We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from bad to worse, so understaffed!”
Review of Swift Hound

Swift Hound
Ranked #274 of 747 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“from bad to worse, so understaffed!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

i visited here in January with a friend, and the service was appalling. The food itself is not what i have a problem with, it's the fact it takes them nearly an hour to spoon some ice cream into a bowl and serve it us. I let this slide as i assumed that it was just because they were understaffed that one night.
I returned here yesterday after the cinema with my boyfriend, to be told there would be around a 20 minute wait...which ended up being an hour. The staff did not apologize for the delay, nor did they come back to check everything was as expected. I would have ordered dessert but we were sat there for a good half an hour with empty plates which no-body had removed so did not bother. Also, i had heard the table next to us complain that the dessert was alot smaller than expected and took a long time to come, while looking at the table they still had their main meal finished dished infront of them as they were handed dessert. Shocking!
The restaurant was moderately busy so i understand that it may have been stressful for them, but only having 2/3 people working at night, on a Monday, is just plain silly!
They need more staff and they need to work on the service, the food is lovely but the experience is not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorretta97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    56
    58
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Understaffed and don't know anything!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

There was 6 of us all together it was pretty busy at first but we managed to get a table, firstly no-one offered to clean it so we were sat around a sticky table all night.. Ordered at the bar and the waitress got our drinks wrong which she did replace and also told us there would be a 40min wait.. Fair enough. About half an hour into our wait the same waitress came over looking very flustered and panicky said 'I forgot to tell you the wait is actually an your' by this time the pub had quitened down so we weren't happy. The starter came out which we asked to be brought out with mains so she apologised and said she'd make us a fresh one with the mains which we don't think was fresh.. It was medium warm with sauce that'd look like it had been dipped into already ( some of us had eaten some before she took it away and got a fresh one). All other food was just warm and standard. Overall we were not happy with staff and how they didn't know anything? Not professional in our eyes....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Swift Hound, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Hannah C

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Swift Hound with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Flaming Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice meal”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we booked the table for 7.30pm on sat it was really busy the lady told us she would find out where we are sitting no prob we said she found out came back and told us and proceeded to direct us to the table unless we wanted to wait for a couple of mins and then she would show us where it was . we then decided what to have and what to drink the lads went to the bar and ordered (SUGGESTION BAR ! YOU SHOULD HAVE WAITRESSES TO TAKE ORDERES ON BUSY NIGHTS )WE were told there was a wait on the meals we waited then we waited and waited some more then came the meal yes it was worth waiting for it was really nice best steak I ve had for a long time thank you for the evening and thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food but understaffed”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

ten of us ate here 28th may as we have been before several times unfortunately this time the place was very understaffed, the table was dirty when i asked the waitress to clean it for the second time she huffed and puffed but cleaned it , it took 45 minutes for the first meals to arrive a couple more 5 minutes later mine and my boyfriends ten minutes later and my granddaughters jacket potato with cheese ten minutes later all in all over 1 hour for all meals, which is a shame because when we got our food it was fantastic as usual i had lamb rump chops which were cooked to perfection. i think the manager is not cut out for this job and she needs to sort her staffing levels out this is a seaside town after all. i would like to eat here again if i could persuade the rest of the party to give it another chance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not so swift hound, a snail would be quicker!!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Ordered 3 steaks and a burger it took 40 mins to come,got chips when ordered criss cross and my side order failed to arrive with the meal. Very poor service, won't be returning!

Helpful?
Thank Kelly1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swift Hound also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Swift Hound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing