We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Athol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Athol
Ranked #722 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here for just one night with miss and 3 kids for £83 including breakfast

Turned up with no booking the owner was great found us a room and it was clean and very niece beds overlooking the sea

The breakfast was nice no hassel or problems had its own car park too

Will visit again wish we was there longer this time

Deft value for money

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Just home from staying 3 nites at tge athol are room was on the ground floor facing the back room was big and clean but the smell of the drains in the morning was disgusting the whole room stunk the drink was very dear a pint and g and t was £6.50 hotel needs done up the two owners were friendly but no entertainment the next time i go to blackpool i think ill give the athol a miss

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbann112000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just spent a night here[lucky escape]By reading web page says hotel keep to high standard, paper peeling of wall in bar area,badly in need of up-date.web page say 10.30 check out but stated on one of many little notices in hotel states 10.00 as for breakfast being 9.00 prompt it is a joke[what modern hotel has this kind of policy] very cramped dinning room and tea already on table so if a little late cold or stewed.i could go on but as title says Hotel that time has forgot.

Room Tip: Try an other Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A typical Blackpool hotel. Staff and host were very friendly. Sadly the decor was tatty in the main lounge, the chairs needed reupholstering. The bedrooms needed a refurb too. Our matresses were very lumpy, could feel the springs. Shower curtain kept on falling down. The food was poor on the first night but then improved completely with generous servings of meat and I had a lovely salad.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not over the lounge area as the caberet can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan21_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Great central B and B very welcoming staff .room had all you needed. Value for what we paid . God entertainment on Saturday night. Good home cooking fresh food served hot good choice for breakfast for a band b . Defiantly stayed in a lot worse places

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We hadn't been to Blackpool for many years and what a shock we had arriving to many run down or closed hotels! Hotel Athol was inbetween two of them. Check in went without a hitch with the landlady giving out directions to the rooms. We were on the second floor. On entering our room the first thing we noticed was the frosted glass windows, no view whatsoever! The furniture had seen better days, 1970s style. On opening one of the unit drawers we were horrified to find them filthy, human hair, bits of metal. The bedside cabinet was as bad! The wardrobe had rubbish on the top shelf too! Oh dear, we thought. The bed light switch was positioned behind the headboard! Not very clever. The bathroom had no heating although the hot water was scalding hot! There is a warning sign however. There is also a sign advising guests if the require fresh towels to leave the dirty ones in the shower tray. We did this on our first night as we showered on arrival night and in the morning. The towels were still in the shower tray when we arrived back after our day out! I informed the management and they were eventually changed. The room was not cleaned nor the bed made up during our stay. It looks like the cleaner only comes in on a Monday, after the Friday to Monday guests leave and on a Friday when the Monday to Friday guests leave!
On a brighter note. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, the food was good. The kitchen was run like clockwork. Just a pity dinner was so early at 5pm. The bar offered cabaret each night we were there, a couple of good turns. Bar prices were reasonable and once again the sevice was good, when you could find somebody to serve you in the first place.
If the cleaning side of things had the military pressision of the kitchen this would be a very good hotel. Maybe if the owners read this review thel'll do something about it.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms seem to be roomier and obvously have a sea vew. Definitely better than no view at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr World Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel Athol last week after reading various good reviews. Our stay was only for 1 night and was ok. I wouldn't say the hotel is very family friendly. The main reception is a bar and you have to walk through the bar to get to your room, not great with very young kids who come with a lot of baggage. Our room was really small, not very clean and has not been decorated for a decade or two. I wasn't very keen that the bar / reception keeps your car keys in case they have to move it. Breakfast is served at 9am only and your expected to check out for 10. On the plus side.. the hotel is in a handy location, rates are competitive and our room had a sea view. The breakfast was decent and most staff were accommodating.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smclean27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Blackpool Central Hotel
Blackpool Central Hotel
#462 of 863 in Blackpool
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fortuna House Hotel
Fortuna House Hotel
#634 of 863 in Blackpool
262 reviews
0 mi away
The New Brooklyn
The New Brooklyn
#54 of 863 in Blackpool
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chimes on the Sea
The Chimes on the Sea
#471 of 863 in Blackpool
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#92 of 863 in Blackpool
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#140 of 863 in Blackpool
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athol

Address: 383 - 385 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #722 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £59 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athol 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Athol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing