We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Chimes on the Sea
Ranked #457 of 862 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here with 2 friends. Hotel was really quiet, didn't seem to be a lot of guests.

Rooms were clean but could do with a refurbishment. Rooms very warm.

We didn't pay for breakfast in the hotel. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daren777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We could not fault it. We stayed in an ensuite double room which had everything we needed in there. The room was very clean and had plenty of storage. Bed was very comfy too, both nights were very peaceful, there is a bar within here but we did not use as we were out alot, next time we will and will also have breakfast. Overall an excellent stay was had and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Iv just read these reviews and am so dissapointed! I worked at this hotel as a school girl and continued to do so long after leaving school and throughout university. It was always a small family run hotel it was very clean with amazing food. However this was about 20 years ago. How sad that things change.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

What a grotty hotel!! The staff were miserable and very unwelcoming!! it was red hot inside room, tried to open window which was very difficult, felt like the handle was going to fall off, the milk for tea and coffee was off, bathroom stunk of fish!! the list goes on! I WILL NEVER GO BACK!! The only good thing was the location!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lauren t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

i turned up early sfter being shunted here when the hotel next door messed my booking up , they unfortunatley didn't book me in here like they said they would so i had to go through the process of booking in with a very disinterested manager. No breakfast next morning a cold shower a room that wasn't cleaned very shabby bar glad i didn't go in there. The only good thing about this hotel is that when it rained i didn't get wet!
This hotel just matches the rest of the town , shabby , overpriced and run down , don't stay here you'll only be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel a few hours earlier than the check-in time hoping we could park our car in the carpark (as advertised) for the hotel but when we pulled up there there were only 2 car parking spaces, and they were both taken. So we went in to speak to the proprietor, who looked dirty and very unwelcoming. He told us that the spaces were not going to be available and the nearest carpark was a 10 minute walk away at one of the councils public ones.

We checked into the room at about 6PM after going to the Pleasure Beach, we had booked and paid for two sea-view rooms, neither of which turned out to be what we had paid for! One of the rooms had a view of a brick wall (the side of the adjacent hotel) and the bins and the other had a view of another hotel too (not a hint or sniff of the sea). The hotel was very dated, awfully decorated and smelt like an old-peoples home.

The hotel is advertised as having a hotel bar with pool table ect., we went down to use the hotel bar in the evening before going for a meal, but when we went down the proprietor told us that due to losing his license for alcohol, that we would have to go to the shop around the corner and make sure we got a receipt (load of rubbish, more than likely this was some sort of elaborate tax scam!).

There were only two positive things about the hotel were that the beds were very comfortable and the full-english cooked breakfast! The negatives - everything else!

We paid £60 for each double room (totalling £120) which was far from representative of the standard of the hotel! We would have been slightly more accepting had the price been half the price, as we saw a number of hotels for around half the price that looked much nicer.

Stay away!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeashfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Having arrived at this hotel we found it absoloutly apalling. The first morning we awoke the dining room was closed due staff neglegance and management was no where to be found. We had to pay for breakfast elsewere. Not only was the staff unwelcoming they are also not liscened to sell alchol in the so-called bar as stated.
The interior decour of the hotel is damp and dated, there was even water dripping through the cracks in bedroom window frame.
I honestly would not recomend this hotel to anyone who looking for a pleasant break.
Janet and John.

Room Tip: Just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet59John63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilsons Hotel - Blackpool Tower View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fortuna House Hotel
Fortuna House Hotel
#632 of 862 in Blackpool
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blackpool Central Hotel
Blackpool Central Hotel
#444 of 862 in Blackpool
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Garnett Hotel
The Garnett Hotel
#22 of 862 in Blackpool
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chimes on the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chimes on the Sea

Address: 265 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AH, England (Formerly The Chimes Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 862 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £32 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chimes on the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chimes Hotel is newly refurbished & is ideally located on promenade which offers stunning sea views & comprises of 15 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms open all year round. Our Hotel sits in between the Blackpool tower & pleasure beach so offering you the perfect base to explore Promenade, Town center, Central pier, Winter Gardens theater, Coral Island & all famous local amenities & night life. Chimes Hotel is perfectly placed in central Blackpool to offer you the base from where to explore Blackpool's renowned attractions. Whether you are up for Ballroom dancing, excited about Blackpool tower's magnetism, fancy Circus or Magic shows, irresistible to shopping or eating, thrilled about rides, fanatic to movies, craving for night life or just plan as you go, our hotel suits your needs. We are happy to accommodate guests from all walks of life, so whether you're a couple, a family, a solo traveler or a group of friends, you'll be afforded the very best service in town. We offer all guests the same warm welcome and trademark hospitality whatever time of the year you visit may it be bank holidays, summer kids' holidays, Illuminations or Christmas and New Year Breaks. To make sure we provide the ideal break in Blackpool to our guests, we have a range of 15 fantastically appointed, spotlessly clean & a variety of Double, Twin, Family, Single en-suite & standard bedrooms which provide breath-taking glittering views of Blackpool tower & a very good night's sleep. In the morning you'll have the option of the cooked breakfast and our family lounge offers real comfort as well as a choice of meals on order. All our rooms are decorated on a Blanche white scheme with a golden touch. Guests are provided with fresh white crisp linens, towels & toiletries. A colored television with free view channels, tea coffee making facilities are equipped in each room. High Speed internet is available through out Hotel. Hair driers, iron and ironing boards are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chimes on the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing