We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Alumhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alumhurst Hotel
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Recently stayed here for 2 nights. We booked a premier room (room 31), although the furnishings etc. were very nice it was small. However this didn't really matter for just 2 nights.
We were on the top floor, luckily there is a small lift if you can't manage the stairs.
The breakfast room is very nice and there's a great choice of food. I opted for a Full English which consisted of 2 bacon, 2 sausage, 1 egg, tomato, beans, fried bread and mushrooms. We were also given a basket of toast.
The small lounge area is also nice and there's a computer available although we didn't use it.
The bar in the cellar area is a real gem!! VERY big ! Almost like being in an proper pub! Theres a pool table, dart board, tvs & jukebox. We found this very handy as the weather was appalling! after going out for a meal we stayed there for the rest of the evening and Steve stays open very late if you want him too ;-)
Location wise its great, a short walk to the seafront, but far enough away that you don't get too much noise. If you can, request a parking space, there's only about 5 but they're invaluable!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucie_1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from our tenth year with Pat and Steve and as always the welcome, hospitality and service was amazing. The staff at breakfast were a credit to the hotel and Pat has provided yet another great tip for a fantastic meal out. This really is our little home from home and we would not stay anywhere else. Our girls and us are made to feel like part of their own family. Same time next year!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_coppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you Lou and Tim for your lovely review. So glad that yet again we have pleased you all.
Nice to see how your lovely girls are growing up and that they have graduated well to their own room this year. The experiment worked well.
Hope you all have a lovely Christmas and we look forward to seeing you next October half term.
Thanks again
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pat and Steve were very friendly and helpful couldn't do enough for you what ever time of day!.First time we have stayed in Blackpool and we will be definitely be returning here again.Children are made to feel very welcome,Excellent service,lovely clean rooms,very nice and relaxed atmosphere at breakfast with excellent service!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and it was good to meet you all. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and enjoyed Blackpool as well.
Hope to see you again some time.
Warmest regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very good / friendly proprietor. Food was excellent, room / hotel brilliant spotless. Waitress was a credit to the hotel. We were made feel very welcome . We would recommend to all . Thanks for the great break we will be back next year .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vauxfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Very pleased you enjoyed your visit and it was a pleasure to meet you both and look after you.
Can't wait to see you both again next year.
Many thanks
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Went to Blackpool for a friends birthday and needed a nice well priced hotel for two nights. The Alumhurst scored well on Trip Advisor and didn't disappoint. The location is very convenient - a 15 minute walk from the train station and situated 5 minutes from the sea front and the central pier. It's also very close to the main shopping centre and the Tower, as well as being close to bars and restaurants in the town.

As 3 couples we all booked independently but the hotel recognised that we were together and put us in to 3 rooms next door to each other, which was the first sign of how friendly this hotel is.

The room was clean, warm and had tea and coffee making facility. There is a bar in the basement which is great, and Steve is very friendly and will while away the hours chatting with you as you drink your very reasonably priced drinks!

Breakfast is good as it offers a choice of cereals and various cooked options, along with plenty of juice, tea and coffee. The serving staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a brilliant weekend with a friend who had never been to Blackpool before. I was so pleased that the accommodation didn't disappoint and neither did Blackpool, which is a great place to have a weekend of fun. I would definitely stay here again and recommend that any friends stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for your in depth review. We are always delighted when guests take the trouble to write at length like this.
It goes without saying that we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend here and we hope we see you again some time.
Thanks again
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hi, second time I've been to the alumhurst hotel and can only sing it praise, rooms very good. Food more than average, got recommended to me by a friend who has been coming for the past ten years+, thank you pat and Steve. Chris and little shona, see you next year for 4 nights x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foster23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Chris,
Lovely to see you both again and what a busy time you had here. You'll definitely need 4 days to fit in all the things you want to do.
Thank you for taking the time to review us so nicely.
Look forward to your next visit
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the Alumhurst in one of the 70s rooms which we loved - especially the women's magazines. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included and was of a good quality with attentive service.

The location is handy for central Blackpool and we had a warm welcome from Pat and Steve. I'll definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazy_hoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alumhurst, Owner at Alumhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hi Girls,
It was good to meet you both and so pleased you enjoyed one of our retro 70s rooms.
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it.
Look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Regards
Pat & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#11 of 73 in Blackpool
1,295 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stretton Hotel
Stretton Hotel
#42 of 73 in Blackpool
51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alumhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alumhurst Hotel

Address: 13-15 Charnley Road, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £49 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alumhurst Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long established, family run, town centre, award winning hotel close to Blackpool Tower, Promenade and beach, Winter Gardens, theatres and new shopping centre. Our chef prepares good nutritious breakfasts and evening meals from as much fresh and local produce as possible. The hotel is kept beautifully clean throughout. Our licensed bar stocks a large variety of drinks and there is a pool table, dart board and quiz machine. Come and join the large number of guests who return annually. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Alumhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing