We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and lovely owners!”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #97 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
bradford
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place and lovely owners!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I, my partner and my 3 year old spent a night here last weekend. I've stayed at many of the b&bs on st chads road blackpool - the location of the road is fantastic- 10 mins walk 1 way to the pleasure beach and 10 mins walk the other to the tower! This time we decided on by the seaside as it was recommended by another b&b owner on the stret that was full.
The owners are lovely- extramly helpful and welcoming. We arrived at lunch time(2 hours b4 normal check in time) this wasn't a problem-the owner quickly prepared our room and with in 5 mins we were in!! We had a family room-double and a single which was small but adequate!! The beds were very comfy and I especially like the bed linnen they used! My only gripe was the heat- I know it was 20degs outside but the room never cooled down- even at night and when the owner kindly got me a fan! As the windows don't open very much I too agree with the other review- it could do with some air con! But nether the less a lovely little b&b- great people, fab location and fab breakfast!!!recomended as the family room was £60!!! Bargin! Ta guys

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you moo01 for writing this review,firstly I must correct the price, you paid £65.00 for the family room, people would be phoning saying they saw it on TA .
As I have previously written our family room will now be extended at the end of the season, and will reflect a price according to size.
It was an exceptionally hot night the window does extend further, but due to children being in the room it has a safety catch on.
We hope to see you again and thank you for the review. Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
114
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west lothian
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just back from a two night stay at this hotel. What a lovely find will definitely be going back. Kym and Hilary were great and made us very welcome. Spotless rooms and breakfast was perfect with a great choice. Lovely bar and seating area outside . Thankyou for a great weekend. Elma ,Derek, Janice and Tommy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elder_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you Elder_7 for writing this review. We really hope to see you again too, so we hope you make By The Seaside your stay again if you return to Blackpool. Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Kim and Hilary were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help during our three-night stay. They were really understanding of the foibles of my seven year old daughter who has autism; we really did not have any gripes of any real substance, only thing that bothered me a bit was the room did get rather warm (as was the weather during our stay) so could have benefitted from air conditioning; and we had to dance around each other and the beds a bit due to the limited available floor space, but that said, at little over £20 per head per night, for an extremely clean, well laid out en-suite family room with a generally modern feel to it; including an excellent breakfast menu that caters for a wide range of tastes and dietary needs; we really couldn't complain!
Only other thing to say that was beyond the control of our lovely hosts was we did hear some noise from people nearby who give Blackpool a bad name - but none of it kept us awake (on the plus side it was also a convenient location for the main attractions Blackpool has to offer).
Sleep rated as average due to the warm nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren050211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you Darren050211 for taking the time to write this review. I believe this to be one of the best reviews that's been written about our family room. You have been honest and fair in your comment and we have taken your review on a more serious note and intend to make adjustments . The price we charge £65.00 for our family room reflects the size of a guest house, we did intend to re-locate the family room last year but unfortunately due to bookings going into late January we could not fulfill our plans.
During your stay I must admit it was exceptionally hot and its not very often we get weather now like that, so to have air-conditioning installed would not make good business sense as we are only a small Guest House.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us,we hope you choose us again as your stay in Blackpool.
Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night the end of april, havent had time to write a review. Loverly people brilliant hotel gorgeous breakfast! Hillary couldnt of been more helpfull telling us were to park and were to go for entertainment. We will deffiantly be returning. Thank you for our stay. chloe and holly x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you Chloe r for writing this review glad you enjoyed your stay . Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Just back from a lovely family holiday and 4 days at by the seaside. Amazing food, spotlessly clean hotel and beautiful modern rooms. Hilary and kim are first class in every department, very helpful,polite and made me and my mum very welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants first a first class experience. Thank u again hilary and kim for a fab stay and look forward to seeing yous again. Gary and Anne.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review gazza1876 it was great to see you and your mom again hope to see you again next year. A piece of advice you may want to come on the train Anne. lol Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

we once again visit our favourite hotel. this time for a wedding!
once again kim and hilary go far beyond expectaions.
we came down to breakfast and all the tables were decorated beautifully and champagne for all.
in the evening brilliant entertainment was laid on at the hotels expense followed by excellent buffet. we had a great time as usual. kim and hilary we love you and your company and look forward to meeting up again in october for the footie.
hilary, keep the wine chilled.
all our love. the chapmans and guests.

Room Tip: take your pick. all of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANNY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you Danny30 for your lovely review,it's always a pleasure to have the Chapmans stay.
I must admit Danny you had the weather for the wedding ,it was a great day and thank you for bringing such lovely friends with you.
Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Loved this little b&b. Very clean and Hilary and Kim were lovely and very helpful. We had the small double room but it was enough for us. Only about a 15 minute walk away from the pleasure beach and south pier, if you dont want to walk there is the tram service. Will definately be coming back when I can!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahxMcax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you SarahxMcax for taking the time to write your review, it was lovely to have you stay with us too. Hope to see you both again if you come to Blackpool.
Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#95 of 859 in Blackpool
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,184 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#20 of 859 in Blackpool
681 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#193 of 859 in Blackpool
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birch Villa Hotel
Birch Villa Hotel
#152 of 859 in Blackpool
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Property: By The Seaside
Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing