We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #88 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Loved this little b&b. Very clean and Hilary and Kim were lovely and very helpful. We had the small double room but it was enough for us. Only about a 15 minute walk away from the pleasure beach and south pier, if you dont want to walk there is the tram service. Will definately be coming back when I can!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahxMcax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you SarahxMcax for taking the time to write your review, it was lovely to have you stay with us too. Hope to see you both again if you come to Blackpool.
Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
83
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were very pleased with the service we received, the review from Amanda P was accurate and I believe fair, Hilary and co were very friendly, rooms were clean and tidy breakfast was very tasty, we were going to book for a silver wedding anniversary celebration (as a group of 10-12) trip to Blackpool but having seen the comment from Hilary about not wanting Amanda P to book again (based on her review and not anything else, this review was VERY GOOD OVERALL) we would be unlikely to now. I'm a little disappointed to see that type of comment from an owner, there was nothing disrespectful in the review to warrant that type of remark, I could understand if there had been too much noise, the place had been trashed or if behaviour was unacceptable but it seems that this wasn't a problem just the review.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller009977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you traveller 009977 for writing this review.As this is a reflection on Amanda P review and you were part of that group of 9 I will respond to your review.
The written review was complimentary but the scores for value,rooms,cleanliness and service do not reflect the written review,taking a quote from the review.'Owners couldn't do enough for us' but scored us 4 out of 5. I also find it a little strange why you would want to bring back a party of 10-12 people if you were not 100% satisfied as your scores reflects.
I ask that travelers reading this review to reflect on Amanda P REVIEWS and draw their own conclusion.
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of April, as a group of 9 people. We travelled over 6 hours but when we arrived the owners couldn't do enough for us. Very helpful, friendly and welcoming.
The room was clean and tidy, better than most in Blackpool.
The hotel is in a great location, a short walking distance to all the attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you Amanda P for taking the time to write this review.The written review is quite complimentary however the scores do not reflect this and I find it a little contridictive.

After coming down from your rooms and serving you all tea and coffee, I asked if everything was to everyones satisfaction (as payment had not been taken up to this point) so anyone could have made any grievences known. Everyone was quite complimentary "lovely rooms, spotlessly clean" and I would'nt mind but that was also said by you!

I would also ask readers to look at the other 2 hotel reviews that you have made..and draw their own conclusion;it seems you would not be very easy to please, we also ask that if you return to Blackpool not to book here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very lovely couple who made me my husband and son very welcome, the rooms were clean and tidy with everything you need for a stay in Blackpool. Close to attractions within walking distance. The breakfast was amazing lots to choose from and all very fresh which made it easy for my 3 year old to choose from. Would definitely stay again great recommendation thank you very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayO935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Manager at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you Kay905 for writing the review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you choose us as your stay again in Blackpool. Hilayx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we have had yet another fantastic 1st class stay in this wonderful cosy place..the name may have changed but the service is still out of this world along with the fab breakfast..served up by two lovely kind people kim and hilary who my daughter just simply adores.. there is simply nothing that is too much trouble for this couple they do all to make your stay that wonderfull you do not want to leave..YOU REALLY DONT. thank you once again for a great weekend break ..PS i have had to stock up on the jubblys....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Manager at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you Nicola 1 for taking the time to write this review. It was great to see your family again we hope to see you again soon take care Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Bit of a late review as my stay was in August 2011 when the hotel was called The Clovelly, but I found our hosts to be ever so welcoming, friendly and pleasant. The rooms were very clean, the hotel was in a great location, the rooms were well decorated and facilitated and the breakfast was great! I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you Nicolas M if it's taken this long to write the review your obviously looking for a holiday.
We have changed the hotel name so some people have found it difficult to find us again. This was soley done for business purpose its been changed about 2 yrs now.Even if you don't choose us as your stay in Blackpool thank you for the review. Hilary x

I appologise for the delay in respnding to this review we have been very busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a really nice stay made mine and the girlfiends weekend that extra special with roses, flowers and chocolate and champagne waiting in our room really clean and friendly that clean the girlfriend couldn't lift the toilet seat because it had a cleanliness seal on and modern unlike most Bnb you stay at the coast definitely recommend to anyone ")

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewpid_stew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you Stewpid_stew for taking the time to write this review, we hope you choose By The Seaside again as your stay in Blackpool Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 856 in Blackpool
1,151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#101 of 856 in Blackpool
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arties Hotel
Arties Hotel
#86 of 856 in Blackpool
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,021 reviews
0.5 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#18 of 856 in Blackpool
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Property: By The Seaside
Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing