We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smallest single room ever..”
Review of Ascot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascot Guest House
Ranked #193 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
limerick,ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“smallest single room ever..”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

stayed in this b&b for three nights . as the title of the review states this is the smallest single room i have ever stayed in ,had a large suitcase and bag and kept tripping over them at night time .had booked this on the reviews above and would not stay here again. there was lots of vacancies free in other guesthouses which seemed better value for the money. for any single/solo traveller booking this guesthouse please ask for a bigger room when booking .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and loved everything about guest house, rooms were lovely really clean and modern, we had a king room which was great size. Location is great 5 minute walk to central pier, host is lovely and makes u feel very welcome , we will definatly be returning x

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenpink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Havent stayed for a while but pam is a excellent host. She has a very warm home to welcome u in she would do anything to accomadate you. Her food is excellent

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriana82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We received a nice welcome on arrival however everything was disorganised as they were currently re-decorating and there were strong paint fumes, but the owner was very apolegetic.

The room was very clean and tidy however it was very small, but I wasn't expecting a massive room for the price we paid. Our room was very cold and you can not control when the heating comes on in your room, I had to sleep with a hoody on as I was that cold, and the bathroom was freezing which was not pleasant after getting out of the shower! There were random mismatched coat hangers on show which I am not a fan of, and also we had no tea/coffee making facilities in our room even though it states on the website and in their leaflets tea/coffee making facilities are in all bedrooms. We had a big issue with the bathroom door...we had great difficulty oprning and closing the door, I actually was stuck in the bathroom for about 5 minutes as the door would just no open. Our TV did not work at all either.


On the other hand the breakfast was good, we had a full english breakfast with tea and orange juice.

I think this place could be a great guest house with a few minor adjustments.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexbing24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here in the school week in October with my daughter and her family. On the positive side the breakfast was fantastic. The bed was the most comfortable I think I have slept in! Our room was very comfy. On the negative side I had booked (and paid for) a king double and we were put in an ordinary double with no refund offered. We were told we had had a 'discounted price' but the differance was only £15 over 3 nights. Our room was warm but the Family room my daughter had was cold at night.
Overall I would say that the stay was pleasant and the location is great. The Tower lights at night are great.
The landlady was very pleasant and accomodating with the children.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazz0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had a lovely welcome, even if they could not find our booking for some time! We had booked a small double room with shared facilities for £45 for one night.

Having seen the photos on booking.com I was looking forward to a beautifully, stylish decorated room. Alas not only was our room tiny, but so plain and dull. We used the tiny toilet and shower which were clean.

The guest house had room for 3 cars parked tightly together. Just above is a new car park which cost £6.50 for 24 hours.

It is central, right by the tower. It was extremely quiet at night, but our little double bed was so soft and so uncomfortable.

The breakfast was served at 9 am and was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2011

best place ive stayed in blackpool, very clean, great breakfast, great location!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#141 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Deneside Guest House
The Deneside Guest House
#118 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cadeby Lodge
Cadeby Lodge
#145 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Diego Guest House
San Diego Guest House
#144 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Feathers
The Feathers
#239 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Address
The Address
#157 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Guest House

Property: Ascot Guest House
Address: 87 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ascot Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Guest House Is Now Under New Management. As Of August 2013 and Has Also Been Refurbished We Now Have 6 Rooms instead of 8 in which 5 are en-suite and the single room has it,s own separate shower toilet and sink facilities. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you at the Ascot Guest House. You will find us ideally situated in a quiet location on Hornby Road, a few minutes walk to the town centre, providing ample shopping facilities and superb restaurant's to suit all tastes. An equal distance brings you to Blackpool Tower, Wintergardens, Hounds Hill Shopping Centre, Night Clubs, Stanley Road Social Club and our beautiful theatres. Also just a few minutes walk away are our award winning sandy beaches and the magnificent new promenade. In fact we are the perfect base with everything you need to ensure your stay in Blackpool is a pleasurable one. We do not have a bar but guests are allowed to bring their own drinks and are welcome to use our lounge area until a reasonable hour providing they respect other guests and do not cause a disturbance to others . Any form of discrimination towards any other guests in regards to race gender or sexual orientation will not be tolerated and expect all guests to adhere to this policy. Children under the age of four are free. We do have travel cots for our guest. We also have limited parking spaces which are on a first come first served basis. However there is a small carpark within walking distance a few doors up the road. Prices for carpark are £6.50 For 24hrs or £20 for the full week, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Ascot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing