We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm wouldnt stay again”
Review of The Darfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Darfield Hotel
Ranked #476 of 862 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 27th / 29th june 2014 on a hen weekend...james was ok all tho layed the rules down straight away which is fine.
Rooms: wasnt impressed no room to move...and the ensuite wasnt big enough to swing a cat in.
Breakfast: 9 till 9.30 sorry to say the breakfast was disgusting...it tasted of old oil that needed changing and instead of it been cooked and brought to ur table you had to queue and wait to be served so it was cold i just think james needs to change this, ive never been to a B&B were they wasnt fresh orange juice out on the table...but i have now...diluted ribena REALLY!! ( yuk)...my overall experience: Never again will i stay here...but had a fantastic wke and staying here didnt put a damper on things.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inga anne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

stayed here or the weekend, absolutely fantastic, i recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean and tidy hotel and James who runs the hotel really made our stay memorable. Thank you James hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We came up for a girls weekend. We arrived at 8 on Friday and James was great waiting for us with a smile. The room was fine beds were comfy and shower was great. Breakfast was lovely and staff were all friendly. Bar was open late for us and James was always on call if we needed him. I will come back. We had a great weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahdavey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from a hen weekend (booked through an agency). 15 of us descended on the property and James was very helpful from the start. Had a few issues with showers and lights when we arrived but as soon as they were mentioned, they were sorted.
Breakfast between 9-9.30 seemed a little odd but seeing as James did everything by himself (apart from room cleans), I'm not surprised he could only spare 30 minutes!
Shops and bars are 5 minutes walk from the B&B, fast food places at the end of the road!
No lifts in the building so we had to haul our stuff up, luckily I was on the 2nd floor but those in the 'loft' found it a bit of a struggle (nothing to do with their age!!!)
Rooms are on the small side and bathrooms even smaller but we weren't in there that much.

Overall a decent place for the money you pay. No problems with coming in whenever we wanted, bar was pretty cheap too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlangePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked for us by a hen and stag agency.

14 of us stayed at the hotel from Friday to Sunday.

We were underwhelmed by the rooms, en suits in many of the rooms desperately needed a good scrub and a bit of love. Not sure how toilets get that grimy and dusty having been inspected before our arrival.

Some beds were comfy, others were down to the springs. Some rooms looked nicer than others, doubles seemed nicest.

Overall we were disappointed with the breakfast, second morning everyone had cold food. Breakfast system was one I've not seen before, toast was on tables before the breakfast room was opened, coffee was very strong.

James was a lovely person and we liked all his help and tips. The bar was well priced and had a big tv.

A little bit of attention to cleaning could make this hotel a gem. We realise the target market is drunk people (stags and hens) so not going to be fitted out with expensive gear but paying guests expect a certain level of clean in rooms and areas like stairs, fag butts not outside door etc.

breakfast was served 9 to 9.30am.

I'm not sure we were expecting what we got for what we paid. But was very near to pubs, clubs and shops.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank delyth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Darfield_Hotel, Manager at The Darfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

I am Sorry that on your visit we did not live up to your expectations during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and nice environment for our groups that come to Blackpool. upon check in i did say if there is anything i can do for you guys at all to let me know, however nothing was brought to my attention. If anything is brought to my attention then we deal with it quickly to resolve any issues. As for the breakfast we use a gantry system, this ensures that guests get (A) - a high quality breakfast of there choice so this minimizes waste on the plates and (B) - to maintain a high standard of food safety as the Gantry maintains a constant temperature and never falls bellow 74 Degrees C.
As for the beds, in two of your rooms where brand new beds, i have checked all the beds and none need attention, but again unfortunately nothing was mentioned to me during your stay so i could not rectify any issues.

The Darfield Hotel through the years has and will continue provide people with not only a great place to stay and we strive to give groups the best experience that Blackpool has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Came up to Blackpool from Somerset as part of the Big Annual Convention Weekend for the Federation of Young Farmers Clubs. but I am a member of Dorset.

The Hotel Staff are very welcoming and will assist you with any queries or problems you have. I was very happy with my room. The food and atmosphere of the whole weekend was great.

I would be more then happy to come back again and I am hoping to when Dorset Young Farmers return in May, but I wouldn't mind coming back again one weekend for a birthday Celebration or just a mini break. Dorset YFC are very grateful you are welcoming us back and We thank you in advance for your excellent hospitality and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My friend and I booked the Darfield as a place to stay for our annual birthday night out in November! No grumbles about the hotel at all, James was fab looked after us girls well, gave us tips on where to go and was available for our every need! No it wasn't the ritz but u get what u pay for this is your typical Blackpool B and B! Would return :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Charlene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#53 of 862 in Blackpool
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
The B&B Blackpool
The B&B Blackpool
#238 of 862 in Blackpool
142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#96 of 862 in Blackpool
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#101 of 134 in Blackpool
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#148 of 862 in Blackpool
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darfield Hotel

Address: 54 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 862 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £33 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Darfield Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darfield Hotel is located on Charnley Road so minutes walk from Blackpool Town Centre. We are just around the corner from the new Hounds Hills shopping centre & the Winter Gardens. ALL our rooms are en-suite and include the essentials for your stay ( tea/coffee, towels, hair dryer etc and some have fridges) ; we also have a residents bar with a large LCD TV and Free WI-FI access. We cater for everyone whether it be a family break or a couple coming for a show. Dance schools also book the full hotel during the competitions (set rates for that not room rates) Please note this DOES NOT include stag and hen parties. We are also a non smoking hotel through out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Darfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing