We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B & B IN BLACKPOOL BY FAR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #138 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dalton, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEST B & B IN BLACKPOOL BY FAR”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we had a warm and friendly welcome thanks to our excellant hosts Sue and Colin. We had a lovely Double en suite room with a little room off for a lounge to watch tv or read, it was a lovely room very spacious and spotless. The hotel throughout was spotless. Breakfast was lovely too with plenty of choice and nothing was to much trouble, you only had to ask and they would oblige. We are definately going back next year for a weekend break and will recommend The Laurels to all our family and friends. THANK YOU FOR A RELAXING BREAK SUE AND COLIN. Hope to see you again soon. Debbie and Malcolm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you both for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us.
Your feedback is important to us and enables us to better accommodate your needs and to add new facilities and services based on them.
As hosts it was our complete pleasure and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2011

For our first visit to Blackpool we decided to use Tripadvisor to search for a good bed and breakfast. We found the Laurels and found that the great reviews it has were spot on.
When we first got there we were met with a welcome cup of tea and our bags were taken to our room for us,
Colin and Sue were very friendly and welcomed us more like friends instead of guests.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable and freshly decorated. They were tidied, hospitality tray refreshed and cups washed, every day when we were out site seeing. The bottled water is a nice touch too.
Breakfast was again always greeted with a pleasant welcome from both our hosts who served a beautiful healthily cooked breakfast.
This is a great place to stay especially for couples as it is quiet, very well decorated and looked after. And they don't allow stag and hen parties.
We stayed in room 9 which has a great view of the tower. The Laurels is within easy walking distance of the sea front and the shops.
Colin and Sue are the perfect hosts who care greatly for their guests comfort.
On leaving it was more like saying goodbye to friends.
Thanks for a great time
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
It was our privilege and great pleasure that you chose The Laurels for your first ever visit to Blackpool and trust that you both had a good time.
We were also pleased that the facilities and levels of service we offered were to your satisfaction and that your stay was a comfortable one all round.
We enjoyed your company immensely and look forward to seeing you both soon.

Best Wishes,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here after finding the Laurels on Booking.com and we were not disappointed. Colin and Sue are lovely friendly people and they made us feel very welcome. Our bags were taken to our room; we were shown how to work the shower etc in our spotless room before we went off to re-discover what Blackpool had to offer. The breakfast was just the ticket after sampling the nightlife too!

I thoroughly recommend staying at the Laurels and we will be returning next time we are in the area (without the meerkat and Scooby doo we acquired this time!)

See you soon - DJ Paul and Jacqueline :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Hello to you both and to your furry friends.
We were pleased indeed that the location met with all your needs and during your short stay with us was an enjoyable one.
It was pleasing to read that the accommodation was to your satisfaction and to the standard expected.
Best wishes and look forward to when we see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have stayed in 4 different B&B's in Blackpool previously and always felt short changed - but this stay at The Laurels was everything we could have hoped for and MUCH more! It's run by Colin and Sue who really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The B&B is spotlessly clean (unlike most everywhere else in Blackpool!) , the room was immaculate with TV (lots of channels) and an ensuite toilet/shower. Breakfast lovely too and we honestly can't recommend this place highly enough! It's situated within about 3 minutes slow walking distance of the town centre which makes it handy for everything. We'll never stay anywhere else!
Brian & Liz Young (Belfast)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
This is an opportune time to say hello and a big thank you for the warm and encouraging comments, also pleased that you both enjoyed your stay at The Laurels.
We too enjoyed your company and look forward to when we meet again.

Kind Regards
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This is the third time visiting this hotel, Colin and Sue are lovely and friendly people who will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable with added extra's such as tea, coffee, biscuits, bottled water and toiletries. we highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting blackpool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelnandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
We are delighted with your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The little surprise in the form of cupcakes were enjoyed immensely, mmm tasty
It was nice to see you both and look forward to your return.

Warm Regards, Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at this guest house for two nights over a weekend upon the recommendations of the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed.
Sue & Colin as hosts run a high class B & B, a rare gem in Blackpool these days.
Amongst the plethora of discount, cheap, one night only rooms on offer, The Laurels is set apart by its standard, cleanliness, value for money and the service that Sue & Colin provided throughout our entire stay. They made every effort to ensure that we were more than satisfied with every aspect of our stay.
We were provided a parking space directly in front of the house. Our bags were carried up to our room which we found to be absolutely spotless.
Home from home comfort was provided, particularly each morning with an excellent freshly cooked breakfast.
Handy location for the promenade and tower and certainly we would not be bothering to consider any other accomodation on our return to Blackpool.

Room Tip: First class choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
We would like to say thank you for your kind and cordial comments left on Trip Advisor.
It was our pleasure to be of service to you and hope you fully enjoyed your time throughout your stay. Finally, our gratitude and thanks once again.

Colin and Sue
The Laurels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was the 2nd time weve stayed here after trying many other bnb's in blackpool and its the best by far. Good location and Colin and Sue are great hosts, everything is spotless and the breakfasts are very tasty! Try it!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewlaura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Thank you very much for your very kind remarks, we are pleased that you enjoyed your short break at The Laurels.
It was our pleasure in every respect and very happy that you both returned again.
Hoping to see you both again.

Kind regards Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Bianca Guest House
Bianca Guest House
#219 of 856 in Blackpool
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#26 of 856 in Blackpool
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#81 of 856 in Blackpool
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#122 of 856 in Blackpool
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#94 of 856 in Blackpool
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#32 of 856 in Blackpool
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing