We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jays Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jays Mayfair
Ranked #95 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Had a fab time at the bnb, very good service nie friendly athmosphere.
Very good location right round the corner from the bars, shops, etc
look forward to coming again in summer with tracy & co,
xxx

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmuzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    25
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
105
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We booked this hotel a few weeks in advance, as we saw on here the great comments it had, the four of us were travelling seperately, so two arrived earlier, the rude gentleman who owned it was reluctant to let my friends in and immediately asked him to sign a form regarding damage etc... He then told the man he would prefare if I did it seen as it was in my name, which I think is just polite, the man then took offence and assumed we were trouble makers, so my friends left.
Later all four of us went back together and had the same problem, the man assumed we were going to be trouble makers and was extremley rude! I have never been treated in such a way in my life! I was in complete and utter shock!!! After a few harsh words, the man threw my deposit at me and told us to leave, which is his right to do so, but I do not appreciate being spoken to in the way which I was and having money thrown at me, this is not the way i would treat anyone and I certainly don't expect to be treated that way, especially by someone I am giving custom to!!!
So if you are young I strongly recommend you do not stay here, service is disgusting!!!
No manners!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkLady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Mayfair-Hotel, Owner at Jays Mayfair, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Whilst i apprieciate you were not happy with the way you felt you were treated i will now give our version of events
You booked the rooms as couples you blatantly were not couples by the comments made by the two gentleman in the party (to save your blushes i will not repeat this),
you were not asked to sign any damages forms you were asked to sign a registration form which we are obliged to ask to be filled in by law for fire safety any one refusing to sign one of these will be asked to leave. furthermore the men in the party had refused this earlier also so we had to ask them to come back later when you arrived as without registration forms we could not give them any keys
As it became apparent you were not couples in the normal terms that if you were going between the two rooms booked that the doors be held by something to keep the noise down later in the evening as we had a family in with two very young children you became agressive towards my husband so he asked you all to leave and gave you your deposit back which again we did not have to do
We have had plenty of yong people stay with us who have really enjoyed there stay with us and come back time and again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Following a painful split from my partner, I was slightly nervous about stopping at a hotel by myself. But i had been looking forward to the northern soul weekender for along time, so in trepidation off I went. And I was not disappointed, the hosts Jay and Laura, made me feel extremely welcome. My room was beautiful, very clean and homely, the breakfast was delicious and the company was fantastic. I would thoroughly recommend this delightful hidden little gem.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank northernsoul02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I cant believe how these guys keep going their tireless in there efforts
The rooms are fab the decor changes everytime we visit, the rooms are spotlessly clean the atmosphere brilliant the prices are great. They really do offer value for money. they look after you like you were friends who you have not seen for a while.
Keep up the good work all we will be back thats a promise

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcheeckaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

I booked a wkend for me and my husband for anniversary and my husbands birthday, arranged with the props of Jays Mayfair (formerly known as The Mayfair) to have our room decorated with balloons, our flowers we had on our wedding day and a bottle of champagne on ice for when we arrived....... what can i say it was perfect!!!! my husband was surprised and Laura/Jay got it perfect, yet again they go that extra mile for you all you need to do is ask they are the most friendly couple and will accommodate you the best they can, this Guest House is not just a guest house they treat you like family and friends not a paying customer!! they will do anything for you.... Families with children they are amazing, all i can say they look after you whatever your needs, the rooms are clean, homely and welcoming and Jay's breakfast well in my words lush. Worth a try and once you have tried you will be back for more!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

me my partner and two friends stayed here on the 9th October.From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome. I was worried about being stuck in a dirty room with uncomfy beds but i couldn't of been more wrong. The rooms were clean, modern and the beds were comfy. Due to us having a small baby with us there wasn't many bars we could go into so as we got back to the B&B they opened the bar and chilled the lager and invited us for a drink which was reasonable price. We ended up talking to the owners for a couple of hours and was made to feel really welcome.

Morning and the breakfast was lovely and the joke trips made it enjoyable especially for the grown lads who were like 5 year olds :-)...They even took my friends baby and kept him occupied so she could eat her breakfast in peace. Would recommend this to any one. i couldn't of asked for a nicer weekend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey_brennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

This is a great little guesthouse! The kids are already looking forward to our next visit!
Nice quiet location, but with easy access to the North Pier, promenade & all that Blackpool has to offer!
Jason & Laura & family really made us feel at home, with a warm welcome & a relaxed atmosphere. The kids loved Jay's card tricks after breakfast, which was most enjoyable too!
The family room is ideal if like us you are just there for a wknd, its big enough & has en suite & tea/coffee making facilities. The Playstation in the room is a nice touch, though we just didnt have the time to use it!
All in all, Jays Mayfair ( recently renamed) is ideal if like us you are looking for a good standard of accomodation at a very fair price. Good location, (we even had FREE parking this visit), friendly welcome,clean warm rooms & a cracking breakfast!
We'll be back.........probs VERY SOON!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#44 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oasis Guesthouse
Oasis Guesthouse
#462 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lenbrook
The Lenbrook
#193 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#79 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Guest House
Phoenix Guest House
#433 of 911 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jays Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jays Mayfair

Property: Jays Mayfair
Address: 79 Dickson Road | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 2BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jays Mayfair 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run guest house with homely comforts friendly atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jays Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing