We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you want a cold shower in the morning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blackpool Hotel
Ranked #738 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked this hotel mainly due to its location, which credit where credit is due it is located in a convenient place next to Blackpool tower and the main strip.
Unfortunately that is where my praise for this hotel ends.

After realising we would be arriving late due to traffic i rang the hotel just to inform them of my late arrival, I was greeted by a rude response.

When we eventually arrived at the hotel we got to our room which seemed clean enough, but after further inspection the glasses provided in the room (Which were in a plastic covering and deemed as clean) where filthy. I took the glasses to reception to have them swapped and was greeted by the grunting staffmember/owner.
There was no apology for the dirty glasses and he promptly thrust 2 glasses my way without saying a word.

The next morning we ran the shower expecting some sort of warmth, the shower never got any warmer than freezing and left for a very cold wash.

As we were checking out my partner mentioned this to the staffmember/owner. As she did the reply was that " Im in a room on the same circuit as you and my water was warm this morning".
He was then taken upstairs to prove that the shower was cold and consistently lied to my
partner.

After running the shower he said that it had got warm and would not let my partner feel the warmth, after she eventually got her hand in the shower it was still freezing cold and no hot water was being supplied to the room.
After this it was mentioned if we could receive any discount for the unfortunate circumstance, The owner scoffed and lied saying we had already been offered £10 off and had the room for £50 instead of £60 as he stated over the phone.

Unfortunately for him when i rang he was on speaker and offered the room for the rate of £50 without any discount. This price is also stated on the "Hotel" website.

After giving us discount was suggested the man became very rude and irritated and a shouting match began.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody and a better nights sleep would probably be found in Blackpool Tower Dungeon. At least they've got hot water...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

we have just had a lovely 4 days staying at the Blackpool Hotel all the staff were friendly and our rooms were clean and topped up with tea and coffee every day by the excellent house keeper, it is our second stay there and would recommend it to anyone wanting a homely place to stay, also the breakfast was first class more than ample portions and the evening meals were 3 course with coffee and tea,, thanks Rod and Adrian for making us so welcome and we hope to see you again next year

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi Brenda and Gary
Thank you for your comments it was a pleasure to have you stay again, glad you enjoyed the breakfast and evening meals see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place is the very basic of somewhere to stay. Everything in the rooms is either old or very cheap. The stall of this establishment also seems to enjoy talking about guests business to everyone else. They offer breakfast, which is severely close to inedible. I ended up getting very sick afterward. The Mc Donald's, up the street, was 5 stars in comparison. They do not allow outside food or libations. The staff has a way of making you feel uneasy and uncomfortable. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It was a horrible experience. Please, head my warning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flattopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear Flattop
Thank you for your comments however as all are aware due to the statement on all our sites (including booking sites) the hotel is under refurbishment (with 9 rooms left to do out of 32) and as you only made your booking the day before you arrived the newly refurbished rooms had been allocated to the guests that booked weeks in advance especially as it was the illumination turn on weekend.
Breakfast, as you can read from previous reviews both on here and our guest book on our site we do a good breakfast and you feeling ill will probably due to the consumption of libations (alcohol) the night before and not the fact that you never made it for breakfast for the duration of your stay.
Why not just tell the truth, you were annoyed because one of the staff asked you to clean up your mess after allowing you to eat your fish and chips (not allowed in rooms) in our dining room and you left it in a disgusting mess with papers food and cutlery all over the floor as if you had eaten off the floor. You were also told you were not allowed to bring in your own beer (case of 24) due to the fact we have 2 bars that are open from 10am till midnight. Let’s face it this review is out of malice because you got told off and not the facts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

stayed in the Blackpool hotel and it was fab, the rooms are very clean and comfy. the service is excellent, the food is good, and you get a choice from a menu which is good. the room gets checked and cleaned every day, and the host adi and rod are fantastic guys, we went for the rebellion punk weekend, and the hotel is situated quite close to the venue, which is a bonus. the cost of the rooms are reasonable , would definitely go back. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayjaypunkrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Sir,
Disappointing yes we feel the same you arrived at the hotel and as most of the hotels on Albert road you had to buzz to enter once checked in you receive a key to allow you access this is for you and all the other guests safety so no one can just wonder in from the streets. I think it should be you who apologizes to the Manager and hotel staff for both your behavior and that of your rude spoiled child. I was at the hotel while you were there and I know the Manager communicated regularly with you as your rude son who has no manners spoke to both the Manager and the staff very rudely. I met your son when I entered the hotel to him telling me to move out of the way as he ran through the dining room you were lucky i did not throw you all out with the way you behaved when you arrived it was the Manager who recommended I let you stay being deaf does not give you the right to be obnoxious and rude to anyone especially Staff who are trying to do there best for you and be as helpful as possible. I certainly wont welcome you or your family back to my Hotel we work hard and customer service is one of our high priorities maybe you and your family should go on a customer service course and learn some manors.

The Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of girls 4 my 30th for 2nts... Service is great! Rod & Adie do whatever they can 4 you! V helpful! Will be coming back & tellin more of my friends about it.. Good value 4 money & excellent location!! Only a short crawl home from a nt out! Thanks :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Jo,

Thanks for the review, it was great having you all stay and we were glad to help as much as possible, great to here you all had a good time and will be coming back hope to see you all again soon.

Rod, Adie and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My boyfriend and I travel to Blackpool once a month and stay in lots of different hotels, agreed this is a late review as we stayed last march however after reading some of the reviews I've had to comment, from the minute we arrived which was gone 1130pm (due to 5hour journey) the gent waiting for our arrival was lovely, wide awake and in no hurry to put us in our room to get to bed himself! I can't remember the room number we stayed in but the room was spacious set out with towels and bathrobes and champagne on ice (requested). The room was clean as was the bathroom. Visiting Blackpool I've been greeted in far more expensive hotels with a grumpy face no towels and unclean bedrooms. It's not until you stay in others that you really appreciate what this hotel has to offer!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissJupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBlackpoolHotel, Owner at The Blackpool Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Mrs Jupe,

Thank you for your review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. If your back in Blackpool please give us a call we would love you to come stay with us again. Anything we can help you with to enhance you stay here at the Blackpool we will be happy to help.

Rod, Adie and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My Husband and I loved our weekend break at this gem of a hotel .It was great value but yet had all the comforts we required . It was also situated really close to all the major attractions for a fun filled weekend but we appreciated the hotel having a bar for a quiet drink after sight seeing all day. We will definitely return soon as the staff were refreshingly customer orientated and could not have done anything more to make our stay perfect ..We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Blackpool hotel to friends and family .Thanks again for a great stay .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blackpool Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blackpool Hotel

Address: 58-62 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England (Formerly Kenbarry Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #738 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blackpool Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run business, within walking distance to all major attractions, night life and Blackpool's top venues including, Winter Gardens, Theatre and the famous Tower ballroom and Funny Girls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Blackpool Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing