We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous welcoming Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Laurels Guest House
Ranked #151 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous welcoming Guest House”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We've just spent 2 nights here in the premier suite for the first time along with another 2 couples. We weren't disappointed Sue & Colin are so friendly & accommodating. The place is absolutely spotless, lovely breakfast - we even had a surprise Easter Egg waiting for us on return on the Saturday which was a lovely touch. We'd brought along some drinks to have before we left for a show & they brought us glasses on a tray rather than use the plastic we brought.

Good cooked breakfast along with cereal, fruit & yoghurt.

Excellent location for the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracynico64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Are you still "All shook up" as you came to enjoy The Elvis Tribute Show at The Sands, which by all accounts was a great night out with friends.
We enjoyed your company and glad that everything was to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
101
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend break staying at the Laurels. We were very impressed, Sue and Colin immediately made us feel very welcome. Accommodation was spotlessly clean, breakfast was good. We would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
You were "All shook up " as you enjoyed the Elvis Tribute live show at the Sands with friends.
We appreciate your valued review and to say that we enjoyed having you stay with us.

Warm regards
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Seven of us stayed at the Laurels for the Modern Jive Championships from 7-9 March. Colin and Sue, the proprietors, made us very welcome. The place is nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. It is within walking distance of the central Blackpool attractions. We have no hesitation in recommending the Laurels to anyone visiting Blackpool

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you all for your company and for the kind comments.
Well, what a weekend it was, as we were entertained by what turned out to be a very talented gathering of competition Jive bunnies.
The event, "The Modern Jive Championships" proved to be a great success as they won through and returned with their medals, and well deserved indeed. (I still have mine around my neck)
We could not have been more pleased for them and hope that the practice levels are being maintained in preparation for next years event, so ladies and gents, keep dancing.
Our best wishes to you all and it is hoped we see you all again.
PS, make sure you get a suitable dance partner for the tall one, you know who i mean !
Go on , get on that floor, you know you can do it.

Best wishes
Colin & Sue.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Every year I visit Blackpool for a convention and I usually stay wherever has a vacancy. From now on I will only ever stay at The Laurels. It is the friendliest, and best B&B I have ever stayed in. Sue and Colin are the nicest people in the world. They make you feel welcome immediately and there's plenty of little touches that make your stay comfortable. The room was cleaned to perfection and I'm still amazed at how soft the pillows and bed linen are. Haven't slept so well in years. The breakfast was also delicious. Anyone who has stayed here will know how great it is so if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Blackpool, stay at the Laurels!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Again, thank you, your remarks have been noted and are very much appreciated.
The convention has been very generous as we would not otherwise have had the guest levels, and to say that we very much enjoyed the pleasure of your companies.
We make every effort in making your individual stay a happy and as comfortable an experience as possible and pleased that your comments reflect our efforts.
We look forward to when we meet in the future and wish you and your partner our best wishes
for the future.

Warm regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I visit Blackpool every year and we always stay somewhere different. Not anymore. The Laurels is now our permanent choice, as well as being the place that we have recommended to all friends and family. Sue and Colin treat you like family from the first second you arrive until the moment you leave. The bnb itself is spotlessly clean, they obviously take a lot of pride in what they do. I am looking forward to our next Blackpool visit, who needs lights and attractions, we'll just stay at the bnb with Sue and Colin, their warm personality is reason enough to make the 5 hour drive. I cannot recommend the Laurels highly enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, which are always well received.
It was a magical weekend in more ways than one as we were delighted at having so many stay from across the country.
The company of two from London fitted in well as it was the Annual Magicians weekend conference at the Winter Garden.
Well boys ,it was our pleasure looking after you both and hopefully we will have a repeat performance again next year.
You told us that you were moving house and had a lot of painting and decorating to do,
so we hope it has gone well and you are all well and truely settled in your new home.

Kind regards,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Hi. i am a Magician Entertainer and have Booked many Hotels on my Travels ,This was a little gem in Blackpool The Laurels is 1st Class.
The room was Cozy and so clean ,Sue and Colin such nice owners served me Breakfast so Tasty and Hot
For £30.00 single Room inc Breakfast this is value for Money
This is a little magic Gem in Blackpool.
A Big Thank you to the Colin and Sue for making my stay a nice one
Mike Alan The Magician Entertainer

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magician77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
The occasion was the Annual magicians Conference at the Winter Garden which gave us the opportunity to meet and greet our guest from London.
Such a tall gentleman you are i thought when greeted and wondered where i was when height was being handed out, please could you wave your magic wand and make me taller, i wish !
We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable and hope that the future will hold a welcome return.

Best wishes,
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed over on New Years Eve: we were going to The Tower Ballroom for the night and wanted somewhere within a short walk (it's about 5 minutes in heels). Colin and Sue are ideal hosts: welcoming, friendly and helpful. The place is spotless and our room was ideal for our stay, comfortable and warm. Bernadette and Mike

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin m, Owner at The Laurels Guest House, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Our thanks to you both for your cordial remarks and hope that you enjoyed your time here dancing at the Tower Ballroom.
We remember you both well and you were no sooner here and then you were gone, in between your feet literally never touched the ground.
Well, when you are out to enjoy yourself you really showed us how it should be done.
Our very best wishes to you both and mind your step.

Warm regards
Colin & Sue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#83 of 858 in Blackpool
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot Guest House
Ascot Guest House
#176 of 858 in Blackpool
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#131 of 858 in Blackpool
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Libra
Hotel Libra
#22 of 858 in Blackpool
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gordene Hotel
Gordene Hotel
#59 of 858 in Blackpool
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 858 in Blackpool
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laurels Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laurels Guest House

Property: The Laurels Guest House
Address: 14 Reads Avenue, Blackpool FY1 4BP, England (Formerly The Willswood)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Laurels Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located and within easy walking distance to town centre shopping, theatre and clubs, our small B&B offers a warm and friendly welcome. Catering for couples and solo travellers having en-suite single, twin and double rooms. We offer a daily service of your room to ensure that your stay with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We make every effort in attaining to the highest levels of cleanliness at all times. We have a policy as a non-smoking hospitality provider. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Laurels Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing