We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL"”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Belvedere
Ranked #422 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our stay at the Belvedere hotel was not a very pleasent one to say the least... we arrived on the thursday morning... on first impressions we were tempted to walk straight back out... the reception looked like a mix between a kitchen, a bedroom, and a store room... furniture was old and shabby, last nights dirty dishes left around, an ironing board an bed linen, toilet rolls and cleaning utilities, we could not see the floor for untidiness... this is what we had to look at whilst booking in! Also whilst booking in this was the one and only time any of the management spoke to us... and that was only to take are money... we were given the keys to are room... green wallpaper, red carpet, yellow curtains... white plain bed linen, beds were old furniture was dirty... felt like we were visiting an old museum... me and my daughter were nearly in tears at this point... our stay here ruined our little break away and we were counting the seconds down to leaving this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TLC13xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for The Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here Saturday 13th July. We booked the Saturday before after reading some excellent reviews. I can only say that there must have been some mix up! The hotel looks ok from the outside but once inside you will see its a grotty, grubby, unkempt, uninviting, unappealing, untidy mess, with the least helpful couple running it. On arrival at 4 pm as planned I rang the doorbell a few times and waited patiently for 5 minutes. I then telephoned telling him who I was that my boyfriend booked last week to which he replied "and?" I told him I was waiting outside and asked if he could let me in. Once inside I was lead to a counter full of clutter, told to pay cash and fill out a "booking in form" which had been torn out of a pad. Once you leave, he'll lose that booking in form. I thought he was the least friendly, unwelcoming hotel owner ever, until I met his wife!!! She looked at me like I had done sonething wrong. I was shown to my room which was very small with a tiny ensuite. It was shabby and dated. The shower was a curtain surrounding a grid in the floor. I was told breakfast was 8:30-9:30 and he left. My boyfriend arrived 3 hours later without introducing himself and was told "she's in room 3". I'm just glad he wasn't some random guy off the street!!! As we were going out for the evening our "hosts" were sitting amongst grot downstairs; the wife looked me up and down, then saw my boyfriend and smiled. The breakfast was cooked n left in tins under a lamp, kept warm. Apart from the tinned mushrooms, it was acceptable. It was "help yourself". On leaving I left the key on the desk n noticed the owners wife was sitting in the tiny scruffy room behind the desk completely ignoring us. I said thank you which shamed her into struggling to get off her bum. The kitchen hand was polite. The bed was comfy. The owners are lazy unfriendly offhand n rude, I would never stay here again due to this. There are a few hotels along the same street with slightly more "curb appeal". If you're local drive up previously and book somewhere nice. There are other hotels with the same name, don't confuse it with this one. We paid £50 for the night and they had a sign up saying no vacancies...so Mr Taxman, you do the sums!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lady33bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We travel to Blackpool every three years from the US for the International Dance Competiton. Terry and crew always gives us a warm welcome. The breakfast is wonderful, the dinners are nice, we feel like we are staying with family while we're here. The hotel is close to shops, the beach and the hall for the competitions, so it is really a very convenient place to be. We also love that there is a launderette just up the street and a cinema within walking distance. Will we be back? Of course! We love it here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Booked this hotel for a large group of mixed ages. We had already been warned that Blackpool was busy this weekend but Terry couldnt have been more helpful.
Our room was large, warm, comfortable and the shower was brilliant!!
All you can eat breakfast was a definite hit with our group, the food was lovely and plentiful and the staff were very obliging.
I can honestly say I woulod book this hotel again.
Thanks Terry and Christine!!

Room Tip: We had Room 1, large and comfortable and it had a wet-room rather than a shower cubicle, great if yo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeLAlfreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We arrived at 12.40 the front doors were locked (alarm bells ringing straight away). The outside is grubby and could do with a good clean (other hotels have lovely flowers outside and somewhere pleasent to sit and enjoy the sunshine. The Belvedere have chairs outside but sit on them at your peril). We telephoned the hotel from outside to be greeted by "Oh we will be right down" when we entered we were told "we keep the doors locked to keep the child in" The "owner" I presume did not introduce himself or ask who we were, his wife I also presume was huffing & puffing and gave us a look as if to say "what are you doing here" (my thoughts exactly). He said could we settle up the balance, I thought Oh my god what have we let ourselves in for. We were shown to our rooms the numbers on the doors should have given the game away, laminated and partly stuck on. We were then given the run down on which key opens which front door "odds & evens" I thought I have gambled enough coming here. The room was shabby and a throw back from the 70s, my wife used the loo and the bottom of the sliding door swung open revealing her in all her glory. A cushion was placed on the bed to make the room more appealing, on examination of the cushion I can only describe what apeared to be a "Brown" stain ( I shall leave the rest for you to ponder). The chair had collapsed in the middle and stained. On our way out I asked about "entertainment" as described when I booked "family friendly hotel with entertainment" the response was " we have had an unusual season (bearing in mind most of the hotels along the road had "no vacancies") and we only put on entertaiment when we have enough people staying" what about the bar i asked "it is not worth opening as we only have another couple staying and they go for a drink elsewhere" but strangley enough when we returned later in the evening "The owner" was pouring himself a pint on his own watching the TV. I was dreading breakfast and I was right straight out of a tin mushrooms, cheap beef sausage and soggy toast, breakfast cereal 12 months old. I think the owner (if it was him) has lost all heart and just plods on. Please believe my review as I am unsure of the ones placed here. It is incomprehensible to believe anyone would like to stay here. Think about this how many hotels ask for a large deposit and then ask for the remainer payment when you arrive. You have been warned. Some responsibility must also rest with Blackpool Tourism Board who should set standards and conduct annual unannounced inspections of hotel premises. I wish also to point out I have taken photos should this article be disputed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank freddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great hotel and owners.Id personally quite happily go there again and I've booked again for later in the year.We had a big room which had been refurbished the week before as had the others our party stayed in.Lovely breakfast and the hosts were very friendly.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Arrived 8pm on Friday 10th Nov for 2 night stay. Warmly greeted by Terry. Bedroom small but adequate for 1 person. Double bed comfortable and clean. Hot water any time of day. As much as you could eat breakfast with friendly and obliging staff. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dee187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
401 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,561 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#225 of 859 in Blackpool
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#53 of 859 in Blackpool
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#261 of 859 in Blackpool
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Address: 91 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #422 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a 2 minute walk to Winter Gardens, Town centre, Tower, Deberhans and shopping centre.We have 34 ensuite Bedrooms, a lift to all floors, 2 Bars, open all year, weekly and midweek breaks. We are mainly a families and couples only Hotel contact hotel by telephone to inquire about any group bookings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing