We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend in Blackpool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laurels Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #130 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend in Blackpool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed for two nights in the best Guest House in Blackpool,The owners Colin&Sue are very special real people who do everything in there way to make your stay perfect, the house is spotlessly clean,close to three WMClubs,the breakfast is probably the best quality I have recieved in a guest house,Will definetly return on our next visit to Blackpool Bill&Margaret West Midlands

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmjwilliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 2 October 2011
Hello to you both and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It is always greatly accepted and very pleasing when we receive such glowing reports and are more than happy to ensure your comfort during your stay.
As you mentioned our location is central and close to the various WMclubs and a short distance to town centre and suitable to those who prefer a quieter part of town.
Finally, our thanks again and take care.

Kind regards
Colin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
98
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

By the time I left the Laurels this morning I felt as though I had known Colin and Sue all my life rather than just 2 days. They are great hosts and very welcoming. My single room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything I needed including a superb shower and even bottled water for that drink in the middle of the night. The breakfast was great too. Good accommodation is difficult to find in Blackpool but I would not expect to find anything better than this, especially at such a reasonable price. I plan to stay there again assuming that a room is avalable and I would recommend it to anyone. Thank you, Colin and Sue, for making it such a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: I can only comment on my single room which was perfect for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
May we extend our thanks and sentiments to you for the pleasant time we had during your weekend break at The Laurels, especially the banter at breakfast time.
We were pleased to read that you were happy with your overall experience and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Unexpectedly had to visit Blackpool on a very windy Tuesday evening in September. We soon felt at home when we arrived at the welcoming Laurels Guest House. We were immediately greeted by Colin and Sue and enjoyed a cup of tea in their company. All the reviews we had read prior to our visit were totally justified. The cleanliness, room facilities, position, breakfast and most importantly our hosts were superb. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Our sincere thanks to you both for the fantastic comments placed.
Whilst it was a short encounter we were delighted that you chose The Laurels based on the reviews that you read on Tripadvisor.
It is our hope that we will meet again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Excellent and Friendly service, always feel like we are visiting relatives rather than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hudsonaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
What a pleasant surprise to hear from you both and hope you are keeping well.
It is now official we are related !
However, we must still treat you as our valued guests, as we do.
Well behaved and a pleasure to have around.
See you both next year and mind how you go.

Warm Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The B & B was brilliant, the price you pay is cheap for the service and facilities you are provided with. The room was absolutely imaculate not a speck of dust anywhere (we looked because we could not beleive it).

If you want a home from home book this B & B it really made the break worth it we definately picked the right place to stay and will be going back very soon.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the premier room, with a view of the Tower and the big bay windows it added a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
What a good feel factor your review has given us, it makes all the effort worth while including the dusting which as proved is an important part of house management.We are pleased that our accommodation met with your needs and as a result we all benefit .
Your feedback is an important part of the business and as is now the case our fish have a lot more room in the aquarium, we thought this comment might put a smile on your face.

Kind Regards and best wishes,
Colin and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

What can I say about The Laurels... Fantastic accommodation with brilliant customer service. Thank you for a great weekend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebFreeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
As always a complete pleasure seeing you both again, your encouraging comments were much appreciated and are looking forward to your October break with family .

Warm Regards
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we had a warm and friendly welcome thanks to our excellant hosts Sue and Colin. We had a lovely Double en suite room with a little room off for a lounge to watch tv or read, it was a lovely room very spacious and spotless. The hotel throughout was spotless. Breakfast was lovely too with plenty of choice and nothing was to much trouble, you only had to ask and they would oblige. We are definately going back next year for a weekend break and will recommend The Laurels to all our family and friends. THANK YOU FOR A RELAXING BREAK SUE AND COLIN. Hope to see you again soon. Debbie and Malcolm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you both for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us.
Your feedback is important to us and enables us to better accommodate your needs and to add new facilities and services based on them.
As hosts it was our complete pleasure and look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Angels Guest House
Angels Guest House
#448 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#9 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aspire Hotel
Aspire Hotel
#236 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Deneside Guest House
The Deneside Guest House
#123 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cadeby Lodge
Cadeby Lodge
#124 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#53 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing