensive records of complaints raised and on consulting these records I have found no evidence of you raising any complaint to my staff about your room. I have spoken to all my dining room staff and no complaint was raised with them re your breakfast either. The Manager does not recall the conversation mentioned and indeed he is far too professional to talk to a guest in the manner suggested by you. In addition no member of staff can recall any guest called Debbie around the time of your review. I have also spoken to some of our regular guests and none can recall you or had any issues themselves.

Regarding the matters contained in this review:-
The hotel has been very busy and we have had a high turnover in rooms, on departure all rooms are cleaned from top to bottom. Given the high turnover hence frequent cleaning it is very unlikely that your room was dusty and dirty, and if so then another guest would also have brought this to our attention, none did.

The bed linen is supplied to us by a very reputable linen company and they carry out quality inspections of all linen before it is supplied to us. In addition the house keeping staff would have returned any unsuitable linen back to source. This issue appears to be unfounded.

I note you say that you wanted to leave immediately yet you were still there at breakfast, without raising a complaint. This suggests that all was not as you say. Nobody would stay in a room in the state you describe.

The eggs served at Breakfast are cooked in good quality corn based oil and I can assure you the chef is so proud of his standards that it would astound me if your description of the eggs were true. Toast loses heat very quickly and if it had gone cold by the time you were ready to eat it then a replacement would have been given to you had you asked.

As for the elderly lady and her coffee, I don’t understand why the manager would want to give the lady a hard time over this simple request. No guest that I have contacted recalls any incident of this nature and no complaint was made by any person re this matter.

As there is no evidence and no information from yourself I can only come to the conclusion that this is a totally malicious attempt to sabotage this business. As such this review is suspicious to say the least.

If you were a guest and genuinely do have a grievance then could you kindly forward me the details with the date and room number and I will further investigate the matter again and get in touch with you. At the very least a copy of the letter sent to the Tourist Board to back your statement up is normal protocol in these matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarendon Showtel
The Clarendon Showtel
#47 of 73 in Blackpool
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: 215-217 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Hotel is a friendly hotel with a unique smoked glass fronted exterior. Built at the turn of the century this fine hotel is ideally situated on the sea front between Blackpool Tower and the Pleasure Beach with the Central Pier just yards away. The hotel offers accommodation for couples, families, singles and small groups but strictly no Stags or Hens. There is a well-established evening restaurant attached to the hotel which includes an a la carte menu and is open to the public.We provide free entertainment, bingo and quiz with a free finger buffet 6 nights per week, subject to numbers, in our cabaret bar and lounge. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.On warm sunny days you can relax in the forecourt café/restaurant area enjoying a long cool drink and watch the world pass by. If you prefer to relax indoors our lounge offers elevated and panoramic views of the Irish Sea. During the world famous illuminations you can watch the special illuminated trams as they pass by the hotel without having to leave the comfort of your armchair.The location of the Balmoral is such that you are only a few minutes away from all the fun filled areas, the town centre for shopping, the tower headland with its comedy carpet and new wedding chapel, the tower with its new dungeon and walk of faith, Sea World and the world famous Madame Tussauds and of course the Pleasure Beach. Transport links are good with the Tram stops directly opposite us and bus stops are a few yards away enabling you to travel further afield at ease. We offer competitively priced packages for 3 day weekends, 4 day mid weeks and 7 day packages on either a BB or HB basis. We are booking Christmas, 4 days 24-28 Dec, and New Year, 3 days 30 Dec to 2 Jan at competitive prices. We also offer Christmas Shopping break weekends, 2 nights throughout November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing