We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people...so clean n fresh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #149 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely people...so clean n fresh”
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely weekend stay at t laurels.absolute lovely people they make u feel like uv known them forever.lovely breakfast.spotless and clean..very fresh and new decor.cannot recommend this place enough.beautiful.when we return to blackpool this is the pace we would come back to...thank you abby n Gary x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyppebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
We would like to thank you both for the glowing review which has left us in a mild state of euphoria.
It is nice to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed as commented, and hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Hi Sue & Colin :-)

Just wanted to say a massive "Thank You" for the weekend Sharon & myself have spent with you.

The guesthouse is absolutely spotlessly clean, the bed very very comfortable & the location is fantastic..Close to everywhere we needed to go.

Breakfast was fantastic (& yes Sue, I have remembered how to cook the eggs...I'm sure Sharon will tell me if they're not up to your standard! lol).

We both had a perfect break with yourselves & would not hesitate to recommend The Laurels to anyone.

A million thanks again for having us.

Take care, Sharon & Mark xx

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Hello to you both and thank you for your review which has made for very pleasant reading.
We have an invested interest in ensuring that our guests comfort levels are the best that they can be at all times and has been proved here as priceless !
As you can recall you were quite taken by a certain ingredient on your breakfast plate each morning and wondered have you perfected the art form yet ?
Not to worry, your room awaits if needs be.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Wish it was longer but had to get back to work. The room was immaculate and clean. Colin and Sue were the perfect hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. Cooked breakfast was cooked to perfection. (We own a restaurant and are very particular but couldn't fault the food in any way) We would definately re-visit again and can HIGHLY recommend The Laurels. Just brilliant in everyway. Thanks Colin & Sue for a lovelt stay.

Room Tip: Choose the double suite. The ammenities are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
What a fantastic review, thank you both very much indeed
The accolade of high standards is very pleasing given that you are in the hospitality business as well so no better judge than yourselves.
We were pleased to read that you were happy with the comfort levels and that the breakfast was to your satisfaction.
We wish you continued success in your business and it is hoped that we will see you both in the near future.

Best wishes,
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchinleck, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

sue and col were very welcoming and chatty. room was spotless and although i didnt have a cooked breakfast my partner did and he is a bit of a food critic, but he thoroughly enjoyed it especially the "cooked to perfection eggs". would definately go back and stay, the cleanest friendliest bed and breakfast i have have ever been to

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Your review has been accepted with great pleasure and delighted that you both rated
our accommodation at The Laurels so highly.
Your comments on the egg at breakfast time as being perfection, is due to it being a very special recipe handed down through countless generations so if you want to experience
this morsel again you will have no option but by way of a return visit.
So, it is hoped to see you both again soon, time dependent on your craving for our ? egg.

Warm regards
Colin and Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

One of the best places we have stayed in here in Blackpool, Colin and Sue make you feel so welcome,the guest house is just a 5 minute Walk to the promenade. rooms are excellent, very clean, we would definitely recommend, we will come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed the comforts of our accommodation and found the location convient to your places of interest.
We hope to see you both again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Another brilliant week spent in Blackpool. We went to see the lights but although they were good we were disappointed that they were very similar to last year. However that disappointment was far outweighed by our experience at 'The Laurels'. As hosts sue & Colin are the tops. Nothing is to much trouble. Tea/coffee and a friendly chat on arrival, bags taken up to your room, You feel the tension leave your body within minutes of arriving. The rooms are always clean and tidy, the beds comfortable, with tea/coffee making facilities fully stocked plus bottled water. There is always a wide choice of cereal and a choice of cooked breakfast. I've stopped on many places where the orange juice is watered down but here it is full strength. Well done Sue & Colin and thanks.
This is indeed a 'home from home' that we have visited on a couple of occasions and intend to visit many more times

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
We never take for granted our guest reviews as they are important to us and will always endeavour to respond to within an acceptable timescale.
My apologies for failing to do so on this occasion but very glad that you keep coming back to us year on year.
Our offering of accommodation is based on a home from home feel which suits most if not all who stay with us and we are glad that you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves.
You have already booked for next year and we are both looking forward to seeing you again.
Until then take care.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We arrived at The Laurels to a very warm welcome by Colin and Sue.We were offered tea/coffee on arrival before being shown to our room. Hotel was immaculate, crisp white linen on our bed. Nothing was too much trouble for this couple. Colin and Sue are excellent hosts and have set a very high standard. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and if you didn't fancy a cooked English breakfast Colin and Sue were happy to offer an alternative. We would highly recommend this hotel to all. On our departure they both came out to wave us off. We will most certainly be going back to The Laurels. First Class all the way Thank you Colin and Sue for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilson w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#74 of 858 in Blackpool
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Guest House
Ascot Guest House
#190 of 858 in Blackpool
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#121 of 858 in Blackpool
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#22 of 858 in Blackpool
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#69 of 858 in Blackpool
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 858 in Blackpool
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing