We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adelaide House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Oak Lea Hotel(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Big Blue Hotel(Blackpool)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore(Blackpool)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
254
62
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
62
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoundshill shopping centrenext yearhounds hillwinter gardencoach tripkipperspool tableshort walkevening mealcleaned dailyblackpool towerrooms were spotlessspecial thanksperfect locationgood nights sleepexcellent hotelfriendly atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the lovely Adelaide House Hotel during the Blackpool Dance Festival. The room is very clean and spacious compare with other hotels in Blackpool. The hotel is well maintained with dedicated and friendly owners Derek and Caryn who treat all guests like family. The location is great for it is just a 1-2 minutes walk from Winter Gardens. It is close to the Blackpool Tower and Marks and Spencer. There is good WiFi connection, clean and spacious lounge, and those who still have to maintain contact with the office while on vacation like us find the hotel a nice and quiet place for work. Breakfast service is fast, efficient and good. The bed is too soft for us but one has to remember this is not an international 5-star hotel. We had clean sheets, fresh towels, hot shower, and a quiet room. As a couple with extensive travel experience, we highly recommend Adelaide House Hotel. Great value, efficient service, very clean, good location, cozy environment, wonderful owners and staff. What more can one ask for? We had a fabulous and romantic vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shirley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review ! We are glad you had a great time with us and it was very nice to meet you again during the Dance Festival.. It is a busy and hectic week and we have dancers from all over the world staying, but we all enjoy this week and look forward to this competition. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
best wishes,
Caryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Adelaide hotel.
We are a family of 2 adults, 1 10 year old Girl and 1 6 year old boy.
We travelled on a coach trip from N Ireland in early July 2013

The rooms were standard but very clean and spacious.
The breakfast and dinner menu were also standard but a good variety and plenty of it. (Don't think restaurant, think good home cooking).
But the highlight of this hotel is the staff. Nothing was too much for them.
Andy was very entertaining and very good with our children, while maintaining a high standard of service.

I would also point out this hotel is aimed at the older generation and family's. This combined with the friendliness of the staff created a good and safe family atmosphere for our stay.

This was our second stay at this hotel and if visiting Blackpool again we would definitely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NathanLesleyChloeKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Adelaide House and appreciated the friendly atmosphere and good home cooked food. We have great staff and along with Julie and Lesley, Andy is a popular and very entertaining waiter! I will pass your comments on to all the team.

We hope to see you again,
best wishes,

Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

As you'll see from my reviews, I'm more used to the 5* high ends of Dubai, Singapore and the US compared to some B&B in Blackpool, but my little nephew is doing a school project on the seaside 100 years ago. So Blackpool and the Adelaide House Hotel it was to be.

I booked direct with the hotel, the cost was way below what I expected to pay and sat towards the bottom of the scale on the price brand from my research for the weekend. Caryn provided a speedy and informative response to my emails, assisting with booking, parking and local attractions. We used the car park at the top of Adelaide road, £15 for the weekend, it was a well lit, safe and easy find location, you can unload outside the hotel then go and park, we choose to park and walk the two minutes down the road with our bags. The front of the hotel is well finished and first impressions demonstrate a love for the place by its owners, 40 years the hotel has been with the family. We were met by Andy, who couldn't do enough to help us with checking in, the public areas of the hotel are modern and exceptionally clean - surprisingly a very pleasant smell as you enter the foyer. To the right is a games/tv room, again finished to a high standard, good selection of TV channels, books and games available as well as a PS2 (the niece and nephew appreciated this). To the left is the residents bar, again to a high standard, personally I'd be painting the wood finish to the walls to make this room a little lighter, but overall very comfy and welcoming with a well stocked bar. Our room (45) was of a good size with 2 single beds and one double. The room was decorated nicely, but more importantly the beds had crisp white sheets and good blanket/duvet offerings. The furniture was ok and decent carpet down. Small en-suite with walk-in shower, plenty of fresh white towels, changed daily and a selection of good quality toiletries provided, even the toilet roll was good quality. In the room tea and coffee was provided - plenty of this as well. The TV was modern, displaying a good picture and the free wi-fi was picked up easily in the room. We had a great nights sleep, no noise, comfy beds and nice and warm. Just one point here, the corridor lights are left on bright all night and the light shines under the door. We had breakfast and evening meal at the hotel, a really good choice of high quality traditional food was provided and plenty of it, like rest of the hotel the dining room is well decorated and accessible, the lift, which served every floor was always in use by the older guests, who were very well looked after. Note: drinks menu not available for the evening meal (missed marketing opportunity here) but the staff will sort you out.

I loved staying at this hotel, it's clean everywhere you look, even the little ledges and tops of things that you'd expect to find dust. In fact its that clean, the tea tray in the room has gone white! It's decorated to a high standard and well maintained. The level of customer service is excellent (Andy is brilliant with guests) the location is really good, just a minutes walk from houndshill shopping centre, 5 minutes to the tower, coral island and the tram stops, while the winter gardens sit opposite.

It's clear this place is geared up for the older generation, but for me there is a definite change on the horizon with the way the hotel has been decorated recently and the staffs approach to customer service, it's a super location for theatre goers, young professionals taking advantage of the shops, Madame Tussards and The Blackpool Dungeons but a great family hotel with easy access to the pleasure beach and other amusements.

Blackpool is changing, the big attractions are getting revamped, the town is changing the way it looks and the Adelaide House Hotel is the perfect place to experience this all from. We will booking again soon.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
8  Thank carl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you last week and we are glad that you enjoyed everything we offer at Adelaide House. We appreciate all your comments (and I do agree with you about the bar ! (Derek is planning on decorating it at the end of this season) Your niece and nephew were a delight to look after, and we could have listened to your nephews tales of his summer adventures all day x. Andi is a very popular (and entertaining!) member of our team and I have passed your comments on to him.

Once again, many thanks for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again, if you are ever in Blackpool.

Best wishes,

Caryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

hi we stayed at adelaide house once again we enjoy it everytime we go we met a lot of nice people from leeds,and teeside,we had a good laugh, are room was immaculate and the meals where lovely and of course are waitresses julie and lesley,and are lovely waiter andy who looked after us all and not forgetting the chef, we only come from preston but we love it that much we keep coming back for a break we love u all and a big thank you to caryn and derrick for putting up with us see u for turkey and tinsel love from maureen slater, john, and pam xx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maureen1955-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great to see you again last week and I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again for Turkey and Tinsel later in the year!

Best wishes,

Caryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Like everyone else, we were there for the Blackpool Dance Festival. Although I gave it an excellent rating, don't expect five-star hotel-type accomodations. It was literally like staying with family in their guest room. The room was small. The bathroom was small. The shower hot water was hard to adjust (I took a cold shower the first night). The beds were too soft for our tastes.

So why did I give it an excellent rating? If you're there for the Blackpool Dance Festival, it was literally across the street from Winter Gardens and only half a block from the backdoor of the Empress Ballroom. The staff and owners treated you like family. Julie and Caryn were very helpful and friendly. Caryn called around to try to get us a car and driver for a day. Julie was always ready with restaurant suggestions. The breakfast was very good. Breakfast was traditional English and there were also juices, fresh fruits, yogurt and cereal available.

I would definitely recommend staying here if you're attending the Blackpool Dance Festival. However, you better make your reservations now for next year because most people have already put down a deposit.

Room Tip: If you're reading this review, I don't think you will have choice. We were in the back of the building and it was very quiet at night. However, there was no wireless reception in the back rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaialaeNui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you in May and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Like you say, we are not a 5 star hotel, but we try hard to give all our guests a 5 star welcome, and I have passed your lovely comments on to Julie and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide House in the future.

Best Wishes,

Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews