We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect hotel and hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #166 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“perfect hotel and hosts”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I spent a fantastic three nights in late October. Colin and Sue very warm and greeted us with a welcoming cup of tea. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. We stayed in room 9 and had a great view of the tower. Everything spotlessly clean with added extras such as toiletries, tea and coffee and even bottles of water!
This is an excellent hotel in a prime location and we will definately stay here again and recommend very highly.
Thank you, Colin and Sue, for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms good but room 9 has brilliant view of the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judythompson251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
We were happy to read that you were pleased with your accommodation and that you enjoyed your three night stay with us.
As you said the room which you had selected has a really good view of the tower especially at night when lit.
In addition to that a large heart shape has been added to the front of the tower which also lights up and adds to the attraction.
Finally, It has been our pleasure looking after you both and look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regard,
colin and sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Just got back from a weekend at The Laurels and we have had a fantastic time. We were pleasantly suprised to find that everything in the previous comments was true! The hotel was spotlessly clean and our en-suite room was lovely and very comfortable with some really nice little touches that made you feel as though you were staying in a 5 star hotel! Colin and Sue were both so welcoming that as soon as we got there we felt at home. They could advise us on nice places to eat, good places to check out etc and always took an interest in what we had been doing whilst out and about. The breakfast was healthier than the usual fry up and delicious, nothing was too much trouble and more tea/coffee and toast was always on offer! So glad that we have found this top class B&B, definitely won't need to look anywhere else next time! We would reccommend The Laurels to anyone.

Thank you Colin and Sue for a fantastic weekend!! We hope to see you again in the New Year!

Steph & Ste xx

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank x-Steph_Ste-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
We value your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for the positive comments regarding the little extra's in your room and the healthy breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you both again sometime in the new year.

Kind Regards
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Went for a long weekend to the Laurels ,it was the best b&b we have been to in Blackpool. Colin and Sue are two of the nicest people you could meet , they made us very welcome from the moment we walked in, the room was very nice , very clean, we had good tasty breakfasts every morning, we wont need to look anywhere else for accomodation because we will always go back to the Laurels . Thankyou Stuart & Sue , Derby

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stusue328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Please accept our apologies for the delay in replying to your review.
As valued guests we would like to thank you for the kind comments posted on trip advisor.
We hope you are keeping up with the pace of life and enjoying your dancing.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Best wishes
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed at the laurels with my fiancée and had a great time. The hosts as mentioned before are first class and deserve all the credit they get.

They have a warm b n b and their breakfasts were top class as a treat because I don't usually eat fry ups but these were fantastic.

I would recommend this b n b to anyone visiting Blackpool as its nice n quiet away from the crowds on the main strip.

I will be back and I look forward to doing so. Thanks colin and sue.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinkygenius7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you both for choosing The Laurels for your weekend stay.
We were happy that our accommodation was satisfactory and that you would recommend us to others.
Our breakfast is as healthy as it gets as everything is grilled and glad you enjoyed it.
Look forward to seeing you and your fianc'ee soon.
Until then keep a train on things.

Best Wishes,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Thank you Sue and Colin for making my birthday and our anniversary an enjoyable stay. The room was very clean and more than adequate. The breakfast was more than enough and very tasty. We wont need to look any further for somewhere to stay again. See you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Well what can we say on entering your room it was more like a card shop ! birthdays , anniversaries ! we thought we could save some money here !
By the time we had read all the cards (which we did'nt only some ) we were well behind schedule and as if that were'nt bad enough when making the bed the duvet blew the cards all over the place and spent even more time re-arringing them back onto the bedside cabinet, even more precious time lost.
We thought it might be easier to bill you for all the time wasting, but on the other hand you were our guests and have decided to go easy on you.
If you do decide to come again please don't come on your anniversary or birthday ! ha ha ha.
Please be advised that a good sense of humour would help when reading this and not to be taken seriously, all said we are gald you both had a good weekend, as did we.

Kind Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We couldn't fault The Laurels on anything. We were greeted by Sue and Colin on arrival and was welcomed with open arms like we were family. The Room was spotless and had the best En Suite we have ever seen! The breakfast was lovely and they were accommodating in what you want to eat. We will be back to stay for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
To the newly weds, hope you are well and prospering !
As pleased as can be that you thought so highly of The Laurels and happy too that your room met with your needs and overall had a pleasant weekend.
We look forward to seeing you again July 2012.

Meanwhile take care and best wishes to you both,

Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Went for the weekend with my daughter and son in law for the football. After looking on the various websites we decided on The Laurels and could not of made a better choice. The Guest House is in a great location for all the main attractions and the owners are fantastic have never felt so welcome at a guest house / hotel before. Everything was spotless and the breakfast is perfect. The only downside to the weekend was the result of the football but I'm sure if Colin and Sue could of done something towards that they would. Will not hesitate to go again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelaurels14, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Thank you for the uplifting comments and for the time spent placing your review.
You are at present the first guests from an opposing Championship side to stay at The Laurels this season so far and glad to say that there were no yellow or red cards as your behaviour on the premises was exemplary and look forward to the return fixture at whatever time you decide, weather permitting of course.
Extremely happy too that the changing rooms and shower facilities suited your needs and that the nourishment provided kept you going all day.
The result however was not the one you had all hoped for but rest assured there is a return fixture at which point you will have the opportunity to set the record straight.

Until the two sides meet again we wish you all the very best for the future.

Kind Regards,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#85 of 860 in Blackpool
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#24 of 860 in Blackpool
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Guest House
Ascot Guest House
#178 of 860 in Blackpool
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#69 of 860 in Blackpool
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Craimar
The Craimar
#13 of 860 in Blackpool
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing