We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best”
Review of Balmoral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balmoral Hotel
Ranked #54 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had read reports on this Hotel before i traveled, and the ones i read were not very favourable, but i take everything as i find it myself.
But i am sorry i will not be returning to this hotel.
Although the staff were very friendly they were very untrained, from the waitreses spilling soup to be asking what i would like to eat before i even sat down.
anytime you went to the bar for a drink there was no barman, he was usually outside chatting or smoking.
The rooms were clean but the shower rooms were very dated and tiny, you had to get dried in your room as there was no room to turn in the shower room.
When we asked at reception for some more teabags and milk for our room, we were told,- No, what you get left in your room in the morning is all you get for the day. in all the hotels i have stayed in , i have never heard this before.
All in all i am sorry to say this is a place i will not be returning to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Owner at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Brahan,

Thank you for your review. Just to say we don't claim to be the best but we would like to think that we are very good. Yes tea bags ect are complementary along with biscuits every day. Along side this we do provide tea and coffee service in lounge for just £1.00 a pot. That is not unreasonable and nor is it unreasonable for us not to charge a nominal mount for additional supplies for your room. In fact you will find many other hotel do this not just us. Apologies if the room was not suitable for you and lack of bar service. The barman is allowed a short 5 min. break whilst the bar is quite.

Regards
Mr M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    26
    15
    19
See reviews for
66
56
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

On arrival manager had booked us in for Sat and Sun instead of Fri and Sat , but he found us a room and we was promised a large sea front for Saturday, the room we had for Friday was small and very dated, but as we were being moved the following day we thought we would just make do because we thought the other room could not possibly be any smaller how wrong were we , he said we would be having room 218 but when we picked the key up he had changed it to 219 what a dreadful room it was like being in a cardboard box it was so small the bed was pushed up against the radiator on the wall ,and to make matters worse the 2 mornings we went down for breakfast our name was not on the list so they had to make up a table up for us. the problem was we has already paid so when we left on Sun we complained but they are not bothered because they have already took your money this was a shame because we enjoyed the lounge and disco bar and would have gone back if the rooms were better we have never had to complain anywhere we have been before will visit Blackpool again as we love it but will a bit more careful where we go next time and it will not be the Balmoral

Room Tip: don't go here find somewhere with higher quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Owner at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Eric, -I think this review is somewhat unfair and inaccurate. In recognition of our mistake regards the check in date you fail to mention that I did offer you and your wife a free weekend stay with us on your departure but you refused to accept. Regards room change, it was 219 that I offered and not 218 as you say. None the less we are sorry that you think your stay with us was distaster,

Kind Regards
Mr M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Went up with family for a couple of nights. Stayed in average size room, bathroom a little small but the style of the period property. Clean, fresh bed linen, friendly atmosphere, staff were lovely and made you feel welcomed. Great breakfast, loved the effort they made with the Halloween theme. Although the room we stayed in was a little dated and parts of the Hotel itself, it added to the experience of Blackpool. Perfect location for visiting the sites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Owner/Manager very hospitable and pleasant..
Booked a large double bedroom with en suite shower...via booking.com.
It was on the side of the hotel..so no view..but the window could be opened wide and the curtains were clean and kept out the light...!
The room was an average room with shower room...a bit tired and old fashioned needing decoration, but clean and fresh smelling...with fresh towels and a bar of soap.
The TV was very small for the size of room..so awkward watching in bed..!
Sheets were clean and fresh, but NO headboard on the bed...and there was minimum tea/coffee making facilities.
The double bed base was VERY creaky..mattress was very thin, you could feel the springs through it...so not very comfortable..!
The shower was adequate .. the toilet cistern made a horrendous noise when filling..so daren't flush through night...incase other people were woke up..!
Our room no was 202.but didn't have a number on the door...very strange..?
Meals were ok...nothing special...there could have been more for full English breakfast..as it consisted of 1 slice bacon, half a tomato, 1 sausage, a tiny portion beans...so if you didn't eat fruit or toast, you would be very hungry all day...!
Our watress, Angela..was brilliant..such a hard worker..she also cleaned the rooms..!
Less so can be said about the so called Maitre'D...as he spent a lot of his time, looking at facebook on a laptop underneath the bar, outside smoking...or somewhere else....when he should have been serving on the bar...we had to wait on several occasions for service...!
He also drank a mug of tea at breakfast whilst waiting on tables...this was unprofessional in front of hotel guests...he should have done this in his OWN time..!
The evening entertainment was ok...a young compere Jonathan..pleasant, sociable, EXCELLENT SINGER...did a quiz then bingo....a bit long and drawn out..but for a rainy evening..it filled a space..!
Drinks were priced ok...! £2.80 pint lager...£1.40 can coke (a bit steep)
There were snacks and coffees to buy at the bar also...and fruit cocktails for kids..
All in all it was a short break...we booked in here as we couldn't get booked anywhere else..at short notice for the Illuminations..!
But we enjoyed our stay anyway...!

Only Down side...
The hotel has no car park..so we had to leave ours a good bit away on the Lonsdale car park opposite the Football ground..it cost us £19 for 4 days..or 98 hours...the machine took coins, notes or cards...but had to phone up attendant as could NOT work out HOW to pay using our bank card...!
We could go off for day trips and come back and park..which was good though..!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstrunchbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stay every year in Blackpool and have stayed in some horrors ! However upon arrival friendly owner
Breakfast was good however staff forgot you were sitting waiting on order so we had yo wait 20 min till we got served in Sunday
Stayed in room 206 family room very clean and adequate
Would very happy return to this location

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddybearger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very nice people
Very clean hotel
Would stay again breakfast very nice and lots to choose from rooms nice and warm
Clean and fresh bedding lots of hot water as I have said would stay again hope to be back at this hotel very soon
Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenharrison31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend to view the famous Blackpool Illuminations & to treat my daughter for her Birthday. Hotel was wonderful with friendly & helpful staff, good food and entertainment. The kids had a blast and enjoyed the experience.

Will hopefully be visiting again soon!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asham30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalmoralH, Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2015
Hi you all -Thank you giving us this review-its nice to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Look forward to welcoming back in the near future. Kind regards. Mr M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#46 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Seabank Hotel
Royal Seabank Hotel
#28 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Property: Balmoral Hotel
Address: 215-217 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balmoral Hotel is a friendly hotel with a unique smoked glass fronted exterior. Built at the turn of the century this fine hotel is ideally situated on the sea front between Blackpool Tower and the Pleasure Beach with the Central Pier just yards away. The hotel offers accommodation for couples, families, singles and small groups but strictly no Stags or Hens. There is a well-established evening restaurant attached to the hotel which includes an a la carte menu and is open to the public.We provide free entertainment, bingo and quiz with a free finger buffet 6 nights per week, subject to numbers, in our cabaret bar and lounge. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.On warm sunny days you can relax in the forecourt café/restaurant area enjoying a long cool drink and watch the world pass by. If you prefer to relax indoors our lounge offers elevated and panoramic views of the Irish Sea. During the world famous illuminations you can watch the special illuminated trams as they pass by the hotel without having to leave the comfort of your armchair.The location of the Balmoral is such that you are only a few minutes away from all the fun filled areas, the town centre for shopping, the tower headland with its comedy carpet and new wedding chapel, the tower with its new dungeon and walk of faith, Sea World and the world famous Madame Tussauds and of course the Pleasure Beach. Transport links are good with the Tram stops directly opposite us and bus stops are a few yards away enabling you to travel further afield at ease. We offer competitively priced packages for 3 day weekends, 4 day mid weeks and 7 day packages on either a BB or HB basis. We are booking Christmas, 4 days 24-28 Dec, and New Year, 3 days 30 Dec to 2 Jan at competitive prices. We also offer Christmas Shopping break weekends, 2 nights throughout November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing