We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B Ideal Location, Had a great weekend stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
May-Dene Private Hotel
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B Ideal Location, Had a great weekend stay.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went to this B&B with daughter & son in law on w/end 13 - 15th September `13.
Very comfortable stay, full English breakfast on both mornings was freshly cooked and very tasty and plentiful.
Owners LeAnn & Dave are a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble, my wife is disabled and they kept a parking space for us on arrival.
Located about 500 yards from South Pier and a five minute walk (wheelchair push) from the Pleasure Beach. To top it all off they have the chip shop 3 doors along and offer a generous discount to their guests.
Looking into returning again next month. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    16
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a 2 night stay. And the service was perfect could not fault the size of the family room was more than we needed. And the breakfast was big enough for a day of action at the pleasure beach i would go back anytime

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertwest13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we have just got back from a 4 night stay and have nothing but praise for dave and leann and harry and there lovely hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and very warm and homely, the breakfasts are lovely. Dave and leann cant do enough for you always at hand and very helpful. they even let us go back in after we checked out to get my babies bottles ready and sort her out before we set off on our journey home. The hotel is in a great location for families which is a bonus. We will recommend this hotel to anybody and will definately be returning next year to enjoy our next family holiday. A HUGE thank you for a fantastic stay see you all soon. Leanne, Gareth, Lesley and little baby Layla x x (from HULL)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gareth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

just got back from a 3 nights stay,a warm welcome from a lovely couple,a very friendly family they could not do enough for you,breakfast was excellent,rooms were spotless and spacious,recomend this hotel for couples and families,will deffo return to this hotel next time we visit blackpool.

Many Thanks for a lovely stay

Tony&Paula xx

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel to any1 as service was great always ha a smile were fantastic with my kids and very helpful rooms r ver clean and was surprise with the space as I have 1 year old n 3 year old and was plenty space kids were so relaxed an breakfast r amazing they made our stay in Blackpool a great time and will be returning :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellylaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Iv never stayed in a bed and breakfast before so wasnt sure what we was going to get but i was not disappointed at all. We arrived alot earlier than expected so we knew the rooms would not be vacant yet from the last guests we were more worried about where we was going to leave the car as we were right on the seafront but the owner Dave was a big help and got us parked up so we could have a wander. It is round the corner to pleasure beach and the sandcastle swimming pool and a nice walk down the seafront to the tower etc or weather permitting the tram down is fun for the kids also.
On check in we were in room 10 iv seen a bad review on here about room 10 and as non-smokers in a smokin permitted room you would expect a smell of cigarettes but there was none at all, the room was very clean all the bedding was clean and beds were very comfy and the bathroom was spotless i can not see how some people can be so fussy. I loved the pictures on the walls and all the homely touches you can see this family have put alot of time and hard work into there hotel. The kids loved the fact they had bunkbeds too. The room provided tea and coffee facilities a flat screen tv (all channels fully working) even a hairdryer. Outside the window you could also see the blackpool tower which was nice too look at when it was all lit up.
Breakfast was pre-booked and all came out perfect no mistakes. Plenty of toast and tea and friendly service from Leann in the mornings who also made sure the rooms stayed perfect for all the guests. Both the owners were friendly and we got chatting with them lots during our stay. From football banter to talking about pets there was always plenty of friendly conversation and there son Harry was also polite and friendly. We felt very welcome there. Also they own the fish and chip shop two doors down and trust me if you want proper fish and chips you would visit here as we have been a few places down the seafront expecting proper fish and chips (as on a seafront and all) and been disgusted at them all. I personally was over the moon and glad we chose to attempt more fish and chips again from there shop as it was gorgeous and i wish they did such nice curry sauce down south as they did here.
I can not fault any part of our stay (except the saturday downpour all day) haha but we had a great time and we wouldnt book anywhere else now we found the May-Dene. Thankyou Dave,Leann and Harry for a welcoming stay it was a pleasure to meet you all we will see you again most definitely love the Munro family :) x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burny from the Isle of Wight
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

To anyone who wants a spacious room a good traditional cooked English breakfast and extremely central digs for all the attractions then stay here. really nice family kind and very accommodating. But watch out for there son harry he is a Thrill seeker you cant stop him going on the big rides. we were begging for mercy after the 3rd time of going on the infusion ride. thanks for the great stay. Regards Mark and Harrison.
PS. like most things in life nobodies perfect and we all make mistakes so if you stay here and you are not happy with something don't wait to the end of your stay to mention it how can it be put right then. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnythebolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 129 in Blackpool
145 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#344 of 860 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#290 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#146 of 860 in Blackpool
143 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May-Dene Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May-Dene Private Hotel

Property: May-Dene Private Hotel
Address: South Shore 10 Dean Street, Blackpool FY4 1AU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — May-Dene Private Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your May-Dene Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing