We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ignore walk away !! !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ardwick House Hotel
Ranked #325 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rotherham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ignore walk away !! !!”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

having stayed with steve and sue for years i am shocked at the lies put on here by walkaway: everyones entitled to an opinion but there whole review is lies and almost commical , stev and sue are definatly the friendliest owners of any hotel ive stayed in , not once in 6 years have i seen them drunk, parking is plentiful with two large car parks near by.why shouls they carry the poor younng inicent christians bags to there rooms hes not manwell! everytime ive been the guests allways seem to have a great stay both hen and staggs plus families are made welcome and theres always a great atmosphere in the bar mainly down to steve and suesfriendly service , larger is a ,lot cheaper than you getin town and toilets are cleaned everyhour ive never seen them dirty yet.breakfast is always tasty and plentyful and i cnt think of one bad thing to say about this hotel , if you want an enjoyable and safe weekend at blackpool i cant recomend this hotel enough i will definatly be going back shortly

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RotherhamShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    18
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
14
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Note to everyone out there that is thinking of going to Blackpool for a weekend or even one night like I did with 13 of my friends, look no further than the Ardwick for a very enjoyable and welcoming place to stay.

DO NOT LISTEN to the tripe written by Charliebigsack further down he could not be further from the truth......

1. Parking isn’t an issue, although there is only space for one car outside each hotel (which you would imagine given it’s a row of houses on the back of Blackpool promenade) there is a fully available car park round the corner no more than 50 yards which is not expensive at all for £6 you can stay there for the full 24 hours!!! Charliebigsack wanted to stay for 48 hours, well that’s fine £12 show me anywhere in this country that you can park for 48 hours at a rate of £12.
2. The welcome was very accommodating my party and I turned up really early and yet instead of being told to come back later we were welcomed in and sorted out in no time at all, Steve introduced himself and his good lady wife, and allocated the rooms. As for why Steve would possibly need a bell boy for a group of young Christians to take their bags up is beyond me, it states their group were between 18-24, surly your Christian friends could help you with your bag if you required it your hardly an 80 year old, and this isn’t the Hilton!!!!
3. The facilities are also not as bad as the previous poster is making, the rooms are basic but very clean and tidy, the shower area is perfectly fine and there is plenty of room, I am 6 foot 3 and had no issues at all.
4. I charged my phone perfectly fine and even managed to iron my shirt without any issues with electric!!!
5. I can only assume that this group that had come to Blackpool did not know how to relax and enjoy themselves, Steve did have a drink when I saw him at 2am in the morning as I got back to the Hotel but at no time before hand did I see him drink any alcohol at all, and given this is his home on a Saturday night I think we should be able to let him off.

Putting it bluntly people of Britain if you’re looking for a great place to stay whilst you enjoy what Blackpool has to offer look no further

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigGav81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Me and my family have stayed at this very good b&b on numerous occasions on each occasion we have been made to feel very welcome by the owners Steve and Sue. They are very welcoming and will do anything to help you enjoy your stay in Blackpool. The rooms are always clean and tidy and on the last visit the bar has just been renovated new carpet in the bar, stairs and hallways. We have always found the toilets and shower areas to be clean this is not a 5star hotel so bear this in mind if you want luxury you have to pay for it. Regarding a previous review from a group of loud and rude lads, me and my family including two young children was there the weekend in question on the 11th of June, this group of yobs did take something away from our stay as our children were kept awake till the early hours, due to yobbish howling and general noise from this ignorant group. However Steve and Sue were very appologetic on behalf of some very poor and improper behaviour from this group! we also noticed that the review in question is completely untrue as we witnessed what really happened we happened to overhear the conversation over the broken bed and Steve politely asked for the damage to be paid for at the cost of £80 (not £150). Taking everything into account we understand that this was out of the owners hands and we will be returning to the Ardwick House it is great value for money clean rooms, very good breakfast and overall which matters to us family orientated.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirky070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

this unassuming b n b nestled in a street full of b n b's offers the most welcoming service.

The owners take pride in ensuring your stay in blackpool is all you want it to be, and whether u are in a group of lads looking for a good night out or a couple looking for a nice weekend together, you will be well looked after.

All in all, excellent value, and i will stay there everytime i stay in blackpool, and from what i saw all the guest around me would do the same

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seddonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Firstly let me point out i never ever review these hotels, or b&bs etc as normally get a good service and go off you trusty peoples recomendations here on trip advisor, but as i have felt really let down by the reviews on here for saying this hotel i have made it a priority to inform you people of how BAD this hotel really is.

ok here goes. We arrived to the hotel, we got told we could park outside the hotel on the street, got there to find there was no parking available and had to park and absolute distance away at a rediculous rate to park the car for 48 hours. that straight away burnt a hole in our pocket, and had to carry the bags a long way.

we arrived to the hotel reception, and had to wait about 15 minutes for the guy to open the door to us, all hungry, thirsty and hot after a long car drive to the hotel.

We were greated quite friendiliy, but it appeared the hotel manager as it seemed was more interested in us getting in, putting our bags in the front room where the pool table was and buying drinks before handing keys over to the room, he was rude and very arrogant when he realised we were young christians, and one muslim lad in the group that didnt drink. The man steve (manager) drank on the job, and tried to greet one of our group with a distgusting shot, that looked like it had been pre made before we got there, not sure what was in it, but wasnt keen to drink it.

anyway, we got shown to the top floor of the hotel, rudely discriminated and no help was given with the bags, no lift, and the hotel had a lot of stairs. The carpets were dirty, and it had a musty smell, a smell of it hadnt been cleaned in a while. we checked the bathroom, and it was big enough for a small child to shower uncomfertably, and when we got in the room we found a dirty sink with dust all over the mirror, and wires hanging down from a little tv, which one of the boys walked into by accident.

The room consisted of one bunk bed, and one single bed. we put all the bags on the single bed, and it broke ever so slightly (at the end of the trip they charged us £150 for the bed and wouldnt let us leave until it was paid)

anyway we forgot about the room for now as all we were going to do was sleep there. the electric didnt work properly and couldnt charge my phone, even though there was only one socket between us all, it didnt work. The carpets had holes in, and looked like it had never been hoovered since it had been laid down, also looked like they had dogs in there at some point, as there were long hairs everywhere. strange.

anyway we went back down into the bar where we found steve drinking on the job again and chatting up a group of women (hen do) , and making obscene gestures at a lady with extremely 'large breasts' as steve put it. They left shortly and without even asking, steve started to pour us drinks, and then telling us about the red light district in blackpool and where we could 'pick up the ladies of the night'. We did not ask, nor required such information and found it quite disturbing. We were on a weekend away, and did not require this.

We then later on, bought a couple of drinks from the bar, and steve found out we went up the road to buy some food, and wasnt happy about it, at all. It looked as though then he had something against us, and it went really bad from there.

We were sold some black wrist bands which apperntly could get us into several clubs and bars around blackpool. We bought the bands for £7 each. We got to the bars and clubs later on, and they still charged us full ammount for the entree to the clubs. Not happy at all about this. apperntly these bands didnt work on gay pride weekend, so we were wrongly sold these bands.

we got back to the hotel about 2:30 in the morning, and had to wait for the manager to open the door for us, waited about 30 minutes. we saw him come out of a room near the bar, and he swaggered towards the front door and abused us. A member of the group also said he flashed at one of them, but i cannot confirm or deny this at this point.
It appeared that he was drunk, and was questioning why we were so late. we questioned steve about the wristbands we were mis sold and he got very angry, and asked us to leave without proper information why to do so, we were told to get our bags, and go.

No explanation was given, he was very rude, very nasty and really upset my feelings. I have had troubles at home, my nans seriously ill, and the last thing i needed was to be told to leave the hotel at an obscene time in the morning without proper explanation nor reason. For this reason alone, i would NEVER EVER go to this hotel again, nor recommend it to anybody.

without argument, we got our bags, and left quietly with the respect of the other hotel users at mind. Steve was abusing us as we left, again due to his drunk manor and his wife sue was stood by the door as we passed with a smile on her face. They knew they mis sold us the bands, and then ultimatley threw us out the hotel, just for questioning it. Not happy about the situation, and i am defintley going to take this to a small claims court.

Thank you for taking your time to read this review, and please do not stay here, when there are other hotels around not at £75 per room for three lads, hoping for a good time and threw out of the hotel for questioning something they were mis sold. Enjoy blackpool if you go, but please, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: look down the road,there are lots of better hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank charliebigsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Just returned home tonight after stayin with Steve snd sue. A lovely and VERY helpfull couple. Went out their way to help and accommodate us from when we arrived until we left. There was a party of nine of us including a baby and 2 young boys and Bring honest we were treated like one of the family. Our rooms were all supplied with freebies and a television and were clean snd comfortable. Every morning we were offered a fry up, cereal and fruit and the food was always lovely. Just can't stress enough how well we were treated and how at home we felt will definitely be returning when next in Blackpool and will be recommending this hotel to all friends snd family. Thanks again Steve snd sue and Reece said to let u know we got home with sponge bob haha xxx

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reece05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

situated handy for everything rooms are basic but clean and your hosts are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baldywog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#34 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.4 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#486 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#223 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#73 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#33 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardwick House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardwick House Hotel

Property: Ardwick House Hotel
Address: 31 York Street, Blackpool FY1 5AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ardwick House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardwick House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing