We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food”

ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant Blackpool with a Food Hygiene Rating of 5 out of 5, is a casual dining cafe and restaurant, offering freshly cooked food sourced locally. At Toast Cafe Bar & Grill we are dedicated to delivering beautifully presented food, created fresh to order from high-quality ingredients and locally sourced fresh produce, in comfortable, design-led city style surroundings that is why we have now achieved the prestigious Taste Lancashire HIGHEST Quality Assured award. Toast Cafe Bar and Grill Restaurant in the heat of Blackpool is perfect for relaxing, drinking and dining with friends, families or colleagues all day and evening.We are open from 9am till late* Monday to Saturday and 10am till late on Sundays*. Toast Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant is situated on Corporation Street just down from the Grand Theatre, Blackpool Tower and the Winter Gardens away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre nightlife but close enough if you're off to the bars and clubs after. We offer an array of classic drinks from the bar including draught beers such as San Miguel, cider and Extra Cold Guinness, bottled beers and spirits with an exclusive selection of wines and champagnes are available. If you wish to dine after 9pm we recommend booking in advance.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
814 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Excellent fast and friendly service - our waitress was Anna

Good choice on menu and the food was delicious, cooked to perfection, great presentation and quick too!

Will definately go here again next time i go to Blackpool

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Shelbypoppit
Thank you for your custom and kind words. We always try to ensure that all our guests enjoy their experience with us. We look forward top seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    285
    119
    122
    142
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really poor service”
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Me and my fiancé visited here for a quick lunch and were left dissapointed.

We had been recommended by friends and after reading reviews on here we were looking forward to it.

I'll start off with the good point first. The place is nicely decorated, open and clean. That was the only good point.

When we arrived we weren't greeted by anyone and after waiting to be seated we had to go and ask the waiter by the bar (It wasn't busy) He said sit over there by the window, and just pointed.

He didn't bring menus over. We had to ask him for some.

Ordered food. It was nice enough but nothing special. Came quickly as well.

I asked the waiter for some condiments, and he seemed to be shirty with me, like he couldn't be bothered.

When we finished nobody came to collect our plates and we had to ask for the bill.

It probably would have been nice if we would have got a decent waiter. It's a shame that he ruined it for us and you maybe need to train your staff to a better standard.

I don't think we'll be coming back as there are other establishments which offer the service along with the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 87Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Le_Beefcake
Thank you for your custom, I can only apologise for the poor service you say you received. As you will see from the great reviews that we get and the recommendation from your friends this is not the norm with our establishment. I will not tolerate such and can only assume that it is a new member of staff that has been employed to ensure that service does not suffer during the busier summer holiday season. If this continues he will not be with us for much longer!
Unfortunately it looks like this has had an adverse effect and I will be having words. Our staff are very well trained and they have qualifications in customer service training provided by Welcome to Lancashire a Government recognised scheme.
We do hope that you will see past this poor experience and give us a second chance in the future. We are the only establishment of this kind to have received the prestigious Taste Lancashire HIGHEST quality award in Blackpool town centre which is judged by mystery diners. This proves that our service standard along with the quality of our food is usually exceptionally good.
Once again please accept my apologies for the service that was not up to our usual standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“friends night out”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Four of us enjoyed a meal here before going to the theatre and we found the food and service very good. It was an excellant start to our evening. The menu was extensive and our waiter Rich was so friendly in his welcome with a lovely smile which made for a relaxing start to our visit to Blackpool. We all said we would return as a group or with others in our family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheila o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear sheila o
Thank you all for your custom and kind words. Rich is a great guy and an assert to Toast, all the customers love him and he has a regular following....we have to be careful as his head may get too big but seriously we are so glad that you enjoyed the evening and do hope that you will come to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bland food with awful service thrown in.........”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were supposed to go to this place on the 24th July as it was my birthday, I am really pleased we could not make it on that date and went the 25th instead, as my birthday would have been a let down. We emailed twice to book a table but no response so my partner telephoned to book a table. When we couldn't make it on the 24th we telephoned and asked if they could accommodate us on the 25th. We walked in and were asked if it was a table for two. We explained that we had reserved a table and we were asked to choose one. Odd, when you reserve a table it's usually set up for you? A blonde waitress, short bob hair cut, showed us to the table we picked and gave us menus. By the way, she was chewing gum the whole time we were there, really professional. After sitting and waiting, an older guy came to our table and took our drinks order and food order. We ordered a starter to share, with no check back and main meals, no check back to see if food was ok. The food is over priced and thank god we had a taste card, to bring the cost down a bit. We didn't have sweets or tea or coffee. We paid up and NO ONE acknowledged us leaving to say thank you, dreadful service. I have read a previous review on this site with the regards to the chewing of gum where the manager has replied and basically called the reviewer a liar. Please take a look at your CCTV and it will clearly show the waitress chewing. Please do not insult me by writing back and saying you do check backs on food as it didn't happen in our case. You can check this also on the CCTV. It was a real shame that we didn't have a good experience but I was so glad it wasn't my birthday.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daisyg96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear daisyg96
Thank you for your custom. i am sorry that you were not totally satisfied on your recent visit this is not our usual standard.
However, may I firstly correct some incorrect information. We do not have an email booking facility so i do not know how you could have tried to book such. We do not advertise our email address due to spamming. We do however have an online booking feature which it appears you did not use as you chose to contact us via our contact page. This is not managed 24/7 as we are busy in the restaurant dealing with customers. We did they to reply to you but the email you supplied was incorrect (its a shame I cant put the delivery notification on here).
Our restaurant like all others take bookings and we assign tables when the customers arrive unless of course a specific table is requested or its a group booking. EVERY table in the restaurant is set up as we get a lot of walk in business so when you arrived our Maitre D gave you the customer the choice rather than putting you somewhere you may not have wanted to sit.
Our staff are NOT allowed to chew gum whilst on duty and if this was the case I can only apologise for such and the waitress will receive a warning for this.
Our normal procedure is to have check backs for each and every course that a customer has, if this was not that case again I can only apologise. However, and I most certainly do not wish to insult you if you read the 318 FANTASTIC reviews we have you will see that what you claim is not the norm for our business. Furthermore, we have won the Taste Lancashire HIGHEST Quality award for food and service, this is based on mystery diners visiting establishments to evaluate them. Check backs are an important part of the criteria of the award and if we did not do such we would not have won. Our site review can be accessed on the Taste Lancashire website and you will see that we scored very high for the check backs. You are basing your findings on one possibly malicious review.
I will check the CCTV so I can address any issues with the staff as customer service is EXCEPTIONALLY important to our business, if the staff member was chewing gum they cannot deny such if we have the footage.
The cost of our food reflects on where we are situated, Town centres properties are expensive to run and the quality of the raw produce we purchase is second to none and we have to price accordingly. there may be cheaper places but you pay for what you get. We have a 5 out of 5 for Food Safety and there are not so many establishments can boast such.
Unfortunately, TripAdvisor is full of malicious and unfair reviews and you are comparing your visit to one loan review which was some time ago and the person in this review was being malicious. We run a very tight ship and unfortunately all our staff are human and make mistakes like we all do. Once again I apologise if you were not completely satisfied and trust you will find satisfaction elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Toast Cafe Bar & Grill's relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Everytime i have gone to Toast Cafe Bar & Grill i have been made to feel very welcome.The waiting Staff are very welcoming and always smiling and the food is to die for.My favorite meal is the Chicken Caesar Salad with fresh Parmesan cheese and the crispy croutons.Once you visit you will want to come back time after time.Toast also allows you to order food to be collected and everything is cooked from fresh,nothing is warmed up again and again.If you want a relaxed atmosphere,great food,friendly staff and value fro money then this is the restaurant for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaxWasere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toast-cafe-bar, Owner at ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear JaxWasere
Thank you for your regular custom and very nice words. All the staff will appreciate what you say and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ToasT Cafe Bar & Grill Restaurant Blackpool also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing