We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it here”
Review of Swift Hound

Swift Hound
Ranked #247 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love it here”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Been here numerous times with family friends and the mrs. Food is great. Always hot! Service is fast and reliable and portion sizes are large. Highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TinoC187062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    71
    55
    53
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Family Meal”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

we had a nice family meal the night before my wedding here, the food quality was fantastic, staff were excellent and prices were fair. we waited around 40 minutes for 6 meals which we thought was very fair. the food was piping hot and tasty. definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Shambolic.....Diabolical food..Staff not bothered”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

six friends went to the swift hound for a pre cinema meal. The pub/restaurant was not busy so we thought "great lets order, We ordered at 7.30......nothing materialised until 8.15..and that was only because we had complained about the time it was taking..and then it was STONE COLD. Appalling attitude of the staff who were simply not bothered. The manager seemed to get nervous as we decided to depart..and tried to offer us free bottles of wine. We didn't see many staff when we arrived but as we complained staff members came from everywhere...they all smelled of cigarettte smoke..Oh ok.".thats where they had all been". AVOID THIS BADLY RUN PUB/RESTAURANT like the plague.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swift Hound, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mark C

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Swift Hound in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“£9.99 For a nice bought of sickness the following day”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked a table here and went for a family meal, After waiting over an hour for our order to actually be brought to the table, everyone of our party was served and I was left with nothing, as they "forgot to bring my meal". When my BBQ Porky Pig Grill did eventually arrive, the extra egg that I had asked for was undercooked, the albumen of the egg was raw, I didnt want to make a fuss so I just left it, one of the sausages was still pink in the middle, that was also left, my grilled tomato was absent too. My husband asked for a 32oz steak to be cooked rare, it was medium at best.

Sunday morning arrived along with terrible sulphur tasting burps, stomach cramps, and the worst sickness feeling ALL day long, and for this privilege I paid £9.99

I will never go here again, if the chef cant tell when an egg is cooked they shouldnt really be a professional chef at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swift Hound, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Schu32

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Shift Hound in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I ate here 2 nights whilst I was staying in Blackpool food was excellent, and not too expensive. Worth a visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wkdsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swift Hound also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Swift Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing