We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply enchanting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackpool Illuminations

Blackpool Illuminations
Ranked #15 of 78 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Simply enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I absolutely adore Blackpool illuminations. I used to visit there as a child and nothing's changed- it's still as special as ever! If you love walking, it's a nice walk down from the city center to the picture boards- the lights go on forever! It's gotta be the top attraction in England.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    553
    389
    169
    161
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I've visited Blackpool's lights for over 50 years. As a child they were magical and breathtaking. Our visit last year was thoroughly disappointing. There seems to be little imagination and effort applied these days. I know it's largely funded by corporate sponsors but these seem to feature above and beyond anything else. There's little to inspire children (or adults.)
Not only was our visit a waste of time, it took away the shining memories of years gone by when the Illuminations dazzled.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank badgerTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First with our own kids - disappointing ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Illuminations at Blackpool as a kid was amazing and i use to go yearly.

We got around to taking our own children Aug 2013 and what a big disappointment, no where as good as they use to be. Wont be rushing back for them.

Helpful?
Thank Leanne2012x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the Blackpool for the day and ended it coming through the lights. What a fantastic experience. We all loved it. Having not been since I myself was a child I found it was just as magical as I remembered.

Helpful?
4 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Blackpool Illuminations are very good and well worth seeing when you go there in September or October and brilliant to see from the top of the tower

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackpool Illuminations also viewed

 

Been to Blackpool Illuminations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing