We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“21st Birthday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #91 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“21st Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 25th October for 3 nights for my 21st birthday. This is the 2nd time here and will definitely be booking again when next in Blackpool, we didn't want to go home!
I arrived to find a balloon,teddy,flowers and thorntons chocolates in our room which my boyfriend had arranged with Hilary and Kym for my birthday once I had booked, this was a nice suprise as I didn't know anything about it. It was so nice of them to do this for us!
We stayed in the suite room which I would recommend,it does cost a bit extra to stay in these rooms but it is worth it, although the room we stayed in last year was lovely too. Our room was spacious with a large flat screen telly on the wall. The little touches were also nice, fluffy white robe and slippers,hair dryer, hand wash and body wash if you need it. Bottled water and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits.
The breakfast was lovely, with loads to choose from. From full english breakfast to omlettes! I had one of there pancakes with bananas and syrup which was soo nice!
Can not fault our stay one bit. Thank you again for my Birthday suprise and will hopfully see you next year.
Clare x

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank internationalgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseaside22, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for the review. Hope you had a great birthday, hope to see you next year Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
108
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Another amazing weekend in Blackpool all thanks to Kim & Hilary. We cannot thank you enough for making our stay so special. You provide a 1st class service with a warm & friendly atmosphere, great food and beautifully decorated rooms.
Would definately recommend By The Seaside Hotel to anyone visiting Blackpool! See you next year guys from The Latners xxx

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseaside22, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at By the Seaside for the weekend it was exactly what we needed. It was central, the owners Hilary and Kim were very friendly and helpful. The room was small but had everything we needed in it. The breakfast was great with a lot of choice from cereal, fresh fruit, cold meats, toast and a great menu for cooked items. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazzaShotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseaside22, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review. It would be lovely to see you again Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Just returned from staying 2 nights and booked 2 rooms and was so impressed with the excellent service, food, cleanliness, warm and friendly atmosphere that we've booked to stay again in 6 weeks and can't wait!!! Xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseaside22, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you so much for a lovely review it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope to see you again this year Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Have been staying at this hotel every year for about 8yrs, and wouldn't go anywhere else now. Hilary and Kym are such nice people and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast is the best in Blackpool according to my husband. Whole hotel is so clean and well decorated and every year we visit some-where else has been decorated. Will definately be back and would recommend this hotel to any-one thinking of visiting Blackpool.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated to a high standard and comfortable. Really can't complain about it bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pearlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bytheseaside22, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. It's always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hope to see you both again this year. Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Hi,

We have just returend from 2 nights at By The Seaside and again we were not disappointed. We love the place, and will be back again.

The breakfast is, without doubt the best I have had at any of the places i have stayed whilst in Blackpool. The rooms are very clean and always made to a high standard.

The "new" touch for us this time was that there was Tunnocks Tea cakes in the room, which didn`t last very long!!!

It`s the small touches and attention to detail that make the difference between an average Bed and Breakfast and an excellent one like By The Seaside.

David

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zippysnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Manager at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you zippysnr for writing this review, it's lovely to have your family stay with us and return year after year . Hopefully we will see you again next year and I think you will be very pleasantly surprised at our new family room. I've got Kim on it right now. X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to blackpool , we received a warm and friendly welcome on check in , we stayed in the family room , which was excellent value for money.the room was very clean and well decorated ,breakfast the following morning consisted of a buffet style cereal choice, juices, toast, and fruit. followed by a choice of breakfast from the table menu , which didnt disappoint, it was very tasty and well presented . in all an excellent stay will be returning to stay here very soon when the lights are on . Ty jon, gemma and xander ..22/8/13

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you JohnathonG. for writing this review hope to see you all again take care Hilary x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#106 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chadberry House Hotel
Chadberry House Hotel
#189 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arties Hotel
Arties Hotel
#76 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystals on the prom
Crystals on the prom
#98 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Property: By The Seaside
Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing