We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another year another visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool
driffield
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“another year another visit”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

well wat a suprise we got this time after we left in october last year they said there wud b sum changes 4 the next time and boy how rite they were it is now unbeleavable wat they have achieved up 2 now, theres still a bit 2 du 2 finish it of but new rooms,new dining area ,new entrance and new relaxing area so that now u can watch the entertainment from all areas of the room and a new lift 2 take u up 2 the top floor 2 brand new family rooms and suites they r fantastic all new wet rooms with all you require in them 4 any needs, the bedrooms have state of the art tracker hoists or the easy glide manual ones the decor is just rite 4 the ambiance of your stay not brite or dull a luverly homely finish with plush carpets thats easy 2 push wheelchairs on. the reception u receive is still top drawer wen you arrive and the food at all meal times has not lost any of its wow factor the staff can never not du enuf for you and nothing is 2 much trouble 4 them in all areas,this was our first visit this year and with 4 more booked allready we carnt wait 2 c the next bit 2 b finished the next time.this hotel is moving up 2 the very top of its field and nomatter what your illness is nothing is 2 much bother 4 the wunderfull staff who really du care xxx

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Hello Stephen,

Once again thank you for your excellent review and we've loved having you stay at the hotel.

We're glad you enjoyed your most recent visit, and don't worry we've heard all about it!

Really looking forward to welcoming you again over the year for your several visits.


As always best wishes from the New Mayfair Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    24
    9
    6
    11
See reviews for
23
16
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We arrived at the New Mayfair with a warm welcome, we was offered a cup of tea which was very nice, we came down to work so we needed a hotel that was wheelchair accessible, which wasn't a problem at all. Our rooms was lovely and clean and the shower was just a nice walk in one easy when transferring onto shower chair, staff was lovely and helpful, food was lovely and you got way enough and everyday there was something different on the menu. Only thing is... that the hotel is at the other end of the shops but that's not a real problem as the tram stop is just opposite and there are wheelchair friendly. Overall i would stay here again and would recommend to other service users.

Room Tip: All the rooms was nice, but it you want a sea-view then i suppose one will be available when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladytee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Hello There!

First of all thank you very much for your fantastic review. We're glad you liked the cup of tea on arrival.... tea is always important to us after a long journey!

We pride ourselves on extremely high standards of cleanliness so we're pleased to hear your room was up to your standards. I will personally pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future - next time try out one of our sea view rooms... if you call sales they'll sort you out with some fantastic rates!


Best Wishes,

The New Mayfair Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel with two colleagues and two ladies we support in wheelchairs. Everything was fantastic the staff can't do enough for you. Hoists were provided, the bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the entertainment was fab! We came back really late one night from watching Funny Girls (highly recommended) and it was no problem at all. Everyone was so friendly and the food tasted lovely, everything was reasonably priced and there was even bingo and raffles. The trip to lake Windermere was also brilliant the driver was lovely, we will definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your fantastic review! We're glad you loved your night out at Funny Girls - one of our favorite nights out too! I will pass on your kind comments and feedback to the reception team and our fantastic accessible minibus driver Martin.

We hope to see you again in the near future. Spread the New Mayfair word! :-)


Best Wishes,
The New Mayfair Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just had a lovely stay at this friendly, accessible hotel. It is very handy for the trams which are now fully accessible. We had an excellently spacious room with sea view and whilst there was some noise it was nothing like we've experienced elsewhere. The room was warm and the food was good. The chef was flexible and if we didn't like the menu choices we were able to request alternatives. The driver of the coach was very friendly. Minor niggles - we would have like a taller bedside cabinet as my wife couldn't really reach it from the bed even though we pulled it forward and she didn't have a light switch within reach. The evening cabaret was generally good and with one exception wasn't over-loud and defeaning. We've booked to return in June.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HydeDaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hello!

Thank you for your positive feedback, we totally agree the trams are a big plus to our hotel with them being fully accessible and the staff are so friendly. We're glad you enjoyed the sea views across the front and that you enjoyed the food in the South Beach Restaurant.

I've passed on your small suggestions to the management team to add to our 'ideas and improvements bank' We really cannot wait to see you again in June :-)


As always, Best Wishes.

The New Mayfair Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

On arrival took ages to get into room, checked in at 2.50pm, told to wait in dining room with all the other arrivals and given nice pot of tea, eventially got keys for room at 4.20pm, couldnt understand why we had to wait for one and a half hours??. Apart from that everything was lovely, room clean and comfortable for myself and wheelchair wife with nice side sea view. Asked for bed rail and commode and they were supplied with no fuss without needing prior warning. Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, meals excellent, evening entertainment very good, thoroughly enjoyed Abba singers. Building work being carried out but didnt cause any problems, told they were making a new lounge which will be a big improvement. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hello Robert,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! As you will probably be aware the dates you stayed with us were just after our extensive refurbishment, so we're really happy to hear you've enjoyed the new improvements!

The short delays you experienced during check-in where due to the management team wanting to ensure each room had been prepared to the highest possible standard.

We would love to see you again soon!

Best Wishes,
The New Mayfair Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel as a support worker with a lady with complex learning disabilities and uses a wheelchair. The room we got was very large with sea views. The room had ample space to move a hoist easily and provided a profiling bed and spare slings just incase which was nice.
The food was great and the waiting and bar staff were very friendly and accommodating. We saw Chikatita, an Abba tribute who were brilliant, getting everyone up and interacting with all the guests. The other guests were all chatty and shared stories of their days in the evenings.
The location was good, on the south end of the promenade, nice and quiet. There are trams leaving regularly just opposite the hotel which gets you to all the attractions easily.
I would recommend this hotel and will more than likely be supporting more people taking holidays here, great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gratedunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Public Relations Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful review.

I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff around the hotel as I am sure they will be delighted to hear everything you've said.

We also love hearing all the stories from our various guests, we're always learning new things everyday!

We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon in the near future.


Best Wishes,

The New Mayfair Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My partner is unable to walk, uses wheelchair and standaid hoist. As we have an adapted vechile take our own hoist with us. As such we didn't need to use the care services provided by safehands, as this was something I could do myself.

We went in December, the hotel was nice and warm with radiators that you can adjust to suit. I was surprised that the bathroom was not a wet room, old style shower cubicle, wheel the shower chair into. Major problem could not put partner onto tiolet as tiolet was in cornor of room, the grap rail and tiolet roll dispenser was mounteed on wall blocked the stand aid hoist from puting partner on tiolet. In fairness the hotel removed these fixtures from wall, which solved issue.

The room was quite small which was not a major issue to us, as we only used the room to sleep in, as having a vechile we were out most days.

Were the hotel failed was in its ability to provide table service at meal times. There were only at most 2 membersof staff serving the tables. This resulted in delays in meals being served. Starters, meal, dessert take up to 90 mins to 120mins to complete. Sometimes needed to remind staff that ordered items had not been served, eg 'meal will be with you shortly' reply being 'thats good but we not had our starters yet' Issue was raised with manager, briefly things improved but reverted.

On another occasion another family came down to lunch about 18:10hrs were told that thet were to late for meals, could only have sandwichews as meals finish as 18:00. Programme given when we arrived at hotel indicated meal time to be 17:00 to 19:00hrs with no cut off time for orders. The couple argued there point, got meals.

The food was super, the chef is to be complimented. Just a pity that table service lets the hotel down.

Entertainment was good but in the week we were there, on about 4 of the nights the entertainment started at about 19:30hrs, scheduled to start at 20:15hrs. As the carer for my partner given dinner was not finished untill nearly 19:00hrs, left little time for me to get partner ready for evbening and having a rest myself.

Room service was adhoc I suspect on some days, cleaner had not been into room as bin not emptied, complimentary tea bags not replaced.

Staff were polite, helpfull, to some extent I felt sorry for them, as quite a few were working 14 hr days frequently. How this impacts on them providing care surport when working such long hours I'm not certain. One of the disabled clients told me that his carer had forget to come in to get him up that morning.

Hotel of contradictions, undecided if we will return. Clearly insufficent staff numbers to provide table services. Entertainers that start when they want, not as scheduled. But a warm hotel (heating), excellant food.

Room Tip: Room 111 not suitable for wheelchair/ hoist
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James G, Manager at The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback. We're pleased to announce Phase 2 of our developments are almost complete, this means the majority of our bathrooms are now wet rooms which are fully accessible.

We’re sorry to hear about your frustration with the restaurant and staff in that area, we have reviewed your comments and passed them onto the restaurant management team to take immediate action. We've invested a great deal in our new 2013 South Beach Restaurant which will offer a relaxed contemporary environment.

Thank you for your comments regarding the quality of the food served at The New Mayfair Hotel.

We hope that you do not experience any further disappointments with room service, as part of our 2013 renovation projects the room services team have undergone a thorough training development program to improve services across the hotel.

We would be more than happy to speak further with you and hopefully help you further, you can contact our team on: 01253 347543
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
2.9 mi away
The Manhattan Hotel
The Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 70 in Blackpool
169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
552 reviews
3.8 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
New Hacketts Hotel
New Hacketts Hotel
#52 of 70 in Blackpool
556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 70 in Blackpool
759 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#3 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool

Property: The New Mayfair Hotel, Blackpool
Address: 673-677 New South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1RN, England (Formerly Safehands at The New Mayfair)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Mayfair Hotel has been established for over 10 years, becoming one of Blackpool’s leading hotels for people with disabilities. We’re part of the national Care Quality Commission, which means we meet national standards of quality and safety.Stay at Blackpool’s specialist accessible hotel, overlooking the seafront and recent multi million renovated South Promenade. Our freshly decorated ‘Sea View Accommodation’ with panoramic views offers that authentic seaside experience. The New Mayfair is part of the Safehands Group, a leading provider of care services who ensure our service is second to none. The Hotel is within easy reach of all Blackpool’s main attractions so you’re guaranteed to get the most out of your trip. We also offer pick up and return services, home cooked meals and entertainment packages.So if you’re looking for a specialist accessible hotel in Blackpool look no further: The New Mayfair has it all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Safehands At The New Mayfair Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing