We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely terrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Sandygate Holiday Flats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New Sandygate Holiday Flats
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here with my family in December and I have to say it was an absolutely awfull experience.The room was dirty and smelly with no form of heating except for a portable heater.Nothing seemed to work properly including the cooker toaster and microwave.We were not advised that we had to put a pound in the electric meter which kept running out.I have never stayed in such a dirty apartment it totally ruined our holiday and certainly don't recommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14clar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsandygate, Owner at The New Sandygate Holiday Flats, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
This review is not genuine and is under investigation.
All the Items mentioned have been Tested, and found to be in good working order.
We always upgrade customers if we have availability to provide our customers with a great Holiday experience, Blackpool is a great place to stay and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at these holiday flats and thought that they were very good. We booked 2 flats as we were having a weekend break in Blackpool with other friends. The owners were fantastic, we booked on the same day as arrival. I think we managed to book on the same day as arrival as it is winter and I imagine that these flats book up quickly in spring/summer when Blackpool is busy. When we arrived the owner was there to greet us with a very warm welcome, he had put the heating on and explained everything to us. The flats were very clean and spacious and in a good location close to the pleasure beach, sandcastle and casino where we had a lovely meal and won some money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Flat 1 and our friends stayed in Flat 2, both were really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We unfortunately booked to stay here over Christmas, however upon our arrival there was no heating apart from a portable electric heater. The cooker did not work ruining our Christmas lunch. The bed was as hard as nails and a park bench would of been more comfortable. The room which was number 6 felt like an old office with strip lights and polystyrene ceiling. There was an electric meter which took £1 coins which you had to put in. later in afternoon we had a shower which resulted in flooding the bathroom floor because the shower cubical was faulty. The kitchen did have utensils but everything was very dirty. We could not stay here more than 1 night even though we booked for 3, and promptly left the next morning. I do not believe the other reviews on this site are genuine. I think they are made up by this guys family. Notice on the web site they only have 1 picture of each room for a reason. I think a lot of the other rooms were occupied by housing benefit tenants. DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER STAYING AT THE NEW SANDYGATE APPARTMENTS. I WOULD HATE TO OF HAVE SEEN THE OLD ONES.

Room Tip: A different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamiebedd12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsandygate, Owner at The New Sandygate Holiday Flats, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Newsandygate, had you contacted us with the problems we would have rectified. It came to our attention that you were smoking in the apartment which clearly states in our terms and conditions Non Smoking. It is also unacceptable to use cups as ashtrays then throw cup plus the contents into the rubbish bin, a complete disregard to our terms and conditions and property.
All our reviews are genuine and we have many happy regular customers.
The Newsandygate only takes Holiday lets at all times.
All flats are updated in the Spring and all comments are taken into consideration.
Thankyou for your comments,
Looking forward to another busy year 2014.
Regards
Andy and Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The communication with andy, the owner was great, i texted him on the way and he was there to greet us after upgrading us to apartment 2 at the front of the building, where he had already put the heaters and lighting on, giving the place an immediate cosy and welcoming appearance.

The location of the apartments is fantastic, 2 second walk from the pleasure beach, although still surprisingly quiet, and a free car park specifically for the apartments at the rear of the building.

The apartment consisted of an open plan kitchen,dinning room and lounge. 2 leather sofas and a ample sized dining table. Fully kitted out kitchen with all utensils, etc that you would ever need, and a large flat screen tv,dvd player and free-view box. The bedroom had a full length mirror,comfy double bed and plenty of storage space, and the bathroom consisted of a walk in shower, which was hot and nice and powerful which was great.

We had a great weekend stay here, and would defo recommend it to friends and family, we will defo be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 2 which was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nicky1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Apartment was in a great location. Five minute walk to the pleasure beach. Great location as its also quiet at night and has private off road parking - essential. Owner is very friendly and helpful. Kitchen had everything we needed and apartment was modern with a flat screen TV wall mounted. Bed was cosy and decor was nice. Spacious, had a settee that turned into a double bed and also a large travel cot. Pablo's fish and chip restaurant just around the corner and lots of other food places nearby. 5 minute walk from the Waterpark too. We really enjoyed our stay here and it met all our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz_Mace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughton Astley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Top floor apartment.
Clean and functional. One double bed and two fold down beds in the living room. Microwave, fridge, cooker, fridge, iron, hair drier, tv and wifi etc.

Very close to the south pier, water park, pleasure beach and tramline.

Has some parking at the rear which is essential as on road parking is a miracle.

Good value for money.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seamusmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fantastic holiday great time in the apartments great location near all the main attraction for all the kids also the trams and busses and the shops right next to the see the pearsWe stayed in Apartment 1 for 3 nights on the20th of september I consider this a bit of a bargain. The apartment has obviously been decorated in the last few years, but it looks a bit like upkeep isn't on the top of anyone's list- nothing major, just things like the sofa bed being...
more

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Bridle Lodge Apartments
Bridle Lodge Apartments
#24 of 127 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.8 mi away
Beachcliffe Luxury Holiday Apartments
0.8 mi away
West Beach Holiday Flats
West Beach Holiday Flats
#69 of 127 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#349 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#450 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Sandygate Holiday Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Sandygate Holiday Flats

Property: The New Sandygate Holiday Flats
Address: South Shore 6 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Sandygate is a collection of 7 luxury apartments, which cater for up to 5 persons, our apartments are situated in the select area of south shore, 100 yards away from Blackpool's famous Pleasure Beach. Ideally situated in the number one position, approximately half way between the Pleasure Beach and Blackpool's South Pier. The New Sandygate allows you to dictate the pace of your holiday and as such is the ideal Blackpool accommodation to ensure you can make the most of your stay. Our luxury modern Blackpool accommodation is conveniently situated near to shops, bank, launderette, cafes, restaurants, bus services and Blackpool New tram stations. Whether your stay is with the family or as a romantic couple, The New Sandygate ensures the warmest of Blackpool welcomes and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing