We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed at the ibis styles last night , it was the 80s gig at the grand theatre . Firstly the location, perfect is how we would sum this hotel only 10mins walk to the theatre and seconds from bars and clubs.Now onto the hotel, reception area not bad you get a warm welcome from staff which is nice and the breakfast area is right next to where you check in.
Now the room 107.. well it is Blackpool so we were not expecting much, room very very basic strange lighting like something from a construction site is how i would describe them hmmm not sure what they thought they are meant to look like. Dirty window spoiled a nice view of the sea . Tears in the quilt cover and sticky black stains on the carpet. On a plus side the bed was comfortable and the heating system was fine. Bathroom was ok apart from no soap in either of the dispencers one next to the sink and one in the bathroom. Toilet very low to the floor again a strange design thought . The door is another odd one you either have to slam it closed or use the key card to release the lock ...maybe this is to make sure you have your key card when you leave. Breakfast had a good selection and is a nice bright area to sit, but the plates and bowls not clean i had to look at a few before i ate from them. By the way use wilkinsons car park £7 for 24hrs isnt bad. So all in all an ok stay for one night in blackpool, would i stay at the ibis styles again......maybe.

Room Tip: bring some soap just incase. wilkinsons car park 10mins away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

It's great to hear that you received a warm welcome from my Team and that you enjoyed breakfast.

I'm so sorry there was no soap in your room; I have addressed the issues with your room with our Housekeeping Team.

I'm sorry that our lighting in the rooms wasn't to your taste but happy you found the bed to be comfortable.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We don’t know of any hotel in Blackpool that is within easy walking distance of most of the shops, restaurants and attractions and also has a free car park. So if you’re happy to move around on foot or by public transport we doubt that you can beat this one. It’s an older building but it has been well modernised very recently, and there is an unloading area close by if you need to drop luggage before disposing of your car. The reception area is up one floor and the staff are friendly and helpful. We asked for a second key-card, extra towels, and help in connecting to the free Wifi. No problem. Inside, the walls are good and thick, but Blackpool is a 24-hour place, especially at weekends, so it is best to ask for a room as high and as far away from the lifts as possible. Ask for a sea view if you plan to go to a disco; otherwise ask for a rear view where their noise is less audible! Our room was a good size, with a very comfy bed, and the bathroom was spacious with plenty of places to put things. However the supply of coat hangers was limited, there were no drawers for storage, there was no light over the dressing table mirror and the two pushbuttons on the shower mixer were missing. Breakfast is the star attraction here: it’s continental but the choices are excellent and it is available at sensible times, especially at weekends. There is not enough seating in the breakfast room to cope with the demand when the hotel is full, so a queue is inevitable at popular times. The staff work frantically to clear and clean tables, but it would be easy to seat at least another dozen people with better use of the existing space. This is, by Blackpool standards, a very good hotel, given the very budget price. Maybe that’s why it seems to appeal more to women? We saw many more ladies than gents here during our 3-night stay. Or maybe it’s the absence of a ‘Full English’ that keeps the boys away? Whatever the reason, this hotel suits us just fine!

Room Tip: Top floor, far end of corridoor, at the back is quietest. Corner rooms can be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

It's great to hear that you found my Team to be friendly and helpful and that breakfast was a star attraction.

As you mentioned in your previous review, we don't have drawers for storage in our bedrooms but most of our guests find the hanging space to be adequate for their requirements. I'm sorry that you felt this wasn't the case.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel again soon.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here when it was still a Travelodge and despite us being fans of the Travelodge chain, we'd been sorely disappointed then but we decided to give the hotel another try and although the staff are friendlier, the hotel seems to be very slow in making the improvements and the areas where I thought they'd improve first (reception, cleanliness, the entrance, the elevator etc) are still as poor as they were a year ago :/
Our room had been freshened up though and was adequately stocked with tea, coffee, sugar, milk and toilet paper and had spotless bedding and towels, was clean and was welcoming in itself.
I think once they sort out decorating and cleaning up the entrance, reception, elevator, then their reviews will improve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desmondsdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

I'm concerned to hear that you feel improvements haven't been made. Our refurbishment included the lobby and the reception - both of which have been fully redecorated.

I'm so pleased your room was spotlessly cleaned and welcoming. I'm also happy you found my Team to be friendly.

I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while on our 4 week trip to the UK, although the waterfront was very windy the noise was not noticeable in the room. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to most attractions.

There is a smell in the hallway of the hotel that is not very pleasant but not that noticeable in the rooms. Rooms are 'compact' and bathroom is tiny.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RachealP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

As you mentioned, we are on the promenade and so the wind can sometimes be heard from our sea-view rooms, especially at this time of year.

I'm sorry that you felt the bathroom was small but hope that this wasn't a problem for you as it still contains all of the essentials.

I really hope that you enjoy the rest of your holiday in the UK.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I never write reviews as i work in a hotel myself, but this one needed mentioning.
We booked blackpool very last minute as we was meant to be going to London for my boyfriend's 21st but all trains got cancelled due to the weather. Very upset from the day antics we arrived at the hotel. The entrace looks a bit shabby and needs a good lick of paint. At reception, there was a queue of people waiting to check in which became very cramped so we waited in the corridor. Check in was speedy to get the queue down however, no information was given at all. We arrived at our room and was pleased that we got given a sea-view. However, the floor was sticky and needed a good clean. Went down to the bar for a drink and having waited 10 minutes for someone to serve us we decided to go out. Breakfast was a shambles. They couldn't find a smaller space to serve it in. There was nothing left, and nobody was clearing tables after people left. I had to ask for more of everything. When we got back to the room we noticed no new toilet paper was left when our room got cleaned. We asked a cleaner for some but she had none on her trolley?!
We are planning to return to blackpool both as a couple and with our friends but i think we would consider somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We really do try to ensure every one of our guests are fully informed about our Hotel during check-in. I'm sorry that you weren't. I agree that the area in which breakfast is served can become busy when we are fully booked. I am sorry that you encountered this during your stay.

I do hope you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a hassle free stay.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We found this hotel very cold and drafty the room we were given was nothing like the photo on the hotels web site as we were given a room at the back of the hotel which had a very small window that was covered in dirt and they only show a photo of the rooms that have a large sea view window.
On checking in we were given no information about the hotel so had no idea what time breakfast was or how to switch the heating on in the room ect.
Our room was very small with limited storage space but it was cleaned to a high standard and the bed was very comfy.
The location of this hotel is very good which was our main reason for booking.
We found the Breakfast area clean and bright but the breakfast itself was not so good there were no clean bowls for cereal and no knives for buttering toast and as its continental no eggs and bacon, very disappointing for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshine60Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, General Manager at Ibis Styles Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I'm sorry that you found your room to be small. Our Hotel is a listed building and was one of the first four to be built in Blackpool, so our rooms aren't all the same shape or size as you'd expect to encounter in a modern property. If you choose to stay with us again, please give us a call before you arrive and we'll do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms.

I'm so happy that you felt the room was cleaned to a high standard and the bed to be very comfortable.

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Katy Mace
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#30 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#21 of 73 in Blackpool
432 reviews
1 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
2.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Blackpool

Address: 10 Talbot Square, Blackpool FY1 1NG, England (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £45 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancashire's finest tourism destination offers fantastic attractions and entertainment. Ibis Styles Blackpool will give you that great night's sleep and everything you need for a great stay. The hotel is ideally located on the main promenade and town centre close to the shops and within easy walking distance of famous attractions such as Blackpool Tower, Grand Theatre, and the Winter Gardens. The hotel is less than 1 mile from Blackpool North Train Station and 2 miles from the Pleasure Beach. The hotel is close to several car-parks. Discounted charges available from GBP 7 per day (24hrs) to GBP 16 per 5 days. Limited on road parking available nearby. Drop-off point outside hotel. Contact hotel for full details. Sea View room upgrades are now available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Styles Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing