We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now an award winner and rightfully so...”
Review of By The Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Seaside
Ranked #91 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

My partner and I have visited Blackpool 6 times in the past year...

Each time we have stayed at "The Clovelly" and we will never change that.

It's hard to put into words what a great B+B this is and my last review for them pretty much said it all.

What I will say is that Hilary and Kim are not just gracious hosts, these are people who have real time for everyone of their guests and as such we have gone on to become good friends too...

The "boutique room" which my partner and I stayed in has now had a contemporary makeover (see pics attached). I think you will agree the pics say it all... This room also gives you a great view too - we got see a beautiful sunset over the sea...

Now onto that award... Kim's breakfast is very much renowned in the circle of guests that stay in "The Clovelly" but this has now been recognised with the enjoy England "Breakfast Award". These are not handed out on a whim and you really have to go some to impress the mystery judge whose comments were "The best breakfast she had tasted in Blackpool". I believe that to be true but please do not just take our word for it... Book to stay here so you can enjoy the experience for yourself... Just to tempt your tastebuds further the full english consists of (deep breath): choice of fried, scrambled, poached eggs, grilled sausage,grilled bacon, hash brown, black pudding, baked beans, grilled tomato and mushrooms... Not forgetting cereals, pastries, yoghurt, toast and preserves!!!

If all that's still not enough just take in all the other reviews...

I will finish by using the first line of my last review - this really is Blackpool's hidden jewel in the crown...

Thanks as always Hilary and Kim and look forward to the next visit, with many more to come.

;-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancspride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2011

Thank you mancspri for taking the time to write this overwhelming review it was a pleasure to see you both again.
Over the period of the last year you have visited us on a regular basis and that alone Say's it all about any BNB that has built up their business.
Kim and I have built up a good relationship with visitors and try to make all guests feel at ease in our company we are very approachable.
Yes Kim got his breakfast award and well deserved too!...Kim spends a lot of time in planning trying different ingredients and where it is sourced, his menu is varied giving options to the healthier eaters as well as a full English as for Visit Britain's comment it was the best bacon she had eaten in Blackpool, not the best breakfast don't make his head to large Col we'll never get it through the kitchen door LOL.
So ending on this note we have VB 4 stars VB Breakfast award and to top it all our local Blackpool rag headline for to-day is "We'll be the New Orlando" so get yourselves to Blackpool. Love Hil xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2011

Like most people who read a review of a hotel they are considering to stay at I tend to choose the middle ground of people's opinion and try to get a balanced overview of the hotel, after all we dont expect or demand perfection with our accommodation, all I ask is that a hotel/b&b is clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated.
Having stayed at another hotel in Blackpool the previous week, The Clovelly was well above the standard of the other hotel at exactly the same cost, I read the reviews and agree with most of what has been said about the hotel and its owners, I had a very comfortable stay and will certainly return and would be happy to recommend it to family and friends, it is a genuine hidden gem amongst many hundreds of hotels around Blackpool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dumpstermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

Thank you dumpstermonkey for the positive review,yes Im a big believer in taking the overall reviews as the saying ( you can't please everyone all the time) so I'm pleased you found our reviews genuine. love Hil x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed at the Clovelly Hotel in September 2010 with five friends and we were all impressed with the Hospitality and facilities within the hotel. All the rooms were extremely clean and the beds were very comfortable. The shower in the bedroom was excellent and the breakfast was both tasty and wholesome. Hilary was a fantastic host and couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be staying at the Clovelly Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blade011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2011

Thank you Blade01 for taking the time to write this review and the positive feedback.
I hold my hands up and I am really sorry but I don't remember you September was a long time back and under the data protection act all persoanal details are discarded.
The only people I can remember from Sheffield around September time were the bowling team we had in from Monday to Friday and then I only saw you at breakfast time.
Please accept my appology if you are not the above party.
If you are the bowling team it would be lovely to see you all again this year.Love Hil x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

just returned from clovelly second year running for new year,had an amazing time but didnt expect anything else,hilary and kim the owners are the nicest people you could ask to meet.The clovelly itself is very clean,fab breakfast,nice rooms and very welcoming.We would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!!!!!!thanks for making our stay THE BEST...... hope to see you this new year.......

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theralphs19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2011

Thank you theralphs for taking the time to write this review it was a pleasure to have you stay with us hope you had a good flight back to Panama see you next year love Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Have been going to the Clovelly now for more than 10 years and things just get better and better. Have just returned home after a two day stay. The room was GREAT, the food was EXCELLENT, the ambience was BRILLIANT and Hilary and Kim are two of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet. Will be returning again in July with my grandson, can't wait.
Sue and Joe

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnett_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Thank you arnett_10 for takaing the time to write this review it's an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us,I don't know if you know this but you were the very first couple that walked through the door the day we bought it.
We look forward to seeing you again in July love to you both Hilary xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

This was our second Xmas stay here and it just gets better , a warm welcome as we arrived from the Host Hilary & Kim shown to our room then given a hot pot off tea , once again these two people worked their socks off for their guest nothing is to much for these two, first class food ( ive put on half a stone :) ) from morning till evening , prices at the bar as cheap as the local pubs , entertainment every night Quizzes such as family fortunes and race night made for great fun in great company , Hilary thank you so much for the panto on ice tickets that you bought for all the guest it was a wonderfull gesture, a big thanks to all the guest who we met here yoiu made our Xmas along with Hilary and Kim of course , see you all next Xmas , just a footnote to say this is B&B they are famous for small rooms in Blackpool if you want luxury rooms then a bigger hotel will suit you but be prepared to pay a whole lot more see you all next Xmas .
Mick & Gill xx

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank mickgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Thank you Mickgill for writing this review it was a pleasure to have you stay again for Christmas, this is yet again another fantastic year.It's amazing how many people are keeping in touch with each other after they have left,so I'm already looking forward to xmas 2011 Bring it on!!!!.and thank you for the footnote yes were a 4 Star Bed and Breakfast NOT A HOTEL. love to you both Hilary x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The "Clovelly Hotel", with the Host "Hilary and Kim". I cannot praise this hotel enough, we arrived to a very warm welcome and given help with our luggage, After settling in, we were offered a warm drink and were informed of meal arrangements. The food was absolutely fabulous, very tasty, an excellent choice and they even offered alternatives, if what was on offer, may not have been your personal choice, They really went our of their way to bring all the guests together . The service and hospitality was second to none, a lot better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The room was compact, BUT we had everything we required. I would HIGHLY recommed this cosy but very clean and pleasant hotel to anybody. Mrs Christina & Eric Walker.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheClovelly, Owner at By The Seaside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Thank you 16walker for taking the time to write this review it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
It was such a shame Christine had to spend a day in bed due to her falling on the ice, however you were able to come down on your own and join in the fun as all the guests really got on well with you and each other, and that's what makes a lovely Christmas. Love Hilary XXXX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,232 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#96 of 863 in Blackpool
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cardoun
The Cardoun
#88 of 863 in Blackpool
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 863 in Blackpool
1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#93 of 863 in Blackpool
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Seaside

Address: 22 St. Chads Road | Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Seaside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By The Seaside Bed And Breakfast Guest House with 8 en-suite rooms Located on St Chads Road Blackpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing