We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for an excellent hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Adelaide House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This must be about our 7th stay at the Adelaide house hotel & as an usual excellent stay, The staff from you arrive until the hugz n handshakes when leaving were fantastic & nothings to much trouble, The rooms are always very clean & tidy & serviced daily with tea n coffee making facilities in your room also flatscreen tv with freeview in your room, The food is of a great standard and plenty of it supplied & a good variety on the menu. There is great entertainment in the hotel most night,

The location of the Adelaide house hotel is only 2-5 minutes from the Houndshill shopping centre, Winter gardens & the Tower & the Promenade,

A visit to the Adelaide house hotel is highly recommended.

A big thanks to Derek, Caryn, Julie, Andy ( This guy is soooooo funny) and the new staff ( sorry guys never got your names lol)

We'll DEFINATELY be returning soon ;o) John n Margaret.

Room Tip: I've been in few rooms and had no problems but if you have any trouble just contact reception be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnr1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay once again with us and found everything to be our usual standard. It was lovely to see you, and I have passed on your comments to Julie and Andi.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes,

Caryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week. Our room was very small considering there were two adults, a child and a young baby. The cot was pushed right next to the wall leaving a few centimetre gap between it and the double bed. The wardrobe was also difficult to get to as the cot was crammed so close to the wall and the bed. The room was also very hot. I appreciate that this was not always the hotel's fault as the weather was warm and the sun was shining through the window all day, but no air conditioning or fans were available. The bathroom was okay. Basic, but done the trick. The flush on the toilet wasn't great and the shower took a while to heat up but we got there in the end. The room on the whole was alright. I was sightseeing mainly, so only used the room to sleep and shower. If my trip had meant I had to spend more time in the room then it may have become increasingly uncomfortable.
The continental breakfast choice was good. Lots of fruit, cereals, muesli, yogurts etc however the cooked breakfast was of an average standard. The bacon was very fatty and the sausages weren't particularly meaty. May I also suggest that beans should be available EVERYDAY on the cooked breakfast rather than alternating it with tomatoes. I am not a fan of tomatoes myself and therefore did not have them, but the breakfast was very dry without beans. Having the choice of the two would be better. How can you have a fry up without beans?!?!
The evening meal was good. Very tasty. Prawn cocktail starter was lovely and also the vegetable soup. Bread rolls were delicious. Selection of desserts also.
The staff overall were friendly and easy to talk to. The lounge was good. Comfy chairs and sofas with a TV. Pool table and a darts board and also a PlayStation for the children.
Would probably stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mynameismegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you only found your stay to be average with us. We like all our guests to have a wonderful holiday and our staff try their very best to ensure this happens. Sorry that you found the cot difficult to manoeuvre around, we do provide them as a complimentary extra, and unfortunately it does take away some of the space in the room. We have been very lucky to have had fantastic weather this year in Blackpool and I am sorry if you found the room too warm. We do have a number of fans which we give out if necessary, but it is on a first come basis.
I appreciate your comments regarding the cooked breakfast not having beans every morning. This was an experiment this year to have tomatoes one morning with beans the next. Starting from the 25th August, we are providing both together every morning making the cooked breakfast 7 items.
I am glad that you enjoyed the evening meal and the rest of what we offer at Adelaide House.

We hope that if you come to Blackpool again, you will choose to stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After returning from
A short break for the 11th year I can honestly say this hotel ticks all the boxes. Having a young family and over the years travelling with a party from age 0-70 I like to feel safe and secure and have nice clean rooms with a good menu and friendly staff and guests. As always Julie always goes the extra mile to accommodate any requests and treats my children like family and nothing is too much trouble for her which is one of the reasons we return. A total asset to the place. Will definitely return and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guest m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to see you again recently and after so many visits its nice to know we are still keeping our standards high. Thank you for your comments about Julie our head waitress. I am sure she will be very pleased to know she is so well thought of. She has worked for us for many years and as you say is an asset to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adelaide House very soon,

With best wishes,

Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel and room was clean but when i used the shower the next morning i could not get warm so had to get a cold one, the noise from the room above ours was very noisy from 6am not what you want on a sunday morning, great selection of cereals and fruit but the cooked breakfast wasnt very good at all

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madaim-els
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your one night stay with us recently. It is unfortunate that you didn't speak to us at the time as we would have done our best to rectify any problems. We have a plentiful supply of hot water and all showers are checked weekly, so we are disappointed that you found the water to be cold in your shower. We take families, couples, pensioners and conference delegates (and never take hen or stag groups etc) so we are sorry that you found the guests in the room above you to be noisy early in the morning and can only apologise if this was the case. We are glad that you enjoyed the buffet starter of your breakfast as we do give our guests a wide variety of choice, but sorry that you didn't enjoy your cooked breakfast that was served to the table. We pride ourselves on a high standard of home cooked food and if you had spoken to our dining room staff, we would have done our very best to ensure you enjoyed your meal. We do leave comments forms in the bedrooms for guests to post at reception on departure, and welcome any constructive criticism, always acting upon anything we can do to improve our service. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review.

Yours sincerely,
Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I and my family went to England on a little trip, the choice fell on this hotel, very nice staff and nice czyto like home, great location, delicious food we ate here for breakfast and lunch only on the town, quiet and peaceful beauty and distinctive, but nice surprise was so cheap for a night jestmaj in awe, great place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Adelaide House, and we hope that if you are ever in Blackpool again, you will choose to stay with us.

yours sincerely,
Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stay at the Adelaide House every time we go to the biggest magic conventions in the world. It is walking distance from the Winter Gardens and close to everything else in Blackpool. More important is the hotel is clean, there is friendly staff, and they have great food served for breakfast. This is the place to stay. We are lucky we found it. Now you can be too.
Rick Wilcox
Wisconsin
USA

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HouWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was lovely to meet you. We enjoy looking after the Magicians that come to the convention in Blackpool, and we are glad that you have booked for next years visit. Once again, many thanks for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again in February!
Best wishes,

Caryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a gem of a find this hotel proved to be during short break in Blackpool during June this year. Difficult to find a fault as room was clean and offered all needs/food was excellent/Derek and all the staff were fab !! Hope to repeat our lovely stay at the Adelaide next year at some point. Have already recommended to friends !!
Julie,Ronnie and Lacey (the cat).
Very best wishes to all at the Adelaide.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie2472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caryn1, Manager at Adelaide House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you will choose us again if you are ever in Blackpool!

Best wishes,

Caryn Dickson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaide House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide House Hotel

Address: 66-68 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £30 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide House Hotel has been owned and personally run by the Dickson Family for over 45 years. We pride ourselves on a warm welcome, cleanliness, excellent food, comfortable modern rooms, wonderful service from friendly staff and value for money. We are the closest hotel in Blackpool to all amenities, being directly opposite the famous Winter Gardens and Hounds Hill Shopping Centre. Less than a 5 minute walk to the Theatres, Blackpool Tower, Piers, Beach, Promenade and Bars. We take mainly over 55's (discounted rates), families, couples, singles and delegates for the Winter Gardens, (Dance Competitions, Magicians Conference, USDAW etc). We do not take Stag or Hen nights. We offer Bed, Breakfast and a delicious choice of homemade Four Course Evening Meal and we also offer a Bed and Breakfast tariff. We have two comfortable lounges, one with TV, Pool table, darts board and playstation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing