We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply delightful and charming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lawrence House Hotel
Ranked #27 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply delightful and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Friends stayed here over new year. We spended more time in their hotel than our own as the bar is great and owners are really friendly. We have all booked to go back for new year 2011.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokegareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
138
57
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I had an excellent stay over the May Bank holiday weekend. The room I stayed in was a single room, but it was very spacious, and even had a double bed! The wi-fi was very reliable, enabling me to catch up on Doctor Who on Saturday night on iPlayer, as well as e-mails and general surfing.

The en suite was clean and had everything I needed for the weekend.

Service was excellent! I was greeted by name on arrival, which was very impressive, and made me feel very welcome.

The breakfast room/bar/dining room was a good size, and beautifully decorated.

The breakfasts I had were of a very high standard - I've stayed in a lot of hotels over the years and this was certainly one of the best breakfasts I've had. I had the full English the first day, and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs the following day. Very hard to say which was the best, but I decided to repeat the full English on my last day in the vain hope that the beans, mushrooms and tomatoes would count towards my 5 a day making it slightly healthier! (Maybe I kid myself...)

The hotel was very quiet when I was staying, and I had no trouble sleeping. In fact, I even managed to oversleep one morning and came down late for breakfast, which started at 9.30. Quite an achievement for me - I'm normally up by 7.30 even at weekends.

The hotel is located in what seemed to be a very quiet location, yet about 5 mins walk from all the really noisy night life, that looked great fun and very 'Blackpool'. I'm afraid I didn't have time to experience it!

Also 5 mins walk from the promenade, shops and bus stops. There was a tram stop even closer, but the trams are being refurbished at the moment so none were running for my trip.

Parking was about 10 mins away by foot by the time you've negotiated the stairs at the multi-storey, but it was secure parking and I left my car there for the weekend.

It seems to be best to catch buses from the town centre - if you use a stop nearer the hotel, they tend to be full by the time they get to you at busy times.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed at the Lawrence House Hotel as we were on a night out in Blackpool!! From the first time we stepped through the door until we left, the service was impeccable!! Wayne and Peter are so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us!! The rooms were lovely and extremely clean! Breakfast was delicious and the hotel is exceptional value for money!! Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccalrowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Our stay here made our short break, Lawrence House is fabulous, spotless, well decorated and the hosts so friendly and helpful, excellent company at the bar. The room was compact but pristine with everything you could want. The food was excellent, ate both breakfast and evening. highly recommend the scrambled eggs.
Location wise it is easy to walk everywhere and the car park we used was only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HertsDavid53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Having stayed in just about every gay/gay friendly hotel in Blackpool over the last 20 years and not been fully happy in any of them, I found Lawrence House 2 years ago and have chosen to stay here ever since on many occasions. I have found it a bit of a cliche when hotels say they are friendly but this really does apply to the 2 guys who own and run this modern looking, immaculately clean and yet laid back establishment. I have recommended this place to a number of friends who have also been delighted with it not least of all for the best breakfast in Blackpool!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulnorthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Lawrence House. Staff extremely helpful. Very clean and comfortable. Fairly central for all amenities.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We had not visited Blackpool before and were not sure what to expect, but our concerns were not warranted as Lawrence House Hotel is exactly what one might hope a home away from might be.

A warm welcome to greet us on arrival at this wonderfully appointed small hotel. The place is spotless and the en-suite rooms are attractive. We enjoyed a comfortable and peaceful nights sleep and the delicious breakfast was just right to set us up for the day.

I really can't recommend this Hotel enough. This is what hospitality is all about!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
McHalls Hotel
McHalls Hotel
#17 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#79 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
Mardi Gras Guest Accommodation
#312 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#8 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gabrielle's Hotel
Gabrielle's Hotel
#15 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 130 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence House Hotel

Property: Lawrence House Hotel
Address: 33 General Street, Blackpool FY1 1SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lawrence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a gay run hotel for gay people and their friends, (that includes nice straight people!) conveniently situated on the North Shore close to the Promenade and moments from Blackpool’s vibrant gay scene and town centre. A warm friendly atmosphere awaits you throughout the year. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and attention to detail, and go just that little bit further to make your stay here in Blackpool a relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing