We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my hen night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Darfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Darfield Hotel
Ranked #373 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my hen night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

me n 8 of my friend stayed here on the 25 may 2013 the hotel is lovely rooms lovely n clean n the breakfast was to die for ,you really couldnt ask for more the staff r all lovely n and r will to do anything to make your stay enoyable would reconmend to anyone thanks to u all xx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevCumbriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    13
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Family run b&b .home cooked breakie. Room basic but had all we needed. Lovely and clean. James kept bar open for us .very kind. And was our personal photographer. Very accomdating would recommend and would stay again...from lisa and all on shels hen night xx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massivemellons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Darfield_Hotel, Manager at The Darfield Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Great to see you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Just come back from a stag do in Blackpool. It really did do " what it says on the tin". Rooms are more than I expected. I wasn't paying or expecting 5 star quality. The shower cubicals are slightly small for the average size male but I would rather have that that a communal bathroom.

Look perfect place for a stag/hen do, if you spend to much time in your room then your not doing Blackpool right.

The bar and the breakfast service was great and James is a great guy to talk to, he's interested to know about you and your party.

Rooms could be a little cleaner buy hayho

Thanks again

Room Tip: Sleep quality !!! I don't remember sleeping but that's not the hotels fault haha
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I'll start of on a positive - the owners are great at front of house and very helpful. If they read this I'm sorry.....I could add the pictures I took of the dirt but you really don't deserve that as you are genuinely nice people.
We were booked into this hotel as part of a hen weekend so had to go with the flow..and that's what you do. The room was tiny, a double bed & a single, dated and filthy. The lights above the bed didn't work, neither did the kettle....although once we saw the dirt on the mugs we gave up! I don't think this room has had a deep clean in months! The bedding was OK, apart from the curry stain on my quilt cover, and the dog hair on the sheets..no idea where from. Behind the sink was terrible....and no I didn't deliberately go looking...it was staring me in the face whilst I was sat on the loo! There was not one clean surface in the room.....and as for the coat hanger collection....go in every now and then and have a sort out...there are way too many!
Breakfast was OK, cheap canteen like food & service...but the dirt theme carried on, the top of the radiator I was sat next to hadn't seen a duster in weeks.
This guest house is for hen & stag parties....but before you book...think about who is attending....yes you want somewhere to lay your drunken head but not surrounded by dirt!
I understand the place being a little tatty as the owners probably don't want to spend too much on something likely to get trashed by drunks...but please could it be clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamBavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just come back from a night at in Blackpool - stayed at The Darfield hotel and got to say it was value for money- decent rooms, comfy beds, a reasonably priced bar, nice breakfast, nice staff, ideal location - I can't really fault the place and James, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. I would definately go again! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnsleylass7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Me and 5 of my mates returned to the Darfield this October for the weekend.
I’ve stayed in many b and b's over the years and this is by far the most accommodating and best atmosphere. Roms were comfortable, clean and warm. Breakfast fantastic. As for the bar it is open whenever you want it to be open (within reason). James and the missus are a fantastic host and will join in and have a laugh with you at the bar. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they run it like clockwork.
It is in a great central location which has a buzz to it.
All in all this is a great b and b and my second visit. There will definitely be a third visit next year and we will be staying for longer. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNO1687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was provided as an alternative to an overbooked hotel about four doors along the street. The Darfield is located in downtown Beirut, and if I was to describe the accommodation in one word, it would start with the letter s, end with t, and have hi in the middle. We weren't expecting the ritz but I've never been in a scruffier hotel ever. The only reason we put up with it was that we were more concerned with getting on with the partying. Although this was delayed as we were the only guests (we were still given a room on the fourth floor?) and the bar was shut. Avoid this dump at all costs!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank This-is-your-god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Darfield_Hotel, Manager at The Darfield Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
If Blackpool is not you bag then fine but im in Prime location theres no need to lie, also the hotel is up to a high standards and i offer stays to groups. Im not going to be putting LCD TV's and High quality furnishings in a group hotel am i??? if i did you then would be complaining about the costs per person and a massive deposit.... The fact that you were surpost to stay in a other hotel but the booking agent messed up (NOTHING TO DO WITH ME)

You were placed on the 2nd and 3rd floor (4th is the roof) and you were up that high because i gave you bigger rooms....

On the Bar front if you ask the bride to be i asked if you would be using the bar she replied "No" .... so I shut the bar, no need for me to sit there when you said you didn't want to use it..... or is that just common sense?

well never mind if you want to sit in the rooms and smuggle booze in then that's up to you but don't expect me to sit in the bar all night just in case you want one drink. I don't operate my bar in that way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Franklyn Hotel
Franklyn Hotel
#260 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beverley
The Beverley
#359 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Cross Hotel
Kings Cross Hotel
#108 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#53 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helmshore Hotel
Helmshore Hotel
#228 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bradleys Hotel
Bradleys Hotel
#339 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darfield Hotel

Property: The Darfield Hotel
Address: 54 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Darfield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darfield Hotel is located on Charnley Road two minutes walk from Blackpool Town Centre. We are just around the corner from the new Hounds Hills shopping centre & the Winter Gardens. ALL our rooms are en-suite; we also have a residents bar with a large LCD TV and Free WI-FI access. We cater for everyone whether it be a family break or well behaved groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Darfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing