We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete value for money and a memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clarendon Showtel
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Right from the moment we entered the Winterbourne we were greeted with smiles and friendly banter.

The rooms were clean and perfect for an overnight stay. We were pleasantly surprised by a fantastic show in the evening. The only way I can describe it is 'a one man musical', of course not forgetting the huge technical support.

The breakfast was simple and individually cooked to our needs. When I say we I mean my family of 6.

Overall a breathtaking stay....perfect. I wish all the staff there the best for the future, if everybody had the same service as us then this place should be a huge success! Thanks everybody at the Winterbourne.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timmsy1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

absolutely fabulous time at this hotel. James, Simon and Karen are wonderful and extremely helpful and willing to help with anything. The entertain in the evening is fantastic and i would pay over and over again to see the shows again. Fantastic location to the sea front and shops. Breakfast is tasty. This hotel felt like home to us and we are very disappointed that we had to leave and we would be more then happy to spend most of our time there. Can not rate the staff more highly they are bloody fantastic in every-way possible and very friendly. Anyone who doe snot like this hotel is mad! Looking forward to going back already and we have only been home for 1 day!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank toyahandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July and it was disgusting. I do not understand what type of people can rate this as excellent. The bedroom had brown carpet with horrible curtains, there was a dead insect in the room. The shower so so grim and smelt of wee, the toilet has not been cleaned and had poo in it. This is the worst place I have ever stayed! Never again! I can go on and on...... The lt would never end.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank xxxriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesreay, Manager at The Clarendon Showtel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

I am so sorry that you did not like this hotel !!
I am also very disappointed that when we sat outside chatting that you never even said that there were any problems with the room !!
the only thing you did ask about is that your son could have a boiled egg for his breakfast
which I cooked for him the following morning , although he did not want it lol hey but thats fine \!!
1 that is a brand new carpet in the room you had which was room 30 on the top floor
and new curtains ( sorry they did not meet your tastes )
as for the poo in the loo when I checked the room I am very sure there was not anything like that in the loo
and as for the shower smelling of wee as you put it ??? well I am sorry we did not smell that on checking the room .
As for the insect ??? well all I can say is maybe he used the loo ???
sorry your stay was not as good as it should have been
james reay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were recently driving back from Scotland, intending to stop at York for a stroll around and take in its history. However the whole country was raining, so strolling around took a backseat. We saw a sign for Blackpool, and as niether of us had been, decided a drive around there was a great idea. Once there we thought a night in a B &B seemed a great idea. But where? The place is alive with them. I turned to my partner, saying, "you watch 4 in a bed, got any ideas?" She said she did, and after a quick Google, and a phone call, we found ourselves on the steps of the Winterbourne Hotel. We got the last room available, a double with toilet and shower facilities.It may not be the biggest in the place, but I bet there is not one cleaner! It was spotless! They told us breakfast (included)was at 8-30. For this we were charged the princely sum of £20 each. There cannot be better value anywhere, and the show in the evening was marvelous. James, Simon and Karen were absolutely 1st class at there hosting skills and couldnt have done more! No surprise then that they WON "Four in a Bed".Definately returning. Maybe for the illuminations.
Peter & Pat Mon 5th Aug

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterReuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we stayed over the wekend of 12/13 july the room was a bit small but very clean and tidy.the breakfast was very nice , my grandchildren and us thought the show was fantastic the management are brilliant you could not meet nicer people everyone there went out of their way to help us we would recommend this hotel to anyone thanks to all

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

i just finished reading one review and i am reall mad how dare some one said karen was disrespectful to her we have been going to karens hotel for a few years now and as a family we were treated with respect rooms are clean food great and enterment great does this lady not noticed how much work karen does and she is always on hand if you need anything i can only guess you approached karen angerly but to anyone who reads this the winterbourne is a great place for any family see you soon karen you are a wonderful proud lady

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhaggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is our second visit and it didnt disappoint. The shows were amazing so much work is put into them and must be seen. Karens breakfasts are so tasty the rooms are clean and good value for money they all work really hard and it shows we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nattaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
271 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore
1.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#60 of 73 in Blackpool
1,120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Showtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Showtel

Address: 22-30 Clarendon Road, Blackpool FY1 6EF, England (Formerly Winterbourne Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Clarendon Showtel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at The Clarendon Showtel, we provide an experience not just a visit, we do not promise anything we cannot provide. We do promise that we will do everything we can to ensure you enjoy your stay. You will find us half way between the Tower and the Pleasure Beach, and only a few hundred yards from the Promenade. We are also situated directly opposite Blackpool Football Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Clarendon Showtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing