We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Blackpool - this is the place to stay!”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #98 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2010

If you're looking for a small guest house, quiet when you want to relax but in a great location, look no further than the Clovelly. Situated just a few hundred yards from the busy promenade, you're just moments from the action - with a tram stop if you don't want to walk. At the same time, those few hundred yards make all the difference for a quiet and relaxing good night's sleep, giving you time to recharge the batteries for the next day!

The Clovelly is spotless and well cared for, as are the guests. The hotel is compact, but has everything you need ... from an extremely comfortable bed to wifi access is you want it, its all here! Breakfast is great, as is friendly & homely atmosphere you'd hope for in a guest house. Even when booking over the phone, you get the impression the service is good ... and upon arrival, you realise you've chosen the right place. Hilary and her husband are great hosts and in a nutshell, nothing is too much trouble.

We went specifically for the illuminations but there's so many other things to do in Blackpool which has a real buzz about the place. From the pleasure beach - just 10 minutes walk up the road, to donkey rides on the sand across the promenade and the famous tower (about 5 minutes from the hotel by tram), this place has it all ... and the Clovelly Hotel rounds it off nicely.

We stayed here based on previous TripAdvisor recommendations and all I can say is that they're 100% right. As it says in the title, if you're visiting Blackpool (and I recommend you do), the Clovelly Hotel is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_from_Walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Thank you Neil_from Walton for such a glowing review It's much appreciated.You planned your stay wisely and made the most of what Blackpool has too offer. Thank you for also putting a comment on the local area I must admit if I go away it's not always about the hotel I like to know about the area St Chads road is ideally located for major attractions. So thank you for that
We hope to see you again at the Clovelly Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

This is the 5th year running we have been back to the Clovelly Hotel. Kim and Hillary are excellent hosts, from the moment you check in. They both make you feel so welcome. The Hotel is spotless a credit to them. Kim cooks an excellent breakfast that sets you up for the day. The hotel bar is a lovely place to relax and chill out. Nothing is too much trouble. We have spent many a great night in the bar. The Clovelly Hotel is idealy situated for getting out and about in Blackpool.Thanks again for a great weekend we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Debbie186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2010

Hi Mark_Debbie186378
Thank you for such a lovely review we could not wish for better guests you have been to The Clovelly for over 5 yrs so its good for travellers to read reviews from people like yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again next year take care Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend at the Clovelly Hotel (three couples) and once again have had a thoroughly wonderful time. We have stayed at the hotel several times and have never had any comments other than excellent. The hotel is very clean and kept to a very high standard. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the food is excellent and you have a choice at breakfast if you don't fancy the good old english fry up. Hilary and Kim are exceptional hosts and will assist you wherever possible to ensure that your stay is the best. The bar is well stocked and an enjoyable place to sit and relax with friends and of course the hosts. Just one word of warning do not take any tips for horse racing from Kim - we think his tips do their training on blackpool beach - ha ha ha - sorry Kim but we had to get that one in. Also look out for Hilary whizzing round the town on her new scooter. We will definitely be returning to this hotel and we advise that if you get the chance to visit Blackpool for a stay do not overlook this hotel you won't be disappointed. If you have booked you will be in for a treat and an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebSteve10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Thank-you debsteve10 for the review I love this weekend when you all come. we look forward to seeing you again next year take care Love Hilary and Kim xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 24th September. Although we only seen hilary at breakfast time she was always very pleasant and helpful, rooms where very good and quiet at nightime. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would recommend to family and friends. Thanks again for your hospitality :-)

Barb, Frank & Nicola from liverpool

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LpoolGirl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Thank you Lpoolgirl86 for taking the time to write a review for us. This weekend is one of the busiest weekends of the calander year ( Scottish Weekend) I apologise for not seeing a lot of me and more of Kim but emails now take around 1hr which I do at nightime so please accept my appology for not seeing you in the bar. It's nice to know that you would recommend us as a place to stay in Blackpool we do hope to see you again hope you had a good journey home Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were made to feel very welcome by Kim and Hilary,(Hilary thank you for making our breakfast early so we could eat before we left to catch our train)

The hotel room was excellent with lots of towels and goodies (dressing gown and slippers and mineral water!)

I would highly recommend this hotel to any one staying in Blackpool, we looked at hotels for Blackpool on Trip advisor and saw this one was very highly raied we weren't dissapoionted!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unicornqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you Unicornqueen for the review we hope to see you again at The Clovelly and hope you had a good journey home.Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Had a lovely time last weekend. Room was spotless, breakfast yummy, with lots of choice. Hilary & Kim were so friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend that you stay here!.
Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2010

Thank you Menna for the review and also emailing me the book title, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us hope to see you both next year Love Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

What else can I add that is not in other reviews for this hotel, but I will try. First class hospitality from a wonderful couple-Hilary & Kym. If you are visiting Blackpool you should not look any further than THe Clovelly Hotel. Food excellent, room immaculate and friendliness from the owners that is not easily found elsewhere. They also recommendeed restaurants for myself and my wife during our weekend stay which were both absolutely first class

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayed5915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Clovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2010

Thank you rayed5915 for the review Yes we know some really good places to eat in Blackpool tried and tested by both of us, you can also visit our website under events page to find some really good restaurants hope to see you both again Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#86 of 861 in Blackpool
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 861 in Blackpool
1,209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roselea Hotel
Roselea Hotel
#648 of 861 in Blackpool
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#132 of 861 in Blackpool
107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#102 of 861 in Blackpool
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 861 in Blackpool
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £55 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing