We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarendon Showtel
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The winterbourne was absolutely fabulous. We stayed for three nights. It was fantastic prices and it lived up to its reputation on Four In a Bed. The showbar was great. Watch out, the owners are gay and they look at you very strangely, but a wonderful place to stay. We think you should you definitely stay if you are considering it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

This was the worse hotel we have ever stayed in. We asked for our money back and were short changed. Everything about this hotel was dirty scruffy and dated. We booked to stay because they had won Four in a bed on TV however we were extremely disappointed. Our advice is to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesreay, General Manager at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your break !
i have to say you were not short changed at all as we refunded everything except the one night stay which you had with breakfast and the entertainment from that night
We are sorry that your television freeview did not have all the channels ,only the bbc ones were working on that weekend (this has now been corrected infact it was done on that day you left )
but you were advised on arrival that was a problem and you did say that was ok ?
Its a shame you never said any of this to us yourself as you told me (james reay) that you had to cut your stay short as a family member had had a stoke
I do hope he was ok
may thanks for your review
james

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We have recently stayed at this B&B for the Valentines weekend after seeing the establishment crowned the winners of the TV show 'Four in a bed'.
On TV the B&B came over as wonderful value for money and a lot of fun and to the managements credit it did not disappoint.
Our onsuite room was not the biggest, however it was clean and served its purpose.
The breakfast was as it should be, substantial, hot, tasty and served with a smile.
On the TV show it showed that the B&B had entertainment, but the show did not do it justice. I come from an entertainment background so can be very criticle when it comes to 'in house shows', however the 3 shows that we saw were of excellent quality and most importantly variety.
James in one very talented chap and along with Simon and Karen stage the shows, costumes sound and lights.
The aforementioned people are indeed the owners of the Winterbourne and made us feel very welcome and we will most defiantly return, in fact we have already booked again for this year!
Thank you Winterboure we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank TheCfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesreay, General Manager at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thank you for your review !! all i can say is wow
it is so nice to have people like yourselfs staying with us and who come to us with their eyes wide open and full of fun !!!
can't wait to see you all again very soooooon :)
thank you from all the staff and management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we have just returned from the winterbourne today after staying for the weekend for my birthday,we had a warm welcome as soon as we arrived ( thanks karen ).we had our first taste of cabaret in which my husband and i was in fits of laughter through the whole show LOVED IT (thanks james and simon ) and karen ,queen was wicked. our room was good ,not huge but had all we needed and was clean and tidy and the bed ,you just sank into utter comfort we found it difficult to get out of it in the mornings but we didnt want to miss karens breakfast.i would advise anybody who wants a place to stay that is not expensive and very friendly and welcoming please try the winterbourne.if like us you will want to return again and again. i am going to be recommending this hotel to every single person i speak to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at the winterbourne for valentines weekend what a blast we had. The room we had was very clean in fact the hole hotel was very clean James Simon and Karen where great hosts and make you feel very welcome it was like being in your own home. The bed was so comfy and the shower was great.The breakfast was brilliant. the hotel should be alot more than 1* because the service you get well there are not enough stars for this hotel. The shows what are put on are a blast its like being at a west end show and you feel like it is just for you we have already booked 3 more long weekends at the hotel we go to blackpool alot but there is only one hotel to stop at top job guys cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank firebladerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Just got back from our stay at the winterbourne (12.2.13) un fortunately we only could stay one night but would have loved to stay the week but we were made so welcome. James simon and Karen are so friendly and karen cooks the best breakfast ever and our room was small but adequate very clean powerful shower and the most comfortable bed and the best sleep I have had in a long time we would go back tomorrow but I have got to wait till my bday in june you all work so hard well done you have a great place

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nattaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesreay, Owner at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your review
It was a pleasure to meet you both ,and we all hope to see you in june around the 15th 16th ????
lol , andy way when ever you can come to see us we will be very pleased
all the best to you both and THANK YOU again :)
james , Karen and Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here with friends on 18/19th January 2013, and the hotel was quite full. At such a good price wasn’t really sure what to expect, but could not have been happier with our choice..
This is good no frills accommodation, that is very clean and dry, with welcoming hosts, and friendly happy staff, all who work so very hard. On arrival we were promptly booked in and informed of all required info to make our stay as fuss free as possible. I had not booked a parking space when booking, as these are limited for this hotel, (there is lots of parking in the area though), but they were very kind and gave me a permit, as one was available….so do remember when booking to reserve a parking space if you need your car to be very nearby…Although town centre and the Prom are within easy short, walking distance. The rooms although on the small side, ( our friends room was a bit bigger) are very clean, dry and functional, with tea/coffee etc provided, and with excellent showers, and ideal for a short break. The price which is excellent value included a full cooked English breakfast which was well presented, not greasy, hot and a great start to the day. We also had an evening meal here, which must be booked and paid for after breakfast each day, which again was excellent value for money, hot and home cooked. The drinks were not overpriced either! There is a show/cabaret bar at this hotel, (however we didn’t have the opportunity to visit this), but there was no noise or disturbance because of this, neither was there any disturbance due to Blackpool United football ground being close by, and they were playing an evening game at home to a good crowd!!
If you want an affordable short break, in a welcome environment, that’s excellent value for money, this really is the B&B for you. We were that impressed we’ve booked to return in October for the Illuminations!!

Room Tip: If your going in Winter months, ask for a room thats not on the corner, as they can be a bit chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Beckyboop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#22 of 73 in Blackpool
263 reviews
1.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#52 of 73 in Blackpool
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Strand Lodge
The Strand Lodge
#57 of 73 in Blackpool
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Waldorf
The Waldorf
#46 of 73 in Blackpool
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Showtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Showtel

Address: 22-30 Clarendon Road, Blackpool FY1 6EF, England (Formerly Winterbourne Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Clarendon Showtel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Clarendon Showtel, we provide an experience not just a visit, we do not promise anything we cannot provide. We do promise that we will do everything we can to ensure you enjoy your stay. You will find us half way between the Tower and the Pleasure Beach, and only a few hundred yards from the Promenade. We are also situated directly opposite Blackpool Football Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Clarendon Showtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing