We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #123 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We only stayed at this B & B for one night however our stay was very enjoyable. The room was small but adequate. - very clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble for Colin and Sue they made us feel like family members. The whole building had a friendly welcoming atmosphere. We will definately go again and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you very much for the unexpected review which is lovely.
We were happy that you had a comfortable stay and that your time spent meeting with old aquaintances made for an enjoyable night out.
It is hoped that we will see you again in the year as you had planned future
visits to the resort.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
100
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We always read reviews, this how we select a "good one", (occasionally in amongst the reviews, as my father would say, "there's always one" who doesn't agree and we all know what the're like) and by and large this has been successful over the years, and believe you me this is "a GUD UN ".
From the moment we arrived, it was "put your bags down, come & sit down and have a cup of tea", and we'd barely got through the door! Now this was when we had an arctic wave waft over us, b. freezing, but the room was lovely and warm, breakfasts were smashing! We had come to Blackpool to see the Quo, the location was ideal for the Opera House/Winter Gardens and shops, cracking time had all round, thanks Sue & Colin for making us so welcome, we came as strangers and left as friends.

Room Tip: Ring Sue & Colin direct, they can help fix you up with the correct room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you very much for the glowing review, were glad that you chose us based on your research through Tripadvisor.
As big fans of Status Quo you chose Blackpool to see them perform live and by all accounts was an enjoyable night as you spent much of your time rocking to the Quo beats.
We enjoyed the chat and banter over breakfast and hope that it won't be too long before
you decide to make a return visit.
Once again thank you

Best wishes,
Colin & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We are regular visitors to Blackpool and have stayed in lots of different places (most of which have been a huge disappointment) it was our first stay at the Laurels after a recommendation and it certainly lives up to the good reviews! Colin and Sue were so courteous, kind and welcoming it felt like home from home. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was the best food we ate all weekend!! We cannot thank them enough for their kindness and have already booked for next year. We would happily recommend this accommodation to everybody, can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel26117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Thank you for your review, we were glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us and decided to book again for next year.
We were very interested as your daughter progressed through the heats at the Tower Ballroom, so keep up the good work Emmi and look forward to seeing you all again.

Best Wishes,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Rooms were small but well maintained and very clean. Beds were very comfy. The owners were very friendly and helpful and they set you up for the day with a lovely breakfast.
I am in Blackpool regularly for business trips and I will be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you very much indeed for the kind comments and trust that your stay was satisfactory.
As a regular visitor to the resort it is hoped that you may consider staying with us again.
Our best wishes to you and yours.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Where do I start,well this is the best break in a hotel in Blackpool that we have ever had.The food was excellent and the portions were marvelous,very tastey and coocke to perfection what more could anyone ask for.The hotels ameneties were second to none,its 40 years since we started coming to Blackpool and this is the first time we encountered perfection.The whole of the hotel couldn't be criticised in anyway.rooms facillites and hosts.What can I say about the hosts Collin and Sue words can't describe how welcoming they were you just had to ask and they were there with the answer,where to go for entertainment or anything that you might need.They were fantastic,and in the imortal words of Arnie Swartzinager Colin and Sue we'll be back.
Yours Faithfully.
Angie& Graham Kellett.

Room Tip: Iwould advise any holiday makers going to Blackpoolto use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamkel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We were very happy to hear that over a 40 year period in coming to our resort that you finally landed the perfect catch in the form of our B&B.
It is hoped that generally the accommodation standards are improving in the resort and that they will continue to do so for the good of visitors such as yourself into the future.
So, thank you again for your valued response and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a two night break at The Laurels and could not have asked for a better place to stay. This was our first time staying at The Laurels and stumbled across it via an internet search and we're so pleased we did. The reviews spoke for themselves so had to give it a try and it certainly did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived Colin and Sue made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The Guesthouse is spotless as are the bedrooms. The location was perfect just a short walk from the Tower and Central Pier. We have already recommended The Laurels to family and friends and when we return to Blackpool this is where we will be staying. Thank you so much for a lovely stay. Becki and Dan

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Our thanks to you both for choosing our B&B based solely on our reviews and glad that you found these to be true.
Reviews can and do provide you with the vital information that you need when planning any vacation and is invaluable.
It is hoped that we haven't seen the last of you both and maybe just maybe, shall we !
All the very best until then.

Best wishes,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

My second stay at the Laurels. I will not stay anywhere else in Blackpool in future, . Sue and Colin are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is absolutely spotless. The location is great, very central, just a short walk from the tower and the theatres and a couple of hundred yards from the Central Pier. I can't thank Sue and Colin enough for their hospitality and the warm welcome, AGAIN ! Don't waste your time looking for a better B&B than this in Blackpool. Make sure you set an alarm so that you don't miss breakfast between 8.45 and 9.15 as it's too good to miss. I nearly slept late because the bed was so comfortable. Jeff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
When we read your review we instantaneously became carried away with the idea that we must be well, "perfect " which we're not of course however it does tell us that what we do is getting noticed so thank you for the much appreciated comments and we hope it won't be too long before we see you again.
Meanwhile all the very best with your house moving and make sure you mark the boxes.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Angels Guest House
Angels Guest House
#438 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#28 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aparthotel Blackpool
Aparthotel Blackpool
#49 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#54 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardern Hotel
Ardern Hotel
#80 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Address
The Address
#162 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing