We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert Hotel

Albert Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albert Hotel
Ranked #187 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Gudja, null, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't go again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The only good things where the food (the breakfast was great every morning) and the staff was friendly. But it all stops there.

It was my fault that I did not understand shared bathroom when I booked and that was already horrible. To make matters worse there wasn't any place to hang a towel or a pair of pants in the shared bathroom. I wasn't happy to place my stuff on the window sill where a dead fly laid there for about 4/5 days.

One of the two shared toilets's flushing did not work properly. There weren't any toilet paper hangers either. The toilet rooms' floors where never cleaned for sure.

In my double room I was surprised to not even have a waste bin. I found one after the third day, which was taken from one of the shared toilet rooms and was left without a bin. This bin was emptied only once. TV and Wifi did not work properly and there were no wall plugs, but just a multiple plug hanging from below the TV set. There were 3 little cushions on my bed, whose look I did not like and seemed they hadn't been cleaned for a long time. I could have done without them on my bed. The sink's water tap in my room was really hard to turn and again was never cleaned during my 9 day stay. The sign in my room said not to make noise when you got into the room, but all the floor shook when someone just walked by. Really not sure what was refurbished here.

The worst thing was with the towels. I was never given fresh towels during my 9 day stay. I asked for a fresh one and the guy told me he had left the used towels over the wall heater, which I had already placed on the floor for changing. Not really sure how many times English people wash in a week, but this surely isn't my idea of cleanliness. I had even used both little soaps and was never given a third.

I did not expect much for the price, but two years ago I was also in Blackpool and for a cheaper price the room was much better, with a small private bathroom and everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deni2001, Owner at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
I am sorry that you didnt understand the term (shared bathroom) but I think this was the main problem with your stay as you really wanted an en-suite room which I wish I could have obliged and given you but we were really busy that week and didnt have one available.
Regarding clean towels they were changed for you every 2nd day as they are for all guests unless they are requested sooner which is not a problem, we are more than happy to change the towels they would never have been left for that period of time.
In our rooms all cushion covers and bed throws are washed after every guest leaves as I am very strict about this, but if you did not want them on your bed you could have asked us to remove them for you.
I dont think it was very appropriate to say that you dont know how often English people wash in a week.
Regarding the dead fly I am sorry this wasnt noticed but it was the middle of summer and I personnally wash the bathroom and floors daily so maybe I overlooked this due to the workload I had that week.
The bedroom bins are emptied daily so I dont know why you said yours was only emptied once during your stay and if this is so why was it not brought to my attention immediately.
I will admit we did have a bit of a problem with the wi fi when it was set up but is all working fine now, apart from that we displayed on booking.com that wi fi was not available at the time.
I really wish you had approached me with your concerns as we would have done everything in our power to rectify any problems you only had to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    21
    8
    1
    8
See reviews for
22
31
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were a group of 6 ladies (emilys 18th) this hotel was a absolute life saver for us, we had a wonderful stay and all of us have said we would defo be back to visit really soon. It is a wonderful freindly hotel, which will do anything for you,rooms are very very clean, and a great tasty full english brekkie xxx and the bar is a good starter to. The night as it is the cheapest ion town xx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a bit of a mixed experience at the Albert Hotel. Firstly can I say the people running the place were very obliging and did their best to help where they could. The room and communal areas were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of it. If you are after a lively break in blackpool the location is very good as you are only a short walk from attractions and night life. This does mean that there is quite a bit of noise into early hours when groups of people are returning from night clubs but this didnt bother us as it was expected due to the location.On the down side the double room we had was very small with a very small double bed so we found conditions quite cramped. We came to blackpool to attend a wedding and had suits etc to hang and shirts to iron due to creasing in the case, we found this difficult to do due to lack of space. There was one very small wardrobe and no draws or surfaces to put anything on. We managed with this situation as we only stayed the weekend but if we had been staying for a week it would have been difficult to find room for a weeks worth of clothes and the lack of quality sleep would have been a problem over a longer stay. The ensuite bathroom was adequate and clean but the hot water was a little unpredictable. In all I think if you are a group of stag or hens just looking for a room to crash out in for a couple of hours a night the Albert would be fine for your needs. However if you are wanting a decent nights sleep or have more than a small holdall of clothes with you, you would be wise to book else where. This a shame as the hosts are very nice people who are helpful to customers but comfort was a definite issue for us and for other family members staying there. They had a family room which was also very cramped.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiegirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deni2001, Owner at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Might I state that we do not appreciate you advertising that we are only good for hens/stags firstly we dont take stags and we only take small hen partys.
If you needed to iron anything you could have ironed in the dining room which people do every weekend some rooms are smaller than others which I am afraid we cant do anything about.
As you can see from our other reviews most people are more than happy with the service we provide, sorry you were not happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Jubilee weekend. The staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem. They were happy to assist us with our requirements. The room was a large room, accomodating for 6, only 5 of us girls shared this. The room and bathroom was clean, (unlike some hotels) The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of it. On arrival the gentleman helped us carry our bags to our room. There was a bar there which was opened on request of the guests. The Hotel is a 5 min walk from the town centre, providing easy access to shops, clubs and pubs. We will definately be visiting the Albert Hotel on our next girls holiday

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Me & four friends stayed for two nights, the staff were really friendly and were really helpful... the breakfast was by fast the best I have had at a B&B. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The location is brilliant, 5 minutes walk to the shops and bars.... will definately be stating there again when we go back.
Good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidston, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Me and my friend were originally going to stay at the malibu hotel opposite, but was mortified to find that it had closed down and the owners of it had taken off with our money! So stressed we were desperate to find somewhere else to stay for the night, we headed over the albert hotel and they were so kind and understanding and put us up for the night straight away, Staff were so friendly and i felt welcomed, the breakfast was just gorgeous and i was very suprised to see that the breakfast included was a full english! Most hotels just serve cereals and tea and coffee with toast, etc, was very impressed. Thanks for being so kind xxx

Room Tip: All rooms basic and lovely and clean, would not reccomend a particular room as i think they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The main recommendation for this hotel is the helpful friendly staff, We had booked an en- suite twin. However the actual facilities involved a private bathroom next door to the bedroom which required a short walk down the corridor. Not really my idea of en-suite. Also when shut it was impossible to open the bathroom door from the inside as it was stuck fast. We acquired the habit of taking our phone with us and ringing the other person to be released, as the only way to open the door was to push it very hard from the outside. Based on this I wouldn't choose this hotel again although it was otherwise clean and comfortable enough,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CATH24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deni2001, Owner at Albert Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
So Sorry you had a problem with the bathroom door, but no one else has ever mentioned it , but we have now put a better handle on the inside of the door so this will not be a problem for anyone else in the future.
The room you were in has its own private bathroom right next door and that is the way it is advertised on line, we will be putting a doorway from the bedroom to the bathroom in the future so you dont have to leave the bedroom.
Anyway thank you for your review as we need feed back to rectify any obvious problems that we may have over looked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Cheers Hotel Blackpool
Cheers Hotel Blackpool
#284 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
#106 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tregenna
The Tregenna
#183 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manor Grove Guest House
Manor Grove Guest House
#189 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osborne House Hotel
Osborne House Hotel
#508 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trafford Hotel
The Trafford Hotel
#20 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Hotel

Property: Albert Hotel
Address: 117 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing