We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Mayfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mayfield Hotel
Ranked #33 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great place to stay, where you are made welcome from the moment you enter the Hotel. We stayed for a couple of nights and received a cup of tea straightaway. Communal lounge for everyone's use, rather than being stuck in your bedroom. Neat and tidy and more than enough for breakfast. Last but not least, great value. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Book early, very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
big hank you Dave for such a lovely review we are so glad you and Paul felt at home its nice o offer a place to chat and laugh in he hotel its always a good thing to introduce new customers to each other at the tables it makes communication less strange and more inviting once again thank you and hope all goes well with the house hunting Ian jay and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
121
91
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I said id be back ! and I keep returning back over and over again. I just love this bed and breakfast Ian jay and Jamie make me feel part of the family the meals are lovely and I especially love the chicken tikka its my favourite meal when I go to the Mayfield.
I tend to visit about three times a year and the hotel always has something new and they always make me feel so welcome its just like being at home only your well looked after especially with a cup of tea or coffee on arrival once again thank you Ian jay and of course Jamie
I have stayed in every room since I've been coming here in the last 5 years and can honestly say they are all nicely decorated with comfortable beds.
see you all soon

Room Tip: room 4 has a 32 inch television room in as well as luxury double room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 620amandac620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
hi Amanda,
always a pleasure to see you. won't be long till you return again, you sit with us and look like part of the furniture because your here so many times and your getting to know most of the guests especially the regular lot. we will see you soon Amanda x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

myself 2 sisters and nieces have just spent 3 nights at the Mayfield ian jay and Jamie are the best hosts we have ever met nothing is too much trouble rooms are spotless food is excellentand ian makes the best spotted dick in blackpool we met last year as strangers we are now good friends already planning and looking forward to next September THERES NO PLACE LIKE HOMEITS GOT TO BE THE MAYFIELD

Room Tip: All the rooms are as nice as one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Well what can I say mega thank you to you all its been a lovely and funny three days with you guys and your so organised especially with your days out if only every one would organise there trips more and they would surely enjoy it has you have we will make sure your mince pie is made for you on return next year and yes belly pork as well lol take good care and Jamie says big thank you for the chocolates xx Jay ian and yes little Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Another stay at the wonderful Mayfield hotel. As always greeted by the owners and before anything else sat down and a welcoming brew.As always great food cheap drinks and great company. You are made to feel really at home here from start to finish. This time, Ian and Jay actually made us stay a little longer on our departure day as i had over indulged with the drink the night before. Even to the point of making me a sandwich at lunchtime. Once again it was so enjoyable, we immediately booked again for new year. (Cant come quick enough)

Room Tip: All rooms have been newly decorated and are allocated to the size of your party. All are of the very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
thank you Dave and Julie it was as always a great pleasure looking after you and yes new year should be a lot of fun as we do have a few coming to us so well worth looking forward to see you then once again thank you Ian jay and of course little Jamie lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My stay in Meyfield was great. I felt welcome from the very first second.The room which I've stayed in was really nice,cozily and very clean. I was really surprised about this because the room wasnt more expensive than a hostel! And also was a delicious breakfast include which was fresh and individual made. The thing which I've enjoyed most was to spend some time with the guests and the owners in the living room. It was so fun! I enjoyed to have conversations with them while I could enjoy a drink (with fair prices) from the hotel bar. I'm looking forward to stay one day again in this great,familliar hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita's W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Manager at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
hi Rita,
big thank you for joining in with us here at the Mayfield we like to think anyone can join in the fun in the small bar/lounge area we can have some good laughs and one day hope to repeat it you will always be made very welcome once again big thank you Ian jay and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Myself, my husband and young daughter have just returned home from a two night stay in the Mayfield Hotel and, to quote the Bard, parting was such sweet sorrow; We didn't want to come home. The Mayfield Hotel is a fantastic home from home, where we were immediately made welcome as valued guests and left feeling like friends of the family. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the food is superb and the customer service is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for Ian, Jay and Jamie; they catered for our every need, going above and beyond to make sure that our break was extra special. Children are well catered for and welcomed with open arms, with individualised menus and a lovely safe area for them to play in whilst the adults relax in the lovely lounge bar. We stayed in rooms 4 and 5, two interconnecting rooms with a private bathroom. This literally was like our own private suite as our daughter had her own, gorgeous, room with her own TV, allowing us to watch what we wanted in the evening for a change!! Ian, Jay and Jamie were always on hand with advice and tips for getting the most out of our stay including some much welcomed travel advice (thanks for the tram ticket tip Ian!). We would recommend the Mayfield to anyone, but particularly if you have children; we are already booking our next stay. Thanks Ian, Jay and Jamie - see you in October :-).

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you have children and want them with you but not in the same room, ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
thank you very much for our lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after you all, jade was fantastic and settled in with the other children wasn't shy for long. we look forward to seeing you once again in October, it wont feel strange on the second visit. wish all the very best see you soon. jay Ian and Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and kids aged 10 and 7 just returned from the Mayfield Hotel, we had a great time which was made brilliant because of Ian, Jay and their son Jamie. Lovely clean comfortable rooms, excellent food, and a lovely lounge/bar for us to relax in whilst the kids played in the childrens play area. Nothing is too much trouble, all your needs catered for in a lovely home from home environment, we have never felt so comfortable and been so well looked after, if your looking for a friendly lovely family run hotel to stay in you must go to the Mayfield, you will arrive as guests but go home as good friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfieldhotel, Owner at Mayfield Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
hi Helen Sean and family, thank you for your review it's always nice to see you. each year you come back Georgia and Joe are grown that fast they are catching up with jay. anyhow we look forward to next years visit. jay Ian and Jamie x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#24 of 856 in Blackpool
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 856 in Blackpool
759 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#20 of 856 in Blackpool
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grosvenor View - Guest House
Grosvenor View - Guest House
#30 of 856 in Blackpool
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 856 in Blackpool
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Hotel

Property: Mayfield Hotel
Address: 27 Holmfield Road | Northshore, Blackpool FY2 9TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield Hotel: The Mayfield hotel was reopened by its new owners in September 2006. With the closed season kicking in it was a perfect time to rejuvenate the hotel to high standards, which has been complemented on by hotels guests over the opening months. With the wonderful views out on to the North pier and the beach, the Mayfield hotel is ideally suited for all the visitors young or old. The Mayfield hotel is literally a ten to fifteen minute walk into the main centre of the busiest north western seaside town in England. A variety of accommodation can be offered at the Mayfield to suit the needs of you and your companions during your stay at Mayfield hotel. Also we do have a variety of evening meals with home from home cooking. We don't take stag or hens or large groups as it's not a party hotel. Like we say, it's home from home. If you like a pint or two, we do have Fosters and Strongbow on tap. We hope to see you all very soon... Ian, Jay and Jamie ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing